We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Service & Great Stratford Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,422 helpful votes
“Terrific Service & Great Stratford Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent last Friday night at Mercer Hall Inn using a gift certificate we received from friends for Christmas. We hadn't heard of Mercer Hall Inn before, so as a marketing tool the gift certificate did its job of getting us in the door.

Parking is behind the inn (free for guests), but it's not the most convenient access on days with inclement weather. Check-in is at a hostess stand in the restaurant (a little odd), but the warm and professional clerk made us feel welcome. She explained the facilities, access to the front and back doors, parking and dining options. We then rolled our overnight bags through the length of the restaurant to the back, through a locked door, and up two steep staircases to room 209. For the elderly or those with mobility issues Mercer Hall Inn may not be the best choice.

Room 209 is spacious and offers a view of the Avon River in the distance. The decor was a little off-putting (cranberry painted ceiling, a wallpaper border, ultra-suede coverlet and pillowcases on the bed... very 1990s), but the special touches (bathrobes, complimentary bottled water and fresh baked cookies, a little library of books) made up for the dated decor. We were disappointed that the fireplace is a cheesy little electric model rather than gas or wood burning.

We did not like the open concept bathroom, and if we return to Mercer Hall Inn we'll request a different room for that reason alone. The whirlpool tub and vanity are separate from the shower module and toilet, with a pocket door in between them. While this layout does make the room feel more open, we prefer a totally separate bathroom.

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the restaurant downstairs (the ancho chile margarita alone makes it worth a visit). The cocktails were interesting and expertly prepared, and everyone in our party enjoyed their appetizers and entrees. The service was polished and friendly. We will definitely return to the restaurant again on a future visit to Stratford.

Unfortunately we didn't have a great night's sleep: the mattress was a little too firm, the pillows a little to thin, and it was difficult to keep the room at a comfortable temperature (either too hot or too cool). We had to check out at 7am to make it back home for an event, so we didn't get to explore the area for breakfast.

Mercer Hall Inn gets 4/5 for its great location, personable staff, and little touches in the rooms that show they are trying to exceed guests' expectations. I hope there are plans in the works to redecorate the rooms so that they might reflect the same stunning, contemporary decor in the restaurant downstairs. If so, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The inn's website has photos of the rooms and diagrams of their layout. Room styles and sizes v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kodachrome_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    77
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
182
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener Ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We took advantage of the 'immerse' package to get away on a Sunday/Monday as a couple. the room was well-appointed and very comfortable. Some minor updates are needed (e.g. ceiling vent fans very noisy) but overall, we loved the location (able to park and then walk around downtown Stratford - love the shops)and the cookies when we arrived were a nice treat.

Part of the package was dinner at the restaurant downstairs which was very disappointing. Not up to what I would have exepected.

Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: 209 - looks out onto the water which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed for one night in a duluxe room which had a jacuzzi and a fireplace. Check in was very easy, and there is parking at the back of the hotel. There are no lifts, which could be a problem for some people, but no problem for us.

The room was a good size, very comfy bed and a view over the back of the property (car park but also could see the river). The jacuzzi was in the room itself, rather than in a separate bathroom. The room was very quiet, but the bathroom door was a sliding door, which was really noisy in the night.

There is a nice bar and restaurant downstairs, but we only had a drink in the bar and the staff were very friendly. The only disappointment was that breakfast was not included. Admittedly this was our fault as we didn't confirm at the time of booking, we had assumed considering the price, that it would be. I doubt we would have stayed if we had realised this.

Luckily there are plenty of places nearby to eat, we checked out and then drove to nearby St. Marys to a place called The Sunset Diner which was amazing! An authentic diner with excellent food, atmosphere and service.

Overall, a nice stay centrally located in Stratford, but wouldn't stay again because of the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaBorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I went from Toronto to Stratford for the first time to attend a business lunch at Mercer Hall restaurant and was honestly blown away by the decor and overall atmosphere; everything was elegant and detail orientated, the food was really good, and the staff were attentive. There was a great selection of alcohol and wine at the bar too. In addition, they had a great selection of locally brewed beer! There was a bit of dust in the corners of the washroom attached to the restaurant but when I pointed it out to the staff, they quickly took care of it.

I asked to see the rooms because we were considering having a corporate getaway there and I was quite impressed. The majority of the rooms were decorated in neutral and soothing colours and nice views of the city. The Inn is in a prime location, within easy walking distance to the parks, shopping, and the theatre.

I don't know about the experience the couple in the other post had, but I think the images online actually don't properly reflect the my observation.

Room Tip: Call and speak directly to Shelby about what you want, she will offer suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed at the Mercer Hall in this weekend and was underwhelmed by dated decor and dirty room. The bathroom had splatters of coffee all over the wall, and the toilet bowl had a urine stain going down the side of it. The shower leaked and had poor water quality. The room was very misleading compared to the picture of the room online, and how nice the newly renovated restaurant is (which you check in from.) I can't believed I paid $190 for this room. The bed was not comfortable, and we were given of a total of three flat pillows for two people. My boyfriend and I barely slept, and woke up with sore backs because of the flat pillows combined with the rock hard bed. Save your money and stay somewhere else, this is not worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sp_lawrence88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We arrived in Stratford and easily found the hotel, with parking around the back. We checked in at the restaurant downstairs with no problem. We found our way to room 204, the stairs were spotless and it smelled clean and fresh. The room was very nice. We had a fireplace and fresh made cookies were there to welcome us. We explored the town for a while and came back for a lovely dinner at the Mercer Hall restaurant. It was absolutely lovely. Our dinners were fantastic, the food was fresh and the service was very attentive. We enjoyed a restful night sleep on the comfy bed with duvet and feather pillows. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back in the summer season.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelajune0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed at this lovely inn between March 6-8th. It is a boutique inn which is centrally located beside many wonderful independent bookstores, restaurants, women's clothing stores and art galleries in downtown Stratford. The staff are really friendly, Shelby was ever so helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend purchasing their packages for meals and accommodations as their Fellini's restaurant is very good. The Mercer Hall restaurant is excellent, delicious food in a beautiful dining room. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The King room on the 2nd floor was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy8155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Property: Mercer Hall Inn
Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing