We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant B&B”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have been going to the Old Rectory for a number of years now and have always enjoyed our stay there. Gracious hosts, Kim & Kevin immediately put you at ease and welcome you to their elegant home. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed and the breakfasts are a real treat - fresh fruit, a creative gourmet hot dish, croissants, fresh baked breads/muffins, homemade jams/marmalades, coffee, juice, etc. We especially enjoy the large Sunroom for early morning coffee, reading the morning paper or mid-day conversations with other guests. It's a charming getaway that we look forward to every year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Old Rectory has several great assets. Kim and Kevin could not be more hospitable, but are not the least bit intrusive. The location is unbeatable, as one can easily walk to all theatres, many restaurants, and the river. The breakfasts are always wonderful -- substantial, yet not too heavy like we have had at other B & B's.
Last year, we had planned a trip after the Stratford season to attend a concert. When the concert was cancelled, Kevin called us, thereby losing the night's stay we would have paid for. That was beyond the call of duty, but typical of Kevin and Kim.

Room Tip: View the website to choose the kind of room you want.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have been staying at The Old Rectory for almost a decade because it is indeed the best B&B in Stratford: a beautiful home with spacious, comfortable rooms; an easy walk to theaters and shops; fabulously delicious food; and most of all, phenomenally gracious hospitality from our hosts, Kim and Kevin. This should be everyone's first choice B&B in Stratford.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I've been going to Stratford for several decades and thus have stayed in many of the hotels & other types of accommodations. This year was my first time staying at the Old Rectory, but it won't be my last. Our few days with Kim and Kevin were among the very best I've had. I will highly recommend The Old Rectory to my friends and anyone else willing to listen. Our room was very comfortable, well furnished and clean. The breakfasts were interesting and delicious and you can not beat their location for easy access to the theaters and the downtown shopping district. The Old Rectory will be at the top of my list for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

If you are reading this review, then you already know that Stratford offers some of the best theater in North America. You should also know that it offers a wonderful Bed and Breakfast inn which will accommodate your stay in similar fashion. Kim and Kevin are the most gracious hosts, the food is wonderful, every place you need to go is walkable, and the company you will keep makes for a highlight of the visit. Gourmet breakfast, and gourmet conversation about plays seen and yet to be seen are priceless. We have made long time friends at breakfast, have conversed for hours on the sun-porch, and consider Kim and Kevin as if they are extended family. We go at least once every year. Advice: book early. They are already reserving for 2014. Rick & Kathleen Z.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathleen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at The Old Rectory for one night during a weekend in the Stratford Region for our anniversary. What a delight!

Our room was comfortable and thoughfully arranged for our arrival. Champagne and a personally written note were awaiting us. The bed was comfortable and the room contained lots of helpful information about Stratford and the tourist attractions there. Our hostess, Kim, was so friendly and welcoming. Coffee and fresh Biscotti were in the lounge area for our enjoyment (and enjoy we did!!!). Fresh coffee and bottled water were available in the small fridge in the hall outside our room.

The B&B was perfectly located within walking distance of downtown Stratford's shops and theatres, so we left the car parked and took to our feet. We loved the charming garden behind the B&B complete with a carp pond, nice lighting and lush gardens. The entire yard of the B&B is very well cared for. Breakfast was fabulous. Homemade jams and marmalades to top homemade, delicious muffins or handmade bread. A fresh fruit cup with seasonal peaches and cherries. As an entree, a wonderful breakfast pastry with poached eggs and fresh orange juice, with tea. Our chef and host, Kevin was charming and provided a tour of our breakfast options. We only wished that we could have stayed longer. (Advanced planning is required to grab a spot at this terrific site!).

Our only suggestion is that the backstairs to the garden could really use some lighting for late night arrivals. Navigating the steep backstairs in the dark is a bit unnerving. Also, it would be useful to have a curtain or blind of some kind over top of the door in the room as the hall light which remains on at night makes the room a bit too bright. Nonetheless, all was comfortable and wonderful at this B&B. We wouldn't stop for a moment to consider staying anywhere else on a return visit to Stratford. The service, the room and site are all wonderful. Our favourite though was the food! Delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-lion-hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We happened to stay at The Old Rectory the first week they were open in 1997. Thankfully we have been able to visit almost every year since. Everything is first class! The location is perfect. If you choose you can walk everywhere. Each of the seven rooms offer all the necessary comforts plus each has its own special something - a claw foot bath or an individual porch. Breakfasts are amazing - a wide variety of choices, something different each morning. The backyard garden with waterfall and pond is tremendously relaxing and peaceful. What really make it completely special are Kim, Kevin & Conor. They are wonderful folks - cheerful, professional, helpful, personable....just downright good to be around. I wish our paths could cross more often.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £159 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing