We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the old Rectory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at the old Rectory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rectory is easy to get to,being located on the main road .The location is convenient as it is only 10 to15minutes walk to either theater .Our visit revolves around theaters ,so after return from a matinee we do not feel rushed if we are booked for an evening performance .Meals at the rectory are indeed gourmet , plentiful and we usually do not feel need for lunch after the sumptuous breakfast . We have gluten issues and some other dietary concerns which are always attended to .Pre breakfast tea and or coffee is available .We have been offered tea during the afternoon when asked without any hesitation or reluctance .Rooms are clean ,with plenty of towels etc .Whenever we have needed any help with shopping or reservation at a restaurant ,we have been willingly accommodated.

Room Tip: Unable to advise.I have stayed in different rooms and enjoyed all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We always love to return to Stratford to see Kevin, Kim and Conor. It is like a homecoming, returning to familiar friends and a most friendly, cozy environment. We have been returning to the same home for more than 10 years. That should express how special the Old Rectory is.

Room Tip: Each room presents something different that is enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Last year we reviewed very positively this great B&B and our recent visit made a similar impression on us. However this time we did something different. Kevin, our host, is also a first rate chef and offers his guests the opportunity to have dinner in-house on several nights a week - a 3 course meal for $50 a person - the menus are on their website. The food was quite excellent, well worth the price and guests bring their own wine (there is no corkage charge).
I am sure that a dinner chez Kevin will become a tradition for us.

Room Tip: On the two visits we have made, we have chosen rooms at the back facing the garden. However I suspec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently stayed at The Old Rectory and loved every moment of our stay. Peaceful and beautiful surroundings, friendly hosts, and a fantastic breakfast. We especially loved the large porch overlooking the garden. We will be sure to return!
Beth

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This B&B certainly has to be the most professionally family run accommodation of its type that I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. With the husband and wife team being chefs, the food is second to none. The breakfast is so fresh even the breads and jams are made on site.
If you get a chance, book the evening meal, you will be in for the treat of your lives.
The accommodation is awesome with each room has it's own theme, bathtub in one of the rooms is out of this world.
Some of the rooms have private balconies, there is also the coach rooms out the back, for that wee bit of extra privacy. This is a beautiful well cared for home, and if your thinking of staying in Stratford - don't stay anywhere else, close to all amenities / Theatres / restaurants / Shops etc. You will not be disappointed. Looking forward to my next stay there in June.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We visited Stratford this Fall after an absence of several years and were delighted to discover the Old Rectory for the first time. The location is very convenient to the various theaters and the accomodations could not have been better. We had a lovely, comfortable room on the ground floor. Kim and Kevin were warm and gracioust hosts who provided excellent advice on the theater and other places in Stratford. They also served the best food we had in Stratford! Breakfasts were excellent and different on each of our 4 mornings at the Old Rectory, always accompanied by some freshly baked treat. In addition, they served dinner one evening which was outstanding. The Old Rectory is definitely our preferred place to stay on our next visit to Stratford.
Natalie and Josh Dranoff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have been staying at the Old Rectory for over 10 years. Kim and Kevin are wonderful hosts
and are always so gracious and accomodating. We reserve a whole year ahead to make sure we can stay at our favourite B&B. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and we linger over coffee with our friends in the comfortable sunroom and read the day's papers that are provided.
I would recommend this place to everyone for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We always choose the room at the back of the house which opens onto a deck that overlooks the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing