We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Lewiston, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My friends and I have been staying at Ambercroft for a girls' weekend for years. Now under new ownership, I can say that Leanne McPhie (our Host) is doing a wonderful job! She's made some changes to be even more welcoming for guests. There is a large living room, library and kitchenette available for guests, as well as outdoor seating areas. A mini-fridge in each room, with bottled water and a lovely, locally made chocolate was a pleasant surprise. She has ample information available for visitors and has the personality to make everyone feel at home. The breakfast was really delicious and hearty. We're looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had such a wonderful stay :-) I surprised my husband with an overnight at Ambercroft after a show and the owner and her sister, who is also the cook, were incredibly friendly and clearly love having a bed and breakfast. We were welcomed with a box of chocolates from Rheo Thompson in honor of my husbands birthday, which went above and beyond our expectations. Please note that the current owner only more recently took over and the negative reviews are about the previous owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed over night at the Ambercroft in order to take in one of Stratford's many productions, 42nd Street in July 2012. The Ambercroft is located on a quiet street, minutes from downtown Stratford and approximately 20 mins walk to the theater. It is a quaint, historic period house that makes you feel right at home the minute you walk in the door. The B & B is very well maintained and met all our needs for this overnight excursion. We enjoyed our time in Stratford and look forward to returning again soon! The Ambercroft was in the midst of turning over and we hope the new owner will be as friendly and warm as Rob & Sophia.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreThanaSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We are sorry to say Ambercroft Bed and Breakfast should be avoided at all costs. Based on many reviews posted here, it sounded like a wonderful place to stay...and it may have been once, but no longer. These owners told us they want to sell the business and made it clear they no longer enjoy dealing with guests at their B&B, and they acted on those words. Rob, especially, was rude, unkind, and judgmental.

The room wasn't very clean (dirty Kleenex on the floor near bedside table and under the bed; bathroom floor hadn't be mopped; etc.). And they have a chime clock that blasted right into room all night long. The worst thing is that Rob wrongly charged our credit card and flatly refused to correct it. He was clearly having difficulty with other guest(s), and told us he "wanted to make sure he got his money." He lost his cool in the most unprofessional manner we've every seen, and he shouted at us, "I've charged your card and it's done!" and he promptly turned his back on us. His misdirected angry was intense.

His wife came out to apologize stating he had a bad week and hoped we would understand. She indicated that her husband had been yelling at her all morning as well. She went on to say, in a very emotional and disturbing way, that it's really hard dealing with the public and they want to sell the business. Clearly this was more than someone simply having a bad day.

We wish them the best of luck selling and hope they get out of the B&B business as soon as possible, so they don't inflict themselves upon other unsuspecting travelers.

Room Tip: Location is certainly important, and that's all Ambercroft had in its favor. Look beyond locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIchele42538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Ambercroft has so many things to recommend it.
Of course, location, location, and location has to be at the top of the list. The Ambercroft is just beyond the very center of town and is in walking distance to the theatres, restaurants, shops, and the swans at the lake.
The generous rooms are attractively furnished and impeccably clean. Our favorite room has two comfortable and inviting chairs, perfect for some quiet reading time between plays.
After making this our "home" in Stratford for several years, Rob and Sophia feel like old friends. We look forward to seeing them as well as the pleasure of a familiar room and an inviting front porch.
We especially appreciate the 8:30 breakfast time, which allows us to enjoy the always pleasant breakfast conversation with other guests and still be able to take advantage of all of the great festival fringe programs. Though sometimes we still miss them because it's so pleasant to linger over Rob's and Sophia's good breakfasts with another cuppa while sharing insights about the plays we've seen or just getting to know our fellow travelers.
Already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HederaHelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed in a few B&Bs in Stratford before staying at Ambercroft. Now, we only stay at Ambercroft.
The hosts, Rob and Sophie, are so helpful and considerate. Their recommendations for restaurants and attractions in the area have always been great. The bedrooms and bathrooms are nicely decorated and well kept. The common areas for guests and comfortable and stocked with visitors guides. Sitting on their wide veranda having a morning coffee or a reading a book is a nice retreat. The morning breakfasts are varied and delicious. Their location is on a quiet street - away from the noise of the main roads, yet close enough to walk to downtown Stratford and the theatres
We appreciate this wonderful B&B, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephineAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and several of our friends make an annual trip to Stratford. We have been doing this for the last 17 years. We had stayed in a few other places in the beginning and the Ambercroft is by far the best in town. DO NOT hesitate to stay here. Rob and Sophie are top notch people and top notch hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlong49762003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#8 of 89 in Stratford
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queen and Albert B&B
The Queen and Albert B&B
#16 of 89 in Stratford
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast
Address: 129 Brunswick St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3L9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ambercroft Bed & Breakfast Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing