We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #7 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Spectacular as always. Kim and Kevin are the best hosts. Home away from home. Superb breakfasts, accomodations, kindnesses, and location. Beautiful garden in the back yard. Always relax at the Old Rectory

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Stratford. Our stay at the Old Rectory was wonderful. Food was great and the owners gave us many helpful hints for things to do and see in the area, and restrauants to try. We saw Fiddler on the Roof and LOVED it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Every year we go to Stratford to see a few plays. Each year we have tended to end up at different B&Bs and inns and many have been good. The Old Rectory has been our best experience and one we will hope to repeat into the future. Its location is very central but despite being on a busy street, the street noise does not penetrate the solid building and upstairs in our bedroom overlooking their shaded garden, it was very quiet even with the window open. It was even quiet in mid afternoon sitting on our balcony.
Breakfasts were interestingly prepared and presented.
Above all, as is so often the case, our experience was very much enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of our hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

This is our annual pick for accommodations when attending the wonderful Stratford Festival. Rooms in main house have different set ups. You will want to inquire. Gardens in back are lovely and a great spot to enjoy the company of friends. Breakfast and now dinners also available which are exquisite. Kevin is a good chef, menus vary daily. Highly recommend this lovely place, just don't take our annual spot!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfeiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Within walking distance of the theatres, and located within a stones throw of downtown restaurants, the Old Rectory was an excellent choice for a weekend at the theatre. Although located on Ontario Street the house was very quiet, and it was great to be able to walk back from the play in the early evening. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 284Weary_traveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

As you can see, of all the reviews done on this B&B, all have "excellent" reviews. I'm going to add another "excellent" to the list. I only wish there was a category for "more than excellent".

I found The Old Rectory by accident on-line, by googling B&Bs in Stratford and seeing all the wonderful reviews. From the moment I called to make a reservation, to the moment we left for home, we had a wonderful experience with Kevin and Kim, the owners.

The B&B itself, is an old house that K&K renovated themselves 16 years ago. They did a great job and have decorated it so nicely too.

Kevin and Kim are 2 of the nicest people you'll ever meet and seem to be made for the job of B&B owners. They are so personable, warm and friendly.

Kevin is also a really good chef and serves dinner to guests on a reservation basis for a fee. We had his quail appetizer, salmon dinner and lovely lemon tart dessert. All I can say is "Yum" to all 3 courses.

While there, it is like a family. We met the other guests and chatted over breakfast, (which is a wonderful way to start the day...with Kevin's delicious breakfasts), about the different Stratford Festival shows we'd seen there. We compared notes and agreed and disagreed, but always in a friendly manner. Such fun!

This is how I feel about Kevin & Kim...

It is the Irish in him
and the Canadian in her,
that show such a welcoming spirit.
What a pair they make.
They do take the cake.
And from us you're going to hear it!

So...

Here's to Kevin & Kim,
From happy guests Yvonne & Jim...
The rooms are fine.
The food sublime.
Cheers to the Old Rectory Inn!

This place was great! Go and meet Kevin & Kim for yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veniceexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here overnight while attending the Stratford Festival this past July. We had a wonderful experience and can't thank Kim and Kevin enough for their hospitality. They were friendly and their recommendations helped us make the most of our time in town. Breakfast was simply delectable. Our room was both beautiful and comfortable. We can't say enough good things about this B&B!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £159 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing