We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kim & Kevin will ensure a memorable first or ninth visit.”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #8 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kim & Kevin will ensure a memorable first or ninth visit.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect location allows you to leave the car parked. Excellent room and comfortable bed. The breakfast is with the drive by itself. Add on wonderful hospitality from caring hosts and a bonus repeat visit clientele to catch up with and you have a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeValera15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We returned to the Old Rectory for about the 10th or 12th time over the past 15 years. It was like going home. Kim and Kevin are wonderful hosts and the B & B is wonderfully situated and wonderfully decorated. Kevin is a 1st class chef and Kim is a warm friend. We love staying there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As wonderful as the theater was, the highlight of our trip was the Old Rectory.
In our travels I have not enjoyed a B&B more, the breakfasts will have me coming back again next year.
You really can't do better than staying here.

We were there summer of 2013, and we will be back.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the claw foot bath tub, it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Honestly, you have to book a year in advance to secure your room for the following year. If you are lucky enough to get a room in this fine establishment here is what you will experience: A warm welcome from your hosts, Kim and Kevin; a comfortable bed and top quality linens; gourmet breakfasts with homemade breads, preserves, yogurt and a hot dish that goes far beyond bacon and eggs!

There is a spacious sun room/common area with plenty of comfortable seating where you can enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine while discussing your theatre experiences with fellow guests.

We enjoy being able to park the car and walk everywhere - all the better to work off those gourmet breakfasts!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgoMissy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We picked the Old Rectory, sight unseen, out of the Stratford Festival visitors' guide in July of 1997, which happened to be their first year in business. What a happy discovery! Since then, we have visited Stratford two to three times per year, and never considered staying anyplace else. Excellent location on Stratford's main street (steps to all the theatres, restaurants and shops), yet once inside you'd never know it - the street sounds seem to disappear and you can't help but relax. Start the day with a cup of the coffee that's waiting on the second-floor landing or in the enclosed sunroom downstairs, and then into the dining room -- where every breakfast is a work of art. Wondering about a restaurant or which play to see? Kim and Kevin can give you definitive recommendations. And if you're Shakespeare'd out, they've got great suggestions about local events. Keep coming back often enough, and Kevin'll treat you like the furniture. It's what all B&Bs should be like.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a private deck. Room 1 has a clawfoot tub, but no shower. Room 4 opens up directly onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Editor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

All three members of the Gormley family have been our wonderful hosts for annual visits to the Stratford Shakespeare Festival for many years. Each year we look forward to their friendly reception and faultless service. All the rooms are comfortable, quiet and well maintained, and Kevin's cold and hot breakfasts are simply spectacular. And we should know, because we have spent the past four decades doing the B&B thing all over eastern Canada and the USA, as well as on vacation in the UK and Europe. A great find.

Room Tip: Arthritis prompts our preference for the one room on the ground flood, but it can be hard to get and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stay at The Old Rectory every year, and each time we have such a fabulous stay I feel compelled to sing Kim and Kevin's praises here. But this year, I think they deserves an extra special round of applause. I had some particular dietary requirements this year, and the pair went above and beyond to make sure they not only met the requirements, but served me the most stunning gourmet breakfasts (and dinner!) in spite of the challenges. And always, always, they acted as if creating a whole separate meal for me wasn't the least bit of an inconvenience. Truly, I have no idea how they do it. I've said it before and I'll say it again - why would you stay anywhere else???? I only wish I could take Kim, Kevin and The Old Rectory with me on all my travels!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing