We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and still great”
Review of Mercer

Mercer
Reserve with OpenTable
Mercer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 135 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: One of Ontario's Largest Craft Beer Selections accompany a delicious "from scratch" menu and 14 modern and centrally located Hotel Rooms!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Second visit and still great”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had the beet salad as an appetizer. It was delicious and beautifully presented. We both ordered short ribs for our main course. Yum! Good portion size. Excellent service. A really wonderful dinner. We are staying in room 303 and it is quite lovely and very comfortable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    139
    52
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, On
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had dinner again at Mercer while on our annual trip to Stratford. It's a unique menu. I like shorter menus that show a wide variety. The preparation was outstanding. Try the scallops and pork belly appetizer. Our server was also very good; knowledgeable and just the right amount of doting on us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pic'n'dor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Obsequious staff and VERY Limited Menu”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had stayed at the Inn before and had the no longer offered bed and breakfast and the food was good. Several years ago they stopped offering breakfast. As we were staying at the Inn and seeing a matinee and evening show we decided to try the restaurant - highly rated by some and convenient although pricey. I looked at the limited menu and noted that, as a vegetarian, I had even fewer options than the omnivores so hoped there had to be a special menu for us. Nope! And when I asked, the waitress proceeded to point out and describe in detail the two veggie options (not really as one had dairy) which I had already read in detail and told her so but she continued. I ended up with a salad (pretty good) and PEI mussels, with out the cheese (good but broth too salty and clearly still cheesy). The spicy bloody mary was good. Seems like a good restaurant trying hard to be high-end exclusive without succeeding. Sad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kawbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Doing it right!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Saturday night and the place was busy so we were expecting slower service... Not the case. Excellent service and fantastic food, what all restaurants should be. Cheers

Helpful?
Thank BigHaircut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
307 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on the Chocolate Trail to pair wine and chocolate. The bar was so inviting and the staff so friendly that we decided to stay for lunch. My wife had pea soup and I had the bacon and egg salad. Both were very good. FYI, according to the waiter, Mercer Hall specializes in meat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercer also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing