We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful B and B in Stratford”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I am hesitant to really tell everyone about this place for fear that the B and B will become sooooo popular that there would be no hope of getting a reservation before 2022. It is relaxing, the hosts are gracious, the food is amazing, the rooms are charming. What else is there?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 192RobinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We've been staying at the Old Rectory for about 15 years and love it. We stay in the carriage house because of the extra sitting room upstairs where we can just relax or enjoy a glass of wine with friends. Kim and Kevin are the perfect hosts - cheerful, accommodating, lovely people who are completely knowledgable about Stratford, - the restaurants, the plays, and going's on in town. Kevin's breakfasts are always creative and delicious. The back yard is great for relaxing and reading beside the pond. And The Rectory is within walking distance of all the theaters and many of the restaurants, making it the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Kim and Kevin make every guest feel special. The food is excellent...tasty, creative combinations and perfect sized portions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just arrived home from a two night stay at the Old Rectory B&B. This was our first visit to Stratford but it will certainly not be our last.
Kim and Kevin made us feel so welcome, we arrived as guests, and left feeling like old friends. Wonderful hospitality. The breakfasts and the dinner were amazing. We spent an hour in the garden by the pond, reading. It was so relaxing and peaceful.
We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coach House - two floors with a kingsize bed and bathroom on the ground floor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AthomeNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

There are many good things that I would say about our stay at The Old Rectory, but what set it above other experiences we have had was the level of pampering we received. Of course the rooms were wonderful, the location perfect, the garden beautiful. But to have coffee awaiting us each morning to drink while we read the newspaper, to have a delicious breakfast customized to our preferences, and to have a fridge stocked with water and soda just outside our rooms, was true luxury. Our hosts made us feel appreciated and welcome. They shared the history of the building and their transformation of it with us. Even better, they shared recipes for two of the homemade breakfast items that we especially enjoyed.
When one is the "mom" and has to take care of everyone else, it is truly a restorative experience to be taken care of, as Kim and Kevin do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookinggeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Wonderful stay in Stratford made better by staying at the Old Rectory.

Kevin and Kim were absolutely the best B&B hosts ever. Tthe house was historic and beautiful, the back yard relaxing and cool in the shade on a very hot day. Breakfast was outstanding. Thanks guys you made the trip perfect.

Eric & Nancy

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I'm picky. The hospitality is top notch. We arrived late at 930 instead of 800, the owner came outside to help us with our luggage. A quick lay out of the place and we were off to bed. Aside from breakfast being amazing each day, we have a refrigerator next to our room with coffee that also appeared outside our room in the morning. We were also updated on local events and maps for each day. I could not have asked for anything better. Top notch service, food, hospitality, and location for shopping, dinning, and theaters.

Room Tip: Room 1 has ONLY a claw foot tub, not for the sloppy shower-ers ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stinkytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £160 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing