We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved our stay at Stone Maiden Inn. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and we loved the decor. Our breakfasts were delicious--the scones were the best we've ever had! Everything was very clean and neat, and the innkeepers were friendly and gracious. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mememac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    64
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
167
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent last weekend with our two sons, their wives and two kids, needing four rooms in all. It worked out very well and we all shared a table at breakfast. Admittedly we had reserved last fall in order to be sure of getting what we needed. Pleasant rooms and amenities, low key.

Room Tip: the website is a good guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very picturesque historic hotel with lovely themed rooms in different decor. Our only complaint (small) is that the shower set up was a bit tight for my husband and me as we are tall 5'8" and 6' so we would probably ask for another room next time. Trish, our hostess, was amazingly hospitable and caring. We had brought wine and cheese which we were welcomed to eat outside in their pretty courtyard. Pat, her husband came out later to welcome us. Breakfast was delicious with a feather light blueberry scone and home made preserves, and a tasty open omelette with feta and light vegetable topping. Our room and others had fireplaces so this would be a great winter destination for Christmas shopping in town - a short 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen Mara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First impressions really are important and the Stone Maiden Inn passes with flying colours. Our room was lovely and breakfast the next morning was exceptional. We will be returning on our next trip to Stratford.
D. Macdonald
Toronto

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine332332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is my second stay and every was lovely, from the room, to the staff, to the food, which was again extraordinary. Hope to return again soon. The location is excellent, easy to walk to theatres, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have stayed at the Stone Maiden Inn many times. Pat and Trish - new owners in the past few years - have really fixed it up nice. Dining room and other common areas are nicely renovated. Bed rooms are clean and comfortable, almost all with private baths. We have also found the inn to be nice and quiet - not on a busy street, yet walkable to town for theaters and restaurants. Breakfasts were great with several selections to choose from and always a nice baked good too. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Inn's website has good images and descriptions of all bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd&Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hosts are hospitable; Rooms are comfortable and appropriately equipped; Breakfasts are wonderful. Proximity to theatres for Stratford Festival, and proximity to everything else in the town makes walking easy. So, we keep coming back!

Room Tip: Photos and descriptions on website are quite helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossBorder2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 15 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to the Stratford Festival, Stratford Summer Music, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing