We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Black Box Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Studio Theatre

Studio Theatre
Ranked #11 of 30 things to do in Stratford
Attraction details
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
207 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Lovely Black Box Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This theatre is lovely, but you might not see everything if you are seated on the sides. Also, the seats are less than comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarpistSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Intimate Jewel of a Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

When they dim the house lights, you are captivated by the stage action. This is a lovely, intimate theater. Beware if you are afraid of heights. You want to stay closer to the ground, although the experience from the upper seats is amazing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruiserillinois11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Opportunity for different plays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was pleased when the Festival added the Studio Theatre. It offers the opportunity for new and sometimes more experimental plays. And we are so close to the actors; great involvement.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dduttonturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A tiny gem of a theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have seen some exceptional theatrical presentations in this intimate theatre. It lends itself to small cast productions like this year's tour de force, "Taking Shakespeare". Not a bad seat in the house - sight lines and acoustics excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 19San49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avant guarde theatre in a challenging setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I usually enjoy the more intimate setting of the Studio Theatre, but this time we were in the second to last row of their stadium-style seating. A challenging climb! Our usher kindly asked her supervisor if there was anything closer, but she quickly dismissed that idea. And then we noticed two front row seats that were vacant when the show began. Someone else happily moved into them for the second act. We didn't ask again because of the steep climb (didn't even venture a restroom break during intermission). The play itself (Taking Shakespeare) was interesting, but I'm sure my experience was colored negatively by the uncomfortable seating. I'll think twice before returning to this theatre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Studio Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Studio Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing