We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Canada
1 review
“Very clean and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My mother and I recently stayed at this motel for two nights during the Stratford Festival. It is one of the cleanest motels I've ever stayed in, and I found the bed very comfortable. It's a 5-minute drive to the town centre, so although it would be a long walk to the plays, it makes for a very quiet setting. The morning muffins and coffee were a nice touch, although the coffee could be a bit stronger. I shopped around for accommodation, and this place was the most reasonable. I appreciated the previous comments on Trip Advisor to help plan our stay. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelteam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    51
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
111
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have been traveling to Stratford for years, and the Swan is by far my favorite place to stay. The rooms are immaculate, the owners are lovely and charming, and the price is very reasonable. The only problem is you have to book early in the season to get a room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Easily, this is the nicest motel I've ever stayed in! Sure, the bathroom fixtures are from the 60s, but everything worked and the room was spotlessly clean. The decor was on par with very high end luxury hotels and the staff were fast, friendly and very helpful. We will, without a doubt, stay there again next time we're in the area and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently chose to stay at this motel based on Trip Adviser reviews. We were not disappointed! This modest motel is exceptionally clean and very close to downtown without having to hear all the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Colleen & Peter run a lovely motel at the edge of Stratford. We have been going there for 15 years and keep coming back because of the clean, comfortable rooms, relaxing atmosphere and well kept gardens and grounds. Priced reasonably and easy access to local attractions, it is well worth staying at The Swan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Having very recently stayed overnight at this property, we are pleased to report that our accommodation, including the bathroom, was exceptionally clean. Our only complaint would concern the noisy air conditioner, which was not conducive to enjoying the best sleep possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Have recently returned from a wonderful experience staying at the Swan Motel. Our room was spotless, the grounds are fantastic and our hosts were so helpful. We were in Stratford to attend a wedding and with our hosts help, we were able to hold a nice family gathering in the beautiful gardens. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left the service was awesome. Great tea, coffee and muffins available for that lovely morning tea in the gardens. Loved the peacefulness of the Swan. Would go there again any day. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Motel

Property: The Swan Motel
Address: 960 Downie St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 40 years our family has been graciously welcoming theatre patrons to our special place. Enjoy a quiet, adult atmosphere nestled in a private country setting just minutes south of the Avon/Studio Theatres. Twenty-four tastefully appointed non-smoking rooms with fridge and complimentary wireless Internet. Stroll among captivating gardens and shady nooks; enjoy our sparkling pool and elegant Victorian gazebo. Share the afterglow and plan your day over complimentary morning coffee, tea and muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Swan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Stratford
Swan Hotel Stratford
The Swan Motel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing