We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Location!”
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed 19 August 2013

If you are choosing this hotel you need to be aware that there is a set of about 20 steps to the second floor and another set to the third floor. There is no elevator and the steps are a little narrow. So if that is an issue or the fact that there is no lobby bothers you (Check in is in the restaurant.) then this is not your place. However this hotel has very comfortable rooms with all of the usual features and the location is absolutely the best in town. It is less than 5 minutes walk from the Avon and the Tom Patterson and about a 20 minute stroll from the Festival Theatre. There is free parking included with the hotel so you can turn your car off and leave it if you want to. Virtually all of the restaurants and shopping is also practically right outside the door. My wife and I are seniors, although we have no issues with carrying lugage or climbing stairs, but we have never checked in without receiving the offer to carry our bags to our rooms. I have only one complaint: I wish they would supply better bars of soap instead of those tiny hotel bars. We will be booking again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor require less climbing and rooms away from the street are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razzle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We haven't stayed at Mercer Hall for a few years, since we've been married and had our kids. We were fortunate enough to be able to snag an overnight getaway recently and decided to return to Mercer Hall.

We were so happy we returned to this place that was so special to us when we were first dating! The rooms continue to be spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The hotel really is a quiet oasis - and yet still conveniently located, right in the thick of the action in downtown Stratford.

We will definitely continue to return, this place has won our heart!

Room Tip: Room 209 (King Jacuzzi suite) has a lovely view of the river while 208 (also King Jacuzzi) overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limonadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After skipping one year at Stratford we returned to Mercer Hall Inn. It was under new management but the hotel was as wonderful as ever. We consider it our home away from home in Stratford. The hotel room was spacious and clean. An assortment of books was available in the room although we didn't have time to browse. Staff was very friendly and I like how we check into the hotel in the restaurant.
The hotel is walking distance to anything of interest in Stratford. We did not use the car once while we were there. We were able to walk to the theatre, restaurants, shops and the beautiful Avon River.
My only regret is that Tangos is gone. We enjoyed having breakfast there every morning. The bar looked very interesting although we arrived back late each night so went right to our room. Next year we will try the bar.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different rooms and do not have a preference. All are good but if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkennedyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just got back from a one night stay in Rm 301 of the Mercer Hall Inn. The location of this hotel cannot be beat and is very central to everything in downtown Stratford. We had a wonderful time and very much enjoyed our stay. The room itself was large with high ceilings, very clean with a king bed and fridge. There are fresh coffee supplies in the room (including cream in the fridge) plus two cookies to enjoy! Wine glasses with opener, CD's, a selection of books...all offered. We were impressed. The room faced the street which was loud at night as it is right above the Mercer Hall Restaurant patio....but we knew it would be, so brought ear plugs and had a pretty good sleep. All staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient. Yes, it is not cheap...but you get what you pay for IMO. We would stay here again for sure. There is no elevator but there is air conditioning. We enjoyed the flexibility of having an entrance to the hotel from the parking lot as well as through the front off Ontario Street. Parking is free and the big yellow signs are easy to find on Cobourg Street. Have no complaints, really.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbcOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Plenty of choice to eat in Stratford but we definitely picked the right one. Excellent service and well presented tasty food. Both the pork and bison cooked to perfection and the desserts to die for. Very reasonable prices for the quality of food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Mercer Hall was located downtown Stratford which was great because you could walk to just about everything including all of the theatres. Our room had a great view of the river. We went out one morning to feed the swans and ducks. Room 209 had the following amenities: iron, hair dryer, large jacuzzi, large shower w seat, LCD tv, coffee machine, AC, king bed, free wifi, free parking, bar fridge, and a fireplace. There were blackout shades, but no curtains, so the room was still bright at night and there was no microwave. Unfortunately there was no continental breakfast offered, which you'd think by the amount of money we paid they could offer us that!

There was a restaurant on site that looked fancy but we didn't eat there. You could get to your room through the restaurant, a side entrance or rear entrance from the parking lot. We found that many times, the rear parking lot entrance was always unlocked. There is no elevator, so if stairs are an issue for you, then you better stay someplace else. This hotel used old style keys, not key cards.

The hotel was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly but slow when it came to cleaning our room. We had already returned for the day at 4pm and our room still had not been cleaned. They didn't leave much in the way of soap or shampoo. The jacuzzi was located outside the bathroom, so we had to keep moving the soap and shampoo. Two bottles of each isn't that much to ask for is it?

Overall, it was a great location but I think I'd try another place next time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gareauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This boutique hotel in an historic building in the middle of Stratford is perfect if you want to be in the heart of town. Theatres are about a 15 or 20 minute walk away, restaurants and shops are at your doorstep. You will have to climb at least one flight of stairs to get to your room but that wasn't an issue for us. The beds are comfortable, the bedding is luxurious but we were there in the middle of a heatwave and the room smelled a little musty. When we mentioned that to the staff they did everything in their power to rectify the situation. The staff at Mercer Hall Inn are pleasant and will bend over backwards to make sure you are happy and comfortable. I really appreciated their service and for that reason alone, would be back. Special shout out to the restaurant manager Jessie Larsen who does a fantastic job.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
2 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing