We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of The Parlour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Parlour Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Parlour for one night when we attended an evening performance of The Music Man. This hotel has much going for it.

First, the location is excellent. It is within walking distance of The Avon, a mere five minutes and you are there. It is also located in the centre of the shops and restaurants. Unless you have tickets at the main theatre, The Festival, you will park your car and not move it for the duration of your visit.

Second, the downstairs pub/restaurant is convenient and very good. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch there. Try the butter chicken, very yummy. We also had drinks on the patio after the performance and breakfast the next morning. Really good food and very reasonably priced.

Finally, the service in the hotel and the restaurant is excellent. Reception was quite happy to accomodate a request for an early check-in, which we really appreciated. Staff exchanges throughout our stay were always pleasant and friendly. A request for extra towels was answered promptly. The people who work in this hotel are genuinely concerned that their guests have a nice stay.

We stayed in a room overlooking the patio and it wasn't quite what it appeared to be in the picture ,posted on the hotel web site. Instead of a loveseat and coffee table, it had two chairs and a smaller table. It had been redecorated with newer curtains and bedding. I was surprised that the hotel uses bedspreads and blankets instead of duvets and there was no full length mirror in the room. My other criticism of the room was the washroom. The shower was small and the sink had very little storage area for personal toiletries. It was cramped. The room had a corner jacuzzi which was quite nice and quite large.

Overall, our visit was a good one in this hotel and we will consider staying there again when we visit Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pokieman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2008

There was still construction of the main lobby area when we arrived, but that really was not a problem at all. We stayed in room 307 and it was very nice. A small separate seating area, large bathroom with whirlpool (no counter space though), and a comfortable bed. Within easy walking distance to all theatres except for the Festival. That theatre is more of a LONG walk. While we did not eat in the restaurant it appeared very nice. All the staff was helpful and friendly. There is parking next to the Inn and that was nice as we parked our car and did not get in until time to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adawosdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

The renovations are definitely taking a toll -- our stay was sort of a comedy of errors -- but once done, I think the hotel will be very nice. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and the rooms are beautiful (maybe a bit too beautiful? It makes me nervous when there's no where to put down a water glass except on a fancy wood table where it will leave rings.)

However, if you are in town mainly to see plays at the main Festival theatre, be aware that it is a good 30-minute walk from the hotel. Unless the weather is perfect, you are going to want to drive. And if you're driving anyway, why pay such exorbitant rates to stay in town? This is not really a criticism of this hotel in particular (though its location somewhat exacerbates the problem) so much as a warning generally to Stratford newcomers who may be expecting everything to be 5 minutes from each other. The hotel *is* very close to the Avon and Studio theatres, and the Patterson theare is more like 20 minutes away. Check which plays you're going to and book accordingly.

Note also that the town and theatres appear to be almost half-empty at the moment, despite the high-season rates. I suspect that if gas prices stay high and the US dollar stays low, you might be able to negotiate a better deal than the list price. If not at this hotel, then certainly at one of the others. The whole area is going to have a grim summer if things don't pick up.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank miomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParlourGuy, Owner/Operator at The Parlour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2008

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you were happy with the staff and the rooms, and am sorry for any concerns with the renovations (100% completed last month).
In terms of the distance to the Festival Theatre we generally find that guests prefer to stay in a downtown location, close to the Avon Theatre, Studio Theatre, all of the restaurants and shopping, and then only have to drive (or take a cab) to the Festival Theatre. Staying near the Festival means you have to drive for every meal, all shopping and the downtown theatres.
Often the first week of July is slow (with the Canadian and US holidays) besides that we have been only slightly slower than past years.
Thank you again for your comment and we hope to serve you in the futures
Randy Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We were a little disappointed to see that the hotel is under construction this year as of May 2008. They have been bought by Best Western. The parking lot was messy and a little scary to park in as big trucks, crains etc are vieing for space with your car...a bit of a nuisance. BUT, we were upgraded to a very nice room, without asking to make up for inconvenience. It had a large kingsize bed, a living area complete with a small sink, fridge and microwave. Bathroom had a smallish whirlpool but none-the-less, great I imagine, in the winter months. Dinner was a bit pricey but good. Staff anxious to please and warm and welcoming. There were nice little touches in the suite...and it was beautifully decorated with expensive drapes and accessories.
The hotel is right downtown and within walking distance to several restaurants and the Avon and Studio Theatres. Literally one block away, which is a real plus when getting out of a show at 11 in the evening.
The Stratford Festival is really wonderful, as usual, this year. Plan on seeing Hamlet and Music Man. Both were stellar performances. I would encourage Americans to continue come to Canada, even though the currency is on par and the border crossing is tiresome and annoying. We were asked to show our theatre tickets as well as our passports. What's with that?

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParlourGuy, Owner/Operator at The Parlour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2008

Thank you for the review, we looking forward to seeing you again. The construction is wrapping up (will be finished in about 2 weeks). The new rooms are opening June 20th and the Elevator is accessible! We will be the first Branded hotel in Stratford later this summer, branding as a Best Western. We are still under the same ownership and management
Randy Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

The Parlour captured the charm of Stratford perfectly, from the beautifully appointed rooms (each one unique!) to the absolutely outstanding meal in the ground floor restaurant/pub...and the service at every turn was prompt, considerate, and attentive.

When visiting Stratford again in the future, I won't even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grah7830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Parlour. The rooms have a lovely cozy yet elegant feel and the beds are very comfortable and the whirlpool tub is just delicious. It's like no other small hotel at which we've ever stayed. The decor is gorgeous and the rooms are spotlessly clean. It's the perfect base from which to shop or go to the theatre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank villagesOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

This is a comfortable and luxurious place to stay. Very clean and quiet. By far the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The bathrobes provided were also a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KitchenerWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#11 of 18 in Stratford
296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlour Inn

Address: 101 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L4, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Parlour Historic Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: £90 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parlour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Parlour Inn! Downtown. This historic property is located in the heart of the downtown and just minutes away from Stratford's business parks, Stratford festival theatres and adjacent to the University of Waterloo Stratford Campus. Fantastic dining room and Steakhouse on site. Meeting and conference rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your The Parlour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Parlour Historic Hotel Stratford
Best Western Stratford
Stratford Best Western
The Parlour Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing