We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #47 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed in a few B&Bs in Stratford before staying at Ambercroft. Now, we only stay at Ambercroft.
The hosts, Rob and Sophie, are so helpful and considerate. Their recommendations for restaurants and attractions in the area have always been great. The bedrooms and bathrooms are nicely decorated and well kept. The common areas for guests and comfortable and stocked with visitors guides. Sitting on their wide veranda having a morning coffee or a reading a book is a nice retreat. The morning breakfasts are varied and delicious. Their location is on a quiet street - away from the noise of the main roads, yet close enough to walk to downtown Stratford and the theatres
We appreciate this wonderful B&B, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephineAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and several of our friends make an annual trip to Stratford. We have been doing this for the last 17 years. We had stayed in a few other places in the beginning and the Ambercroft is by far the best in town. DO NOT hesitate to stay here. Rob and Sophie are top notch people and top notch hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlong49762003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My husband and I had been coming to Stratford for many years, and had stayed in a number of great B&Bs. After a 10-year hiatus, we decided to start coming to the Festival again and found Ambercroft a few years ago. We've been staying there for around 5 years now. We come with another couple and stay 4 nights in the Maple room during high season. Ambercroft is a lovely B&B - each room has its own bathroom and guests are welcome to sit on the porch or in the house in the living room and TV room during any down time between plays. The house is air conditioned and the rooms have ceiling fans so it's very comfortable even on the warmest days. There is wireless internet service for those folks (like us) who bring their own computers. The house is centrally located, close to the Avon theater and town square but the street is very quiet at night so we sometimes leave the windows open. Our room is not the biggest one in the B&B but certainly big enough for us.
Breakfast is served at 8:30 am and consists of a fruit item, a baked good and something hot, like eggs or pancakes. Rob is so kind to me - he remembers that my favorite breakfast is eggs and cheese on a croissant and he always tries to have that on the menu when we are there. He also remembers that I don't eat pork and makes sure that my breakfast is pork-free. We eat so much at breakfast that we usually skip lunch (unless the aroma of Ken's french fry wagon is too much to resist).
There are only two potential downsides to Ambercroft: first, it is booked way in advance during high season so it's hard to get in for longer stays on short notice. However, people do cancel and there are sometimes rooms available for a couple of nights even in July. Second, it is a B&B so if people are expecting a hotel experience, they need to go elsewhere. However, people who have stayed at B&Bs will find Rob and Sophia to be excellent hosts and Ambercroft a memorable place to stay in Stratford. We certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I have been staying at Ambercroft since Rob and Sophia began running their Bed and Breakfast. The hosts are generous with their time and extremely helpful. Rob has recommend restaurants for special occasions and made reservations for us, his recommendations have always been spot on. The breakfasts are delicious, the coffee is excellent and the company at breakfast has been delightful. Ambercroft is a comfortable, clean, well maintained and charming B & B. I love the front porch, it is a great place to hang out and read a book or have a conversation. The location is unbeatable. It is in the heart of Stratford within walking distance of all of the theaters and restaurants. I have stayed at many B & B's in Canada and the USA. This is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

2011 was our 7th year with Rob and Sophia. We stay a week each year and find this B & B exceptionally friendly. The central location is superb - a block or so from the Studio and Avon Theaters, and only a little further to all the popular restaurants. We especially enjoy the company discussions at breakfast and never feel rushed. We have already booked 2012.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

For the last three years (and again this coming August), my spouse and I have enjoyed friendly hospitality, comfortable and thoughtful accommodation, interesting breakfasts, and very pleasant (and informative) breakfast conversations with our host and other guests at Ambercroft B&B, walking distance to all the theatres and the restaurant area of Stratford.

I recall that on the occasion of our first booking, our host inquired whether either of us had any special dietary requirements. I have an intolerance for mushrooms, and, apparently, that information has been inscribed in our profile; our host has been, over the years, religious in keeping mushrooms clear of my breakfast fare. Furthermore, we've come to trust his recommendations of local restaurants, to enjoy the produce of his garden, and even to hear the local info on what's happening at the festival.

So let me recommend Ambercroft. It's a good place to stay for all sorts of practical reasons, but mainly, for us, it's been quiet, comfortable nights and easy mornings in an elegant dining room, where we've enjoyed good conversation about the extraordinary plays we've seen, over that second or third cup of coffee. Ambercroft is absolutely tops!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have stayed here every year since around 2001 and found it a totally relaxing, enjoyable experience. In 2007 my wife had an accident at a theatre nearby and injured her leg. Sophia, the hostess, was extremely helpful, taking her immediately to the local hospital and looking after her wellbeing during the rest of our stay. This is typical of the caring hospitality of Ambercroft.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agincourt Manor
Agincourt Manor
#37 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#15 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
#27 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast
Address: 129 Brunswick St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3L9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing