We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally clean”
Review of The Swan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Exceptionally clean”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Having very recently stayed overnight at this property, we are pleased to report that our accommodation, including the bathroom, was exceptionally clean. Our only complaint would concern the noisy air conditioner, which was not conducive to enjoying the best sleep possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    51
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Have recently returned from a wonderful experience staying at the Swan Motel. Our room was spotless, the grounds are fantastic and our hosts were so helpful. We were in Stratford to attend a wedding and with our hosts help, we were able to hold a nice family gathering in the beautiful gardens. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left the service was awesome. Great tea, coffee and muffins available for that lovely morning tea in the gardens. Loved the peacefulness of the Swan. Would go there again any day. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had an excellent stay. The owners are lovely and make you feel comfortable and welcome upon check-in. There is plenty of parking available and the gardens and grounds were gorgeous. The pool was clean and there were lots of chairs spread around the yard. You can tell the owners really take the time to make sure everything looks its best - the flowerbeds are beautiful and the yard is clean of litter.
Our room was very clean and quite large. There was plenty of space for luggage and hanging up clothes in the closet. Two sinks made mornings a breeze getting ready.
We came to Stratford for the first time to relax and enjoy the theater. It was a lovely stay and staying at the Swan was the perfect choice for us. It was a short drive into the town and we never had problem finding parking. I would actually liked to have stayed a couple more nights.
Well Done to the Swan - I would recommend this motel to any of my friends/family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellermdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatham ont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

we had yet another wonderful weekend at The Swan Motel in Stratford Ontario Canada, it is comfortable, relaxing and just far enough outside of Stratford to be quiet and serene. The people who own the motel are very friendly and accomodating. The price is right and we will be reserving this coming week for next summer during their music fest month starting in July.........Stratford is a great place to visit, Shakespearean Festival, beautiful lake to take walks by and most of all The Swan Motel ........we enjoy our visits their and I know you will too.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good but we always get room with 2 double beds and it is very roomy and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexfan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Good value . Pleasant surroundings, lovely garden to sit in on a lovely fall afternoon. Room is snug but very clean and offers all the basics needed for an over night stay. Very close to downtown and easy run to theaters and restaurants. Very friendly management.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here based on the T.A. reviews. A bit disappointed. The room was clean but the place is definitely dated. Room had a bit of a funky odour. I think I would rather pay a few dollars more and stay somewhere a bit more modern.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirC_LadyDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A real motel where you drive up to your room. We preferred the room with two beds. So much more room. Larger bathroom. Extra sink. Not much extra money. We found the one bed room cramped. Spotlessly clean. Excellently maintained. Colleen is delightful . Black Angus restaurant for breakfast is half a block away. As tasty as anything in Stratford for breakfast... but no lines. Take a right, then a left at the light and a left at the next light and there's a Boston Pizza and a 24-hour McDonalds. Good range of satellite TV stations. The TV in the two-bedded room is larger too. Comfortable bed. Too cold to swim in the pool or sit in the garden surroundings.

Room Tip: Take a room with two beds even idf there are only two of you. More room. An extra sink. Bigger bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Motel

Property: The Swan Motel
Address: 960 Downie St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 40 years our family has been graciously welcoming theatre patrons to our special place. Enjoy a quiet, adult atmosphere nestled in a private country setting just minutes south of the Avon/Studio Theatres. Twenty-four tastefully appointed non-smoking rooms with fridge and complimentary wireless Internet. Stroll among captivating gardens and shady nooks; enjoy our sparkling pool and elegant Victorian gazebo. Share the afterglow and plan your day over complimentary morning coffee, tea and muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Stratford
Swan Hotel Stratford
The Swan Motel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing