We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just a few miles from the theatres but a very peaceful oasis. Woodland setting with a variety of rooms to choose from . Breakfast was just okay but then again you are eating by their small lake, so wonderful . Friendly and helpful owners

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    41
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
73
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay and this place is a great place to unwind and relax. The tranquility sound of the woods that surrounds the motel, the relaxing mood of the lake across the motel, and activities the motel has to offer--kayaking, walking trail, etc-- this makes a great summer getaway. A great escape from Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 17 July 2015
We are so glad to have made your holiday a memorable and hope to see you in the future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

perfect place for many occasions - as short as 1 night (like I had) or up to a week for total r&r. I had the last vacancy of the night. No fuss check-in, perfectly spotless, nicely appointed rustic room with a refrig, microwave. A few nice amenities - nightlight, chocolate on the bedstand. BUT the BEST part is the outside. A large natural wildlife area with a lake surrounds the perfectly groomed grounds, gazebos, and gardens of the motel. Abundant wildlife including the heron on the swimming platform, canoeing, fishing, and paddle boats on the lake, some pretty short hikes through the woods.(take your bug spray)
Met a lot of people - some have stayed many times. All had great reviews to me. Well run - nice people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Thank you so much for your great review. We hope to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leoben, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely motel- I would rather call it Hotel or resort! best place I've stayed in Canada so far! the lake is wonderful- they have kayaks and bycicle to rent (without fee), the breakfast is amazing and healthy. just make sure to take some mosquito spray with you to keep them off your skin ;-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 8 June 2015
We are in a very natural setting and yes, the mosquito population seemed a bit worse this year with the cool weather. We noticed our bird count seemed less as well during the season which probably did not help. Bug spray and oils are available in the office for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Forest is under new management and the property improved. Simply one of the most beautiful properties anywhere in southern Ontario. I recommend it to all my friends going to Stratford for theatre and one by one they have become regulars.

My only complaint on my last visit. Not enough water pressure in the shower.

Great place.

Room Tip: the villa is great if you can get it. The other rooms are fine, though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennettG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 8 June 2015
Thank you for appreciating the yearly changes. We are not under new management but have made substantial changes to the property and rooms over the past 10 years and each year something new takes place. Thank you for your support in making this a special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I and our adult daughter had tickets for a play in Stratford and I'm so pleased that we chose to stay at the Forest Motel for the weekend. It is a beautiful spot right on the outskirts of town with lots of opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. We used to go camping with the kids when they were young so it was ideal to be able to relive those days by canoeing, kayaking, and sitting around a camp fire (prepared by the staff!). Each morning we went to the breakfast room, chose our items, and used the trays provided to carry our meal down to the dock where we sat and enjoyed the peaceful setting. Although the lake is small, it's perfect for a short canoe or kayak ride which we enjoyed a few times. I especially liked taking pictures of the water lilies. There is a clean and well organized equipment hut by the dock where guests help themselves to life jackets (various sizes), fishing rods, nets, croquet, ring toss, soccer balls, etc. There is also a good selection of bicycles including a bicycle built for two. Helmets are provided, but we brought our own and loved pedalling in synch up and down the quiet road. It was lovely to look outside our window and see the green of tall trees (right at the edge of the parking area). It was also very nice to sit and read in the sunshine in the comfortable chairs outside our unit. I appreciated that we were able to get a breeze through our room with screens on the front window, door and over the bathtub as I much prefer fresh air to air conditioning. This cooled our room down nicely for sleeping. The ambiance of the room with its black leather couch, dark wood furniture, comfortable beds and exposed cut beams was natural and homey. Everything was immaculate and we loved having a fridge for our drinks. The outdoor landscaping was very nice. Plants and wooden dividers were used effectively to separate various sitting areas along the shore to give guests some privacy. The staff and the owner were very friendly!
The peacefulness of this accommodation is obviously dependent on the other guests who you would be sharing the outdoor space with. If you want to avoid sports teams who may be in town for a weekend tournament I would recommend staying from Monday to Friday, but we didn't mind the added busyness from a baseball team that joined us on our second day because the players and their families were polite and everyone looked like they were having a good time. If you like to be close to nature but want the comfort of a hotel room, this is the place to stay when you come to Stratford. It would also be an excellent choice for a family reunion.

Room Tip: Unit #10 has been newly renovated for anyone with mobility issues. It has a walk-in shower, air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Joanna for your detailed and kind review. You have completely captured the ambiance and nature of the Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat and we appreciate the time and energy that you have put into explaining your wonderful experience here. We look forward to your return! Kim & Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you are visiting Stratford and are looking for a very modestly priced and convenient option this motel is a great option - for some (please keep reading). While the rooms feel like you are in a charming rustic cottage - they are fully equipped for most needs: microwave, fridge, flat screen TV, decent shower, iron/ironing board, umbrellas, coffee maker, etc. The breakfast is nothing special but certainly covers the basic to start your day. The motel is a very convenient 5 minute drive from the centre of town (and the festival's theatres). The motel's private grounds boast several gazebos, many chairs, a bbq, walking paths, kayaks & a paddleboat on a small lake, and several bicycles. This motel - for what is tries to be - would have received an excellent rating but for "the train."
Be warned - there is a 6:15 AM freight train that passes within 50m of the motel (weekends included). The trains appeared to run every two hours starting at approximately 6:15 AM. While one person indicated that one "gets used to it" - clearly one cannot "get used" to anything if they are staying there for a night or two or three. Being adjacent to a crossing, every time the train passes the "whistle" or horn is extremely loud. So as long as you do not mind being up by 6 AM or are content to try to fall asleep (until the next train) - this is an excellent option for visitors to the area. Sadly, while this might be small quirk for some, despite all the good aspects of this property, I (personally) do not think that I would return.

Room Tip: The air conditioning in the rooms are being modernized. My family had two rooms: one had a silent, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xmtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us; we appreciate it.
We are sorry to hear you did not appreciate the train for the minute it takes to pass by and we thought we should clarify your comments for the benefit of others.
The Goderich Salt Mine train rumbles in the Stratford yard each morning and leaves town every morning between 6 and 7 AM passing us by. It returns each evening around 5 to 6 PM.
Two Via trains leave Stratford and pass us by at 8:30 and 11:30 AM and return before dark each day.
The unique part of the Forest Motel property was that the Grand Trunk Railroad used to own it. The property had the Steam Engines stop here to fill up with water from our lake and we have discovered the pipeline that delivered water to the Steam Locomotive repair shops in Stratford as well at the turn of the century. Our complete history is found written with pictures in each motel room for your enjoyment and this seems to add lots of character to our place.
For the most part the 'one minute' train passing by is viewed as a minor annoyance to some of our guests and reviewers but no different than living or staying in any noisy downtown or city centre. Quite honestly, the 32 acres of scenery, forest & lake, birds, wildlife and the actual character of the Forest Motel as a whole are what make us the very unique destination that we are, especially being located one mile from Stratford City limits. Thanks for allowing us to add to your very good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat

Property: Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Address: 2941 Forest Rd, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HRS so you can book your Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing