We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great traditional motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of As You Like It Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
As You Like It Motel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
493 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great traditional motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a great value motel, conveniently located slightly outside the downtown. Our booking through the festival provided a modest, clean motel with AC and comfortable bed and complete bathroom. Breakfast was also modest, but better than many chain motels. This is not luxury, but an older, traditional that can be recommended for it value and friendly management.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    34
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stay here on July 31 - August 1, Room, Silvius, was very large and clean. Staff was very friendly and courteous.

The hotel was 5 minute drive from the Stratford Festival Theatre.

We will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeezrButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I had never stayed at a motel before so I was a little apprehensive. I read the reviews before going and felt a little better. When my two kids,mom and I got to the motel, we were pleasantly surprised. From the outside, it has that old English inn feel. Inside was clean, very clean. We got the two bedroom suite and the linens were fresh and clean. The bathroom was a nice size. Everything was quite nice. The second room doesn't have it's own AC unit so it did get a little hot and there is not T.V. in the second room. Small matters. The pool was lovely; the kids had a good swim. It is close to the Stratford festival which is what we went for. Breakfast was good. Great staff, great hotel, good price. Will definitely stay there again. By the way, each room is named after a Shakespearean character. We got Orlando. Love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zeekitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Nice clean & comfortable place, which we also found conveniently located. Included in the rate was a simple but nice breakfast. The pool is shallow but we enjoyed it very much, as it had a nice sitting area around the pool. Beds were nice and I would certainly go back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

At-door family motels can be a gamble, but this one (where we've stayed two nights) has been a great success. The rooms, of course, are on the small side, but the whole place is very well kept up. (Small but important details: our room had a fridge; the a/c worked, as did the internet.) Breakfast is fairly limited, but the dining area is relaxed and cheerful in the manner of a B&B, rather than having the bus-station atmosphere of some chain hotels, so breakfast was actually quite enjoyable. But the main draw of this motel is its location, on the edge of town: there's actually a field on the property and, although you shouldn't think of this as a rural location, it's definitely refreshing to walk on grass or listen to the birds as you sit having a snack in the gazebo. There's even a small pool (which we didn't try). The Festival Theatre is about 20-30 minutes' walk away, or you can drive into town very easily. I'd be happy to stay here again on my next visit to Stratford.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank botafogoblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Definitely recommend this motel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with quality linens. My wife and I had a glass of wine in the gazebo in the evening while enjoying the peaceful surroundings. The breakfast was great, nice sunlit dining room, friendly owners. We have stayed at a number of places in Stratford and found the 'As You Like It' to be the best value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mistervista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The room was nice, but no hair dryer. The breakfast coffee was good but the cereal was STALE. The breakfast has no meat. The bread is below average to toast. The room was over $140. So it would be nice to have at least a good wheat bread from a bakery. The location is easy to drive to the theater.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank deadlymantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#7 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.6 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As You Like It Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As You Like It Motel

Property: As You Like It Motel
Address: 379 Romeo St N, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 km from the Stratford Shakespearean Festival, the As You Like It Motel is a family-operated business with spacious grounds and warm hospitality.Each one named after a Shakespearean character, we offer 18 newly redecorated rooms, with en suite bath, wireless internet access, colour television, air conditioner, and a refrigerator. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
As You Like It Hotel Stratford
As You Like It Motel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing