We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was the third year our group of ladies have stayed at the Old Rectory B&B but it won't be the last! We feel so comfortable in the Coach house which accomadates the six of us perfectly. The garden is a beautiful spot to visit and relax during the day and is lit to perfection at night. The food , the service and the friendship of Kim and Kevin are the icing on the cake of a wonderful place to stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peekogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

we have been guests at The Old Rectory B & B for number of years now, only after going from one lodging to another years prior, looking for that magical spot. at The Old Rectory we found it along with 3 of the nicest people Kevin, Kim owners and son Connor who only add to the experience. We love it there and would not consider staying anywhere else when we do our "theatre weekend" in Stratford.

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I am hesitant to really tell everyone about this place for fear that the B and B will become sooooo popular that there would be no hope of getting a reservation before 2022. It is relaxing, the hosts are gracious, the food is amazing, the rooms are charming. What else is there?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192RobinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We've been staying at the Old Rectory for about 15 years and love it. We stay in the carriage house because of the extra sitting room upstairs where we can just relax or enjoy a glass of wine with friends. Kim and Kevin are the perfect hosts - cheerful, accommodating, lovely people who are completely knowledgable about Stratford, - the restaurants, the plays, and going's on in town. Kevin's breakfasts are always creative and delicious. The back yard is great for relaxing and reading beside the pond. And The Rectory is within walking distance of all the theaters and many of the restaurants, making it the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Kim and Kevin make every guest feel special. The food is excellent...tasty, creative combinations and perfect sized portions.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just arrived home from a two night stay at the Old Rectory B&B. This was our first visit to Stratford but it will certainly not be our last.
Kim and Kevin made us feel so welcome, we arrived as guests, and left feeling like old friends. Wonderful hospitality. The breakfasts and the dinner were amazing. We spent an hour in the garden by the pond, reading. It was so relaxing and peaceful.
We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coach House - two floors with a kingsize bed and bathroom on the ground floor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthomeNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

There are many good things that I would say about our stay at The Old Rectory, but what set it above other experiences we have had was the level of pampering we received. Of course the rooms were wonderful, the location perfect, the garden beautiful. But to have coffee awaiting us each morning to drink while we read the newspaper, to have a delicious breakfast customized to our preferences, and to have a fridge stocked with water and soda just outside our rooms, was true luxury. Our hosts made us feel appreciated and welcome. They shared the history of the building and their transformation of it with us. Even better, they shared recipes for two of the homemade breakfast items that we especially enjoyed.
When one is the "mom" and has to take care of everyone else, it is truly a restorative experience to be taken care of, as Kim and Kevin do.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookinggeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing