We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Marvelous Hostess”
Review of Buckingham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckingham House
Ranked #31 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I had not visited Stratford in several years and decided at the last minute (actually two weeks before our visit) that we wanted to attend the Stratford Festival to see "Fiddler On The Roof." Given that we were entering the start of the busy summer season, we found several choices already booked (no surprise) but were told by one B&B operator to try the Buckingham House. I booked on-line and Shelly came back very quickly with a confirmation. The location is great with just a short walk to downtown. We arrived at the B&B after attending an afternoon performance and settled in quickly with Shelly offering some great tips on restaurants (try Rene's Bistro) and bid us adieu until the next morning. We relaxed for a short while in her lovely garden where she grows herbs among the flowering bushes. The room was comfortable and the bed and linens were excellent. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and the conversation with the other couple lasted about an hour longer than we had planned, but it's what we expect at B&Bs -- good food and new friends. We certainly will return to the Buckingham House on our next visit to Stratford.

Room Tip: The front room is the largest of the three, though its WC is among the smallest I've seen ... ev...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Buckingham House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Buckingham House is located within walking distance to the train station and downtown and Avon Theatre. Quiet Street. Wonderful experience at this B&B. Super clean, great food, and friendly owner. Would highly recommend to anyone coming to Stratford.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155004PWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

All other bed-and-breakfasts we have used in Stratford (and Niagara-on-the-Lake) have allowed us to drop off our bags on arrival, before going to lunch and theatre. Not here. We were told to leave our bags in the car and come back later.

Interesting. Well, it was a long non-stop drive from Toronto; we were fairly anxious to use the washroom. No, not here. We were told to use the tourism office downtown.

It's not as if we dropped by unexpectedly. We had a reservation and had put down a deposit.
This was our first stay here—and will certainly be our last.

The bedroom named "William" was pleasant enough, although the ensuite bath was in fact right in the room. The sink and shower were there, with the toilet in a tiny closet you had to leave the door open to use. There was Wi-Fi for our laptop but no television.

Compared to other b&bs, this had more of a rooming-house atmosphere. For the price, we had expected the style that is standard elsewhere. At breakfast, you make your own tea and milk comes in little plastic tubs. The meal was quite ordinary except for some reasonable scones.

We cannot help but note that the "excellent" reviews this establishment is getting are chiefly from first-time reviewers. Experienced travellers will not find Buckingham House excellent or even very good. But, resisting temptation, we'll call it average.

Room Tip: Other rooms may not have the shower right in the room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VRGFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend in Stratford featuring an excellent stay at Buckingham House. The building is charming and elegant, the bedrooms large and comfortable, the location terrific, the proprietress, Shelley, pleasant and welcoming, and the homemade gourmet breakfast worth waking up for. All in all a fantastic place to stay for a weekend away, Two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Buckingham house is beautifully appointed turn of the century house...oh those high ceilings. Shelley is a super hostess, friendly and welcoming. We had two great breakfasts and lucked in to meeting the most interesting fellow guests. Oh and the grounds are inviting and it's to get to the town centre.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Stratford together for about ten years, and we always feel like a homecoming, from the restaurants to the stores to the scenery (and the plays of course). In the last couple of years, that feeling has been helped along by Shelly Myers and her B&B. We had enjoyed staying at Buckingham when Ted owned it, but Shelly has really made us very welcome with her great conversation, food and hospitality. The house itself is a beauty, and its proximity to the town is yet another plus. We are already planning next year's visit, of which this remains an integral part.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great location a short walk from down town and one block from the YMCA. Also close to the train station, an easy walk. The furthest theater is within walking distance, about 1.4 kilometers on quiet streets, the others very close. Shelly is a great host, likes to visit, and knows alot. The house is charming and the (3) rooms are all nice, and all different. One would have to stay in all three to be sure of one's preference, as we have. We do agree with all the positive content of the "recent reviews" I see on the right, and most certainly will return next year. We are a bit fussy, but zero complaints here :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
#43 of 89 in Stratford
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#15 of 89 in Stratford
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodmont Guest House
Woodmont Guest House
#25 of 89 in Stratford
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham House

Address: 67 Douro St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £116 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckingham House, a bed and breakfast in the heart of Stratford, is a short walk from downtown shops, services, restaurants and the Avon and Studio Theatres. The Festival and Tom Patterson Theatres are within easy walking distance too. The house is Italianate in design, its exterior features include decorative brick details, high windows, overhanging eaves and period wooden bracket trim. There is a downstairs parlour and an upstairs sitting room inside for relaxation and conversation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buckingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham House Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing