We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shady Nook
Nearby Hotels
Mercer Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Parlour Inn(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bruce Hotel(Stratford)
US$260
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Inn at Stratford(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foster's Inn(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stratford Hotel(Stratford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Motel(Stratford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
107
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesfront porchsun roomsunny dining roomb blook forward to returning next yearnew ownersother guestslate augustbright roomwithin walking distancean annual traditionhome away from homebreakfast room isshakespearean festivallast summerfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Year after year we enjoy the hospitality of this comfortable B&B for 7 days with Kathy and Doug White. We feel very fortunate to have this available to us. it is so popular that we make reservations a year in advanced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We are proud to have had you and many members of your family as well as freinds stay with us over the past twenty-four years, your returning next year is very much look forward to.
Stay well and full of fun as you girls light up our season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

D&K Shady Nook is quite wonderful. I was there for the 2013 Shakespeare festival and stayed 7 nights. For a reasonable rate you get clean and homey rooms decorated with handmade quilts; breakfasts almost to order; swimming pool which is quite heavenly on warm days; walking distance to downtown and the 4 theaters for Shakespeare festival; access to a famiy room and a lovely dining area; and two of the nicest people in Doug & Kathy that you can hope to meet. They provide wonderful personal service including access to internet...a useful tool after you see the plays and want more details. They are onsite and always available for assistance. I was with friends who have been staying with D&K for the last 20+ years and we were treated like family. Absolutely lovely experience and highly recommend their B&B. Many thanks Kathy & Doug...hope to see you next year. Dotti M.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dotti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

kathy and I look forward to greeting you next year, it is always a pleasure to have a guest for the first time. Glad you had a good visit and enjoyed the plays with a little time to spend by the pool.
We will wish you a happy holiday season and all our best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our three night stay at D & K Shady Nook was all one could ask for. We were warmly welcomed by Kathy and Doug...and Sadie, their perky and well-behaved dog. Shady Nook is conveniently located, within a 5 minute car ride, or perhaps a pleasant 20 minute walk, of downtown Stratford. Our room was immaculate, quiet and comfortable, with good storage space. The breakfasts were copious and yummy...offered in a beautiful sunny room overlooking the swimming pool and lovingly tended flower gardens. (There are also gorgeous plantings in front of the house.) In addition to the en suite guest rooms and the breakfast/sunroom, guests have the use of a living room with t.v., and access to a refrigerator well stocked with beverages. We deeply appreciated the way in which Doug and Kathy made us feel at home for our brief stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for the kind words, its nice that people enjoy Sadie,a friendly Lhasa Apso which is nonallergenic and greets all with a "Woof" We will look forward to the chance to serve you needs when next you come to Stratford again ,all our best and many thanks,Doug & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed at D&K Shady Nook for several years and always found it to be a welcoming and comfortable place. The breakfasts are excellent and all the support is given to make us feel welcome and at home. The rooms are immaculately clean and the beds very comfortable. It is close to all the theatres and an easy walk to downtown. The gardens at the front and back are beautiful and provide an inspiration for all.
Andrea and Andre

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are good for those with some mobility issues.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

It is always a pleasure when friends return and you find out what is happening in their life as well as what they think of the plays. As gardeners we love to talk about plants etc, agrowing subject!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We happened to be able to book a room at D&K Shady Nook at the last minute and found it to be our luck. Kathy and Doug are great hosts - very friendly and helpful. While we have visited Stratford many times, they provided a dinner recommendation that was perfect, and a place we had not yet visited. The location of the B&B allowed us an easy 10 minute walk to the theater as well as dinner, thus avoiding the need to find parking. The room was comfortable, perfectly clean, and the rest of the house was very welcoming. It felt like a home away from home. Breakfast was excellent and very filling and the grounds very inviting. We would stay there again and would highly recommend D&K Shady Nook to anyone looking for a B&B in Stratford.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the main floor for those not wanting to negotiate stairs. However, either room on the second floor would be nice. We stayed in Room 3 on the second floor and found it to be quite comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We are glad you found us and that we met your needs for fine dining and accommodation while
visiting Stratford, looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews