We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better and better each year!”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stay at The Old Rectory every year, and each time we have such a fabulous stay I feel compelled to sing Kim and Kevin's praises here. But this year, I think they deserves an extra special round of applause. I had some particular dietary requirements this year, and the pair went above and beyond to make sure they not only met the requirements, but served me the most stunning gourmet breakfasts (and dinner!) in spite of the challenges. And always, always, they acted as if creating a whole separate meal for me wasn't the least bit of an inconvenience. Truly, I have no idea how they do it. I've said it before and I'll say it again - why would you stay anywhere else???? I only wish I could take Kim, Kevin and The Old Rectory with me on all my travels!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have been going to the Old Rectory in Stratford for several years (having stayed at a number of different places over the last 28 years) and our experience at the Old Rectory has ALWAYS been GREAT. Kim and Kevin our wonderful hosts. The location is ideal- a very short walk to any of the Festival Theaters. The rooms are quiet,comfortable and clean. The breakfasts are fantastic--Kevin is a classically trained gourmet chef! If you book separately for one of Kevin's dinners you are in for a real treat. as well.
We highly recommend the Old Rectory!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywanderer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This lovely oasis on Ontario Street is just steps away from everything. Kim and Kevin (as well as Connor) make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. And the breakfasts at this B and B are wonderful.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 192RobinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have been enjoying the absolute complete "vacation" at the Old Rectory for many years and see no end in sight. Kevin, Kim and Connor are an absolute delight to look forward to each year and they make our stay unequalled in quality of service, accommodation and meals as well as the warm hug and hello from all.
It is all there at the Old Rectory and Stratford and you don't have to get on a plane to enjoy it!
Love it!
Beth & Mitch

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We hav e been coming to Stratford for many years and discovered THE OLD RECTORY a few years ago. Now we look forward not only to the plays and the charming city but to our stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast. It's a real vacation coming here. We love the beautiful garden for reading and just doing nothing, the festive and delicious breakfasts, the friendliness of Kim and Kevin and Conor, the lovely bedrooms, the dining room arranged with private tables, and the sun porch with newspapers and coffee. On top of that it's the best location for walking to the theaters and for strolling around the lake. We never get in our car after arriving here until it's time to go home. We walk everywhere because THE OLD RECTORY is so convenient. Finally, we appreciate Kevin for accommodating our vegan diet with great vegan breakfasts!

Room Tip: We like the coach house rooms best but really we are happy with all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have enjoyed staying at the Old Rectory for several years. The warmth of the welcome, the delicious food, and the easy access to all Stratford has to offer keep us coming back. Kim and Kevin are indeed wonderful hosts who manage to find a perfect balance in making you feel at home and giving space to enjoy the oasis they have created. Kevin's breakfasts and dinners were mouth watering and innovative.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 371Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Wonderful hosts, engaging but not in your face, with service as a calling. This made our stay a deeply enjoyable time and we will be coming back again. The care of the garden creates a special aura of peace and the excellent food is as good as anything you get in Stratford.
Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of house are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taigen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#12 of 88 in Stratford
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#14 of 88 in Stratford
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £157 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing