We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The comforts of home”
Review of The Parlour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Parlour Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As we were going to a play at the Festival Theatre, we decided to stay the night before returning home. We stayed in the Thomson suite at the hotel in which the amenities were perfect for our needs. All signage indicated that the management would try their best to get us anything that was not already provided. We were pleased and had a good rest before heading home the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for The Parlour Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

do stay here!
this hotel is probably the best Best Western I have stayed in. The staff is friendly and attentive. The property indeed well-preserved historic. The room was comfortable. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The King Suite is a lovely room with comfy bed, pillows and bedding. A beautiful soaker tub and fireplace are adjoined to the bedroom with a television in bedroom and siting room. Some of the best food I have had is in the Gastro Pub downstairs. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank RettaGarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here when we were in Stratford to see Tommy at the Avon theater - a short walk (5 minutes or so). The hotel is a charming historic hotel. We were not going to spend much time int he room so booked one of their smaller queen size rooms. The room was so nice - comfortable bed; creature comforts; town views from room. Good flat screen TV. We thought at first it might be a bit noisy as it was on the street - but it was plenty quiet at night (minus the occasional visitors to the LCBO (liquor) store across the street.

The hotel has an elevator; free parking, and easy access to rooms.

It also has a very good pub as well as restaurant. We at there prior to the show and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

The staff is very friendly. There is a pillow menu - so if you do not like your pillows - they will fin one that will work for you.

The helpfulness of the staff was also excellent.

Overall, this is a good place to stay if visiting the Stratford Ontario area.

Room Tip: Even though it is a historic hotel, there is an elevator and free parking. as such, easy access to...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is excellent - we had a suite and the jucuzzi tub was excellent. Mattress and pillows were great. The restaurant is average at best and overpriced. Ate there for supper (too tired after a full day to walk about) and the waitress seemed to be apologizing to everyone for missed cutlery, late deliveries, and so on. The squash soup was very tasty but just warm -- and that was $9.00 a bowl. The turkey dinner was a flippin $27 bucks -- we got clucked on that one -- our fault for ordering it. And it was nothing special. But the hotel is right across the street from the LCBO and lots of parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromChathamOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The staff were welcoming,cheerful and very helpful.The room was spotless, well appointed and comfortable, though we had to call housekeeping to help us sort out the complicated thermostat, which they did very promptly. A small instructional label beside this device would have been helpful for the luddites among us! We had only one dinner- superb Breakfast menu could have more healthy food- the only cold cereal was rice krispies and froot-loops- nothing fibre-based, no bran muffins etc. We plan to stay there again while attending the Festival

Room Tip: Several room plans available. Be sure to ask for description and, preferably, speak to a receptioni...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We visited this charming little hotel for the second time this theatre season and loved it just as much as the first. The staff could not be more accommodating. It was a busy holiday weekend, the hotel was full to the brim, and they were clearly short-staffed. Whereas one might expect this to lead to poorer service, the opposite occurred. The staff pulled together as a team - they brought credit to the establishment - management stepped up to the plate, everyone doubled their efforts to provide a superlative guest experience. From the moment we arrived to check in the staff did everything possible to make sure we felt welcome and valued.

The rooms are well-appointed with high-end amenities, and there are a variety of room types - some quite small but cozy and others very spacious. All are relaxing, quiet and well-equipped. You can walk to several of the threatres from this location. Overall this hotel is a hidden gem and deserves a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sitting area unless you want to be sitting on your bed. Suites are large and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sistersofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlour Inn

Address: 101 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L4, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Parlour Historic Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
#5 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: £92 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parlour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Parlour Inn! Downtown. This historic property is located in the heart of the downtown and just minutes away from Stratford's business parks, Stratford festival theatres and adjacent to the University of Waterloo Stratford Campus. Fantastic dining room and Steakhouse on site. Meeting and conference rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Parlour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Parlour Historic Hotel Stratford
Best Western Stratford
Stratford Best Western
The Parlour Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing