We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini-Honeymoon”
Review of Foster's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foster's Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini-Honeymoon”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We decided on a last minute trip to Stratford after receiving some gift cards from life essentials.The Foster's Inn was the only Motel in Stratford on the list.The room was just the right size seeing you don't travel to stay in the room anyway(but if you do the TV could have been bigger)...the bed&pillows were comfy....the bathroom was spacious&bright....floor did creak a little which might be annoying to the people below.The outdoor patio is great,the restaurant was clean and the food was great....The service was awesome by all involved!!!.....Funny how different people leave different comments eh ;) ......The only complaint I'd have would be the cost of the room but then again most rooms in the downtown core go for those prices....BTW if you want a tub you better request a room with a tub.....

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor and tub if needed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    27
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
45
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had eaten several times at Fosters and generally my experience was very good. Having stayed at other hotels that are farther out of town was a bit tiresome, I decided that something in town that was in close walking distance to the theaters would be better. The location of this hotel is perfect, and having such a good restaurant downstairs (and in fact several all along that stretch of road) is very convenient. It's also nice to be off hwy 7/8 (Ontario St) as this road is always very very busy as it is a major route for people heading to/from London or to the coast.

There is a large, free parking lot one block south, on the SW corner. There is an elevator, so you don't have to worry about dragging your luggage up a flight of stairs. The rooms were clean, comfortable and after a day full of walking, play watching and wine drinking - just perfect. We did not encounter any noise from the restaurant downstairs as some people have mentioned, and my companion is a very light sleeper. Breakfast in the restaurant is very good.

There are only a few rooms available, so be sure to book ahead. The room with two double beds faces the rear of the building, but you do not get any noise from the road.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k8ee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay here, and I plan on staying here again. I love how much character this hotel has. No room alike. High ceilings, old wood in all rooms. Just beautiful! It's impeccably clean and the staff are great. It's very reasonable during "off season". Like all places, it's higher priced during "peak season".

I can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnaluvscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

With towering ceilings, lots of wood, great seating, art a little commercial, elevator and great dining room minute from Avon Theatre - this is a great place to stay. Off season a wonderful getaway and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cultureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I decided that Stratford would be a nice stop on our way home from a lovely motorcycling/golfing trip through Ontario. It never occurred to us that on a Tuesday in September Stratford would be so busy. The Best Western was all booked up but they suggested Foster's as we wanted someplace in the downtown area so we could walk everywhere. We pulled up in front of it and were a bit leery as it looked like a place that might not even have air conditioning. (We had just ridden 8.5 hours in 92 degree heat.) We walked in and did something we've never done before -- asked to see a room. The lovely lady who helped us handed us a key to what she said was her favorite room. We went to see it and were very impressed -- it was large, immaculately clean, and had oodles of charm. We came back down and she said that we looked awfully hot so why didn't we just go unload our bikes and get settled in and then come back down and get checked in. This was awfully nice of her. Since they have no parking area, she told us that there was a public lot a couple blocks away. We asked if we could park our bikes in the alley behind the Inn so we could keep a better eye on them. She allowed us to do that and even told us to just come in the back door, which was right next to the elevator we'd need to take, so we dind't have to carry our bags so far. We got settled in and came down and checked in while having beers at their very quaint bar. The price was high ($200) but for the convenience and kindness, it was well worth it. We had breakfast in their dining room and it was terrific. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSriderMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We just had a very poor and overpriced meal at Foster's. The "Signature Steak" was tough and tasteless. So was the loin pork chop. If we had the same two dinners at our hotel the meals would have been much tastier, and about $20 less expensive. We have been going to Stratford for more than 20 years, and this meal was one of the worst.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bengoshi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We ate at Foster's Inn in August 2013 and we were disappointed not only with the service but also the response of the manager. The food was fantastic, but our server not only dripped 2 drinks on one of our party, but appropriate condiments were not offered. Our bottle of white wine was room temperature (and the server wanted to pour a full glass of warm white wine in our glasses even though we said the wine was far from cold; we had to ask for an ice cooler), the server failed to offer wine to all those having wine at the table ( she poured wine in one empty glass and failed to pour any for the other guest), and bread was not offered to our table when all surrounding tables had bread. The server was inefficient and clearly did not match the quality of food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TaraMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FostersInn, Owner at Foster's Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hello, I am troubled to see your review on Foster's Inn. I do appreciate that you emailed us with your concerns on August 2nd. Our manger responded to your concerns by email unfortunately this wasn't satisfactory. I am glad you enjoyed the food at Foster's. We are very proud of our restaurant and are always striving to provide a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's Inn

Property: Foster's Inn
Address: 111 Downie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foster's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foster's Inn is Stratford's original Boutique Inn. Located just two doors from The Avon Theater in the towns core, Foster's Inn is a complete package. Nine well appointed Guest Rooms accessible by elevator, a 60 seat Restaurant with a warm & friendly 44-seat lounge and a lovely Patio assures your stay will be as comfortable as it is memorable. Friendly and efficient staff will look after your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Foster's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s Hotel Stratford
Fosters Hotel Stratford
Foster's Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing