We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to get away in Stratford”
Review of The Shady Nook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shady Nook
Ranked #10 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for the first time at D&K Shady Nook (or any bed and breakfast, for that matter) this weekend, and we had a wonderful time. As people who were walking everywhere, the B&B was located a short walk from downtown Stratford making it a very convenient location for us. The bedrooms were clean and very nicely decorated, with Kathy's lovely homemade quilts on some of the beds. The breakfast we enjoyed there, cooked by Doug, was tasty (we enjoyed omelettes, ham, muffins and some excellent jams) and we were very pleased at how willing they were to accommodate our dietary needs. We were warmly welcomed by Doug and Kathy and official mascot, the sweet pup Sadie, and really made to feel that Shady Nook was our home away from home. Thanks very much Doug and Kathy, we hope to be back to see you again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are located directly beside the entrance on the first floor, 3 and 4 are on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

It is always a pleasure to have first time visitors, you want them to feel at home and help them enjoy their Festival experience. We look forward to their return. Glad you had a good time, thanks for you kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

My mother and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at D & K Shady Nook during a Mother's Day visit to Stratford- our only regret: it was not long enough! Very gracious hosts, impeccably clean, extremely comfortable beds, and a healthy and varied breakfast: what more could one ask for? Shady Nook is an excellent choice when visiting the Festival.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exprienced_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

We where glad to be part of your Mother's Day and except for the weather you enjoyed the Play
and had a relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was our 3rd stay at D & K Shady Nook. As usual our room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the porch with a glass of wine enjoying the garden and having the use of such a large livingroom ideal for watching TV, reading or visiting with other guests. Doug & Kathy are excellent hosts always making us feel welcome in their home. We will be back on our next trip to the Stratford Festival.

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor are easily accesible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thanks for the chance to have you return to our B&B when you are in Stratford.
We look forward to your next visit,be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have returned year after year to the B & K SHADY NOOK because of the excellent location(Could walk to all Shakespeare Festival events) rooms were very comfortable & looked grand,a different good breakfast every morning,a lovely garden and most important, Kathy & Doug White are not only great hosts,but helpful to our needs & questions. If you're going to stay at a B & B in Stratford, one couldn't find a better place than the B & K SHADY NOOK !!! Sandy & Ruth Singer

Room Tip: All room are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conner1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

It is always a pleasure when old friends come to see you and we can exchange what is happening with our families. After all these years Sandy I would think you would get our name right. D&K Shadynook We thank you for the review and wish all a Happy Thanksgiving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Doug and Kathy go out of their way to provide guests with a home-like warm friendly experience. D&K is an ideal bed and breakfast for a Shakespeare Festival visit. The rooms are very comfortable and the living room is large and ideal for television watching or for visiting with other guests. To top it all, the breakfasts are delightful and there is always good conversation in the cheery bright breakfast room. We already have reservations for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

We thank you for the opportunity to serve your needs for accommodation and that you found everything to your satisfaction. The Stratford Festival is a marvelous display of great actors and fabulous plays. Looking forward to welcoming you back,thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Our trips to the Stratford Shakespeare Festival are always eagerly looked forward to--we plan a year ahead. The quality of the theatre productions is as good as anywhere we have ever been (New York, London, etc.). And a highlight of every trip is our stay at the D&K Shady Nook. It feels like meeting old friends when we pull into the driveway and Doug and Kathy are there to greet us. The rooms are always spotless and comfortable and the warm hospitality of Doug and Kathy makes us feel right at home. They go our of their way to make sure that our stay in Stratford is as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to seeing our old friends again in 2013.
D&J from Ithaca

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Great guests make it a pleasure to have the opportunity to be part of your Stratford experience.
We look forward to welcoming you all back next season, have a "Happy Thanksgiving" and let us know how D's surgery went, thanks D&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The weekend of October 7 we spent in Stratford Ontario Canada. Excellent theatre, good food
and a wonderful town to browse and shop/ Our trip as always was highlighted with our stay at the D&K B&B. This is an excellent accommodation and we always meet some very interesting people.
We are anxiously looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 937Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

We are glad we could add to your "Theater Weekend"and look forward to your return for next years wonderful selection of plays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#7 of 88 in Stratford
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#12 of 88 in Stratford
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#15 of 88 in Stratford
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Nook

Address: 64 Earl St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £91 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet street we offer four en-suite bedrooms, a twin/king and queen on the main floor and two queens on the second floor. An easy walk to gourmet restaurants, theater and boutique shopping, as well as Art in the Park, our famous Swans and many photo opportunities along the Avon river await. We serve a full breakfast and cater to special diets. A large guest Frig for ice and to keep your refreshments cool awaits in our Sunroom where you can play cards or have a picnic lunch on a rainy day. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool, a bike ride or sun on the large deck, the coffee's on so come let us make your Stratford experience all it can be, see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shady Nook Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing