We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stay”
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location and stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We have traveled to Stratford several times and really enjoyed our stay at the Mercer Hall Inn. The staff is professional and the bar is excellent. We stayed in 2 rooms ( booked back in April for August- hard to get 2 nights even then) : 207 and 301. The staff moved our stuff while we were at a play. No elevators, but in truth we liked 301 better- a bit smaller with great natural light. We will be back. Thanks!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank av01bps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    84
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
187
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First time staying at this Inn/hotel. We had the Jacuzzi suite which was quite large with a King bed and a Jacuzzi tub. Bed and pillows were very comfortable.

The inn is right in the downtown so you step out into main street with tons of shops (gee... no wonder my wife loved this place - lol). If you are taking in the plays, you are a only a short walking distance to any of the theatres.

Try have a nice restaurant on the main floor but it doesn't open until 11:30 for brunch.

We will return to this inn wen we come back!

Room Tip: Free parking is in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I spent a night here who we saw king Lear at the Stratford festival. Great hotel. Clean. Friendly people. Great location. Walking distance to the river and the theatres. Large room with king size bed. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul154996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed many times at this hotel and always had good service. It is in the centre of town and walking distance from all of the theatres. There is a very good restaurant on the ground floor or many more around town. Parking is included
Note: All units are up stairs and no elevator

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I had hit the escape button for a couple of days and stayed at the Mercer. It was a relaxing time with great proximity to all that Stratford offers. While our room faced the main road, we rarely heard the traffic.A few updates could really take this room to the next level. (It's been awhile since I've been in a room without a flatscreen tv. :))

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hudson, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had some concern about being over the restaurant and staying in a room right by the street and the room was surprisingly quiet! no attendant over night physically on site buy there were no issues. Loved being right on the "main drag" in stratford, walk for coffee in the morning, short walk to dinner with many good options.

Room Tip: make sure you think about what you need before evening. and if you need to check out before 9am, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is nothing short of impressive. We stayed in a room that offered both a fireplace and a whirlpool tub. The room was clean and extremely comfortable; it almost had the look and feel of a private apartment. There were books to read on the bookshelves and a variety of DVDs to borrow from the front desk if the opportunity arose. My husband forgot his toothbrush and they were happy to provide him with one free of charge. We had a lovely view of the Avon River and the hotel was quiet in the evening. The restaurant downstairs was amazing and had a wonderful selection of local beers and fresh food. The service was prompt and the wait staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is right downtown and about a 15 minute walk to the Festival Theatre. I hope they offer a New Year’s eve dinner package as we would love to spend it in Stratford!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Property: Mercer Hall Inn
Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing