We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

First time at the Old Rectory and we were not disappointed. Room was cozy and pleasant,food very good, and the hosts were warm and welcoming. All the amenities you'd expect and more. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gustyandmaxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
84
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been going back to the Old Rectory year after year & we always have a wonderful experience. Kim & Kevin are very gracious hosts. The hot breakfasts and accompaniments are delicious. Our room was lovely and had a separate door to the balcony overlooking the garden.

Kevin & Kim are also very active in the Stratford community & gave us all sorts of great `tips' on restaurants to visit and shows to see. The location of The Old Rectory is also excellent - a very short walk to any of the Stratford theaters. We are looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Every September we have a family vacation. Six people descend on Stratford for a weekend of eating drinking and getting a Stratford fix. Part of the tradition is staying at the Old Rectory and seeing Kevin and Kim and the ever growing Conner. Excellent service is an understatement. Food that is always unique and delicious. Rooms and beds that are always clean and ready for a good nights sleep. Close to all the theaters and across the street from a drug store. Walk to where ever you need to go.
Many things in Stratford have changed over the years, but the Old Rectory always stays the same, excellent from start to finish.. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room at the back has the huge balcony. Perfect spot to relax and talk about the days plays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryLNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Old Rectory is a stellar, exemplary bed and breakfast. We will definitely return on our next trip to Stratford. Kim and Kevin are welcoming, charming hosts who saw to our every need, and the rectory and grounds are beautiful and inviting. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the common areas are uniquely decorated and equally comfortable. The homemade, gourmet breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend The Old Rectory for an ideal bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rectory is easy to get to,being located on the main road .The location is convenient as it is only 10 to15minutes walk to either theater .Our visit revolves around theaters ,so after return from a matinee we do not feel rushed if we are booked for an evening performance .Meals at the rectory are indeed gourmet , plentiful and we usually do not feel need for lunch after the sumptuous breakfast . We have gluten issues and some other dietary concerns which are always attended to .Pre breakfast tea and or coffee is available .We have been offered tea during the afternoon when asked without any hesitation or reluctance .Rooms are clean ,with plenty of towels etc .Whenever we have needed any help with shopping or reservation at a restaurant ,we have been willingly accommodated.

Room Tip: Unable to advise.I have stayed in different rooms and enjoyed all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We always love to return to Stratford to see Kevin, Kim and Conor. It is like a homecoming, returning to familiar friends and a most friendly, cozy environment. We have been returning to the same home for more than 10 years. That should express how special the Old Rectory is.

Room Tip: Each room presents something different that is enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Last year we reviewed very positively this great B&B and our recent visit made a similar impression on us. However this time we did something different. Kevin, our host, is also a first rate chef and offers his guests the opportunity to have dinner in-house on several nights a week - a 3 course meal for $50 a person - the menus are on their website. The food was quite excellent, well worth the price and guests bring their own wine (there is no corkage charge).
I am sure that a dinner chez Kevin will become a tradition for us.

Room Tip: On the two visits we have made, we have chosen rooms at the back facing the garden. However I suspec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing