We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the Stone Maiden Inn, Stratford, Ontario”
Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Review of the Stone Maiden Inn, Stratford, Ontario”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

During the past several years we have stayed at a number of Stratford area Inns and Bed & Breakfasts and we found that the Stone Maiden Inn was our best experience yet. There really was not a downside to our stay there, with our room (The Secret Garden) very clean and very quiet, as well as having several unique and interesting quirks of architecture and design. The hosts were gracious and accommodating. Trish was very helpful when we arrived, and Pat had already been especially helpful when we had to rebook our original reservation to this later date after I sustained an injury that precluded travel. Breakfast was superb, with several fresh and delicious entrees to choose from. In all, a most splendid experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    65
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
174
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka District, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently treated to a 2 night stay at the Stone Maiden as a gift from our son & daughter-in-law. Upon arrival, we were met by Trish and given a lovely tour of the Inn and all the facilities available to us. Having never been to Stratford before, we asked Trish for some suggestions for dinner. She was very helpful in finding a restaurant that was open on Monday evening (something we had not though about) and recommended a great place. We stayed in the Romeo & Juliet room and found it to be very charming. After a long day of much walking and shopping, the soaker tub was heavenly!
Chef Erin's breakfast were delicious - original ideas, garden fresh ingredients and made to perfection. What a treat to have so many choices for breakfast both in seating time and the food choices. Sitting outside on the patio to have another cup of their wonderful coffee was so relaxing and was where we planned our first day.
Our room was on the "railway track" side and although we were told the train did pass through, we never once heard it. Our hosts, Pat and Trish, made us feel very welcome. You can feel the pride they take in their property whenever you talk to them.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and hope to return one day .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omissmarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stone Maiden Inn is a favourite when visiting Stratford. The hosts are very hospitable and the breakfast prepared by a chef is exquisite. The rooms very clean and ours was quaint and the sky light in the bathroom made it very bright. We enjoyed our get away.

I recommend this Inn and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Debbie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We found Stone Maiden Inn perfect...relaxing, quiet with excellent breakfasts. We appreciated being able to eat breakfast alone, not having to socialize early in the day. Also had a nice range of breakfast options for time 8;00 to 9:30. Perfect for sleeping in. We hope to return soon. Also, it was an easy walk to theater & restaurants. O'Briens

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 20th this year. We booked the Stone Maiden Inn for one night. From the initial online booking to a few emails etc., sorting out some details, Patrick, the owner, was spot on with service. We arrived in the late afternoon and immediately had the "wow" factor when we walked in. The Stone Maiden's long history is exemplified not only in its physical characteristics but in its historical essence of a small, cozy and charming B&B [Inn] where most folks would struggle to find fault.

Our room, the Romeo & Juliet [ ya, I know] was fantastic. My wife said, "Oh my god, I love this room." Not too detailed but her tone was what made that moment perfect for our 20th.

The breakfast was good - not spectacular - there were options to choose, which is great but the scrambled eggs were precooked and kept warm in the oven or under a lamp and therefore dried out a bit and the bottom of the scramble stuck to the plate. Juice were canned. Nonetheless, the food is fine, no real complaints, the coffee is excellent & from a local provider [Balzac's] and the service was bang on. One must have a house made scone - those are spectacular!

Another great thing about the Stone Maiden is the location - about a 15-minute walk from the core of things in Stafford and, as it is located on a quite neighborhood street, well, it's nice and quiet. Mind you, we were there mid-week so we may have a different experience on a weekend and/or during peak season.

The inn parlor is a wonderful place to hang out. I sat in it reading and writing while my wife took a deep-super-soaker-tub bath in our room - she was in heaven. There's a small garden patio as well but I did not use that. There's free Wi-Fi and one computer [iMac] for guests use & there's parking for a few cars on site.

The Stone Maiden Inn is a wonderful, easy going, romantic and practical small inn/B&B, will return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go for a fireplace room and a larger room - especially for the "romantic" factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved our stay at Stone Maiden Inn. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and we loved the decor. Our breakfasts were delicious--the scones were the best we've ever had! Everything was very clean and neat, and the innkeepers were friendly and gracious. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mememac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent last weekend with our two sons, their wives and two kids, needing four rooms in all. It worked out very well and we all shared a table at breakfast. Admittedly we had reserved last fall in order to be sure of getting what we needed. Pleasant rooms and amenities, low key.

Room Tip: the website is a good guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 89 in Stratford
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 15 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to the Stratford Festival, Stratford Summer Music, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing