We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Room!”
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed 18 April 2010

One if the best places we have stayed in stratford. We went for our anniversary and got their winter package. The room was beautiful and we loved the fire place and hot tub. can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay, it was just what we needed after a busy week. We felt looked after and liked the details such as the books in the rooms. It looked like thought had been put into the design and layout of bedroom and bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

My wife and I regularily come to Stratford to see the shows, and this is the second time that we have stayed at the Mercer Hall Inn since we discovered it in fall 2009. We love this boutique inn. It only has 14 rooms and it has such character! The staff were very attentive and gave us a warm welcome when we arrived. The finishing touches such as apples, fresh baked cookies, bottles of water, and speciality teas that waited for us in the room were great! The location is amazing. Only a 15-20 minute walk to the festival theatre, 10 minutes to the Tom Patterson Theatre, and only 5 minutes walk to the Avon Theatre, not to mention being in the heart of downtown.

We loved that we could park our car for the weekend (free parking downtown also a nice perk) and were able to walk where we wanted to go! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, and the beds very comfortable. Also, the windows are very good as there was no noise from the outside main street. This was of particular concern for us the first time as I am a light sleeper, but it was no problem at all! The deals that include dinner and breakfast were amazing as well, with great family owned restuarants with lots of character! We look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTA_Archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This hotel/inn is the best value ever. From the moment you walk in the door you are treated royally. The rooms are beautifully and individually decorated, and have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. The little extras like apples and specialty teas in the room are great. The 'special' weekends are an amazing deal and include a $40.00 dinner voucher and a $20.00 breakfast voucher! Try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I stayed at the Mercer Hall Inn last summer for Stratford festival. The Inn is centrally located in Stratford within walks to the theatre. It is on the main street (forgot the name) of Stratford so there are shops and restaurants right on the spot. We booked online using a breakfast + room package. The picture on the rooms from their website is very representative of the actual room. The breakfast was at the restaurant downstairs and it was good. There we complimentary tea and cookies in the room when we checked-in. Thought there's nothing amazing about this place, it's not bad, it's average. The only thing is the parking lot at the back of the inn is pretty small so be sure to get there early especially when you are going while the Stratford Festival is on.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bambooscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My stay at Mercer Hall Inn was phenomenal! We had a great room with a nice comfy canopy bed and a gas fireplace. The room was very clean with bottles of water, fruit and cookies. The staff was friendly and very courteous. The location of the inn was excellent. It was in the heart of downtown Stratford with shops at your doorstep. This was our first time in Stratford and we will definitely come back!

Sharon from Markham

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raptorgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This is one of those gems you kinda don't want to let others know so that you will always have access. In the end, if your going to exploit a site like this, then I guess we all have a resposiblity for full disclosure.
Let me get my only gripe out of the way. We were in the back away from the street where we potentially could have had a gorgeous view of the Avon. Instead, a concrete monstrosity worthy of the old Soviet bloc obliterates any view you may have enjoyed. One other warning for those with disabilities; there are no elevators and you will need to climb one or two floors.
Otherwise, the whole experience was wonderfull. The room was luxurious yet homey with all sorts pleasures thrown-in gratis. The robes, the CD's, the chocolates, etc. And don't forget the free parking! The stay was one big surprise of added extras. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful answering all your questions. Location: right downtown so you can walk to everything. The hotel was such a pleasure, I'm even thinking of coming back here in the off season!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: £71 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing