We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Quiet Relaxation”
Review of The Swan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed at The Swan for several years now and cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Colleen and Peter do not miss a thing in their presentation and care of this wonderful place. They are so welcoming. Colleen always has a smile and a genuine interest in her guests. She amazes me with how she remembers some of the details of our likes. The property at The Swan is meticulously maintained by Peter who quietly goes about his business but is always ready for a "hi" and a chat.

What impressed me the very first time we stayed at The Swan was the first impression when we opened the door to our room. What met us was such a fresh smell! Sometimes when you first go into a room, you realize that you need to get it aired out. This has never been the case for us at The Swan. What this says to me is that the cleaning of the rooms is consistently well done and very thorough. The rooms have a separate sink and counter area outside of the bathroom. This is really convenient. There is also a small fridge and a coffee maker. The rooms are spacious enough so that you aren't on top of each other and you can spread out comfortably. There are also enough drawers and closet space so that you don't need to live out of your suitcase. And the beds are SO comfortable. I live with chronic pain so a good bed is extremely important to me.

The cross-breeze from the large window and the screen door back through the bathroom window makes the room all that more comfortable. We didn't need to use the air conditioner this year! Actually, and I say this gently, the A/C can be on the noisy side but it works really well when you need it to.

The grounds are beautiful! There are lots of trees and gorgeous flowering plants. Along with the gazebo and many lawn chairs and tables, it makes for a very relaxing place to rest up after a day of activities/theatre. You can sit out there with a book and a glass of wine and just soak up the atmosphere. The only real noise you ever hear is the singing of the birds!!! And of course there is a swimming pool for those really hot days.

Coffee/tea/muffins are available in the mornings in the office so your whole day gets off to a good start! The Swan is about 5 minutes from downtown Stratford, right out in the country area so you get the best of both worlds.

We usually stay for a week and always leave reluctantly. It sure does feel like our home away from home! Already anticipating our 2015 stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wife and I stayed one night and both found it to be a clean and well run motel. Our room was modest but comfortable with the usual amenities that we expect. Location is close to the downtown but still in a quiet rural setting. Bed was modern and comfortable. Only con would be that the pillows were perhaps a little old and had a slight smell to them. Overall a good find and a motel that we will return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beernsuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The grounds are lovely. It is a great choice for a peaceful and relaxing place to stay while in Stratford.
It seems that many people at this motel are returning visitors and it is obvious to us why this is the case after choosing this place to stay. Downtown is only a few minutes away and. The coffee and muffins in the morning are a wonderful bonus.

Room Tip: All the rooms are easily accessible. It seems that many people return to this motel and it was obvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just outside of town in Stratford, this motel is a little gem. Nicely appointed room has everything you need. We are in town for 2 shows. This place is great for convenience and, compared to the "fancier" places - it's good value. We'll come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musicgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Went to the theatre at the end of the season and found this great little motel. A very comfortable room, exceptionally clean and although decor was a little dated had no complaints.
Would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My mother and I recently stayed at this motel for two nights during the Stratford Festival. It is one of the cleanest motels I've ever stayed in, and I found the bed very comfortable. It's a 5-minute drive to the town centre, so although it would be a long walk to the plays, it makes for a very quiet setting. The morning muffins and coffee were a nice touch, although the coffee could be a bit stronger. I shopped around for accommodation, and this place was the most reasonable. I appreciated the previous comments on Trip Advisor to help plan our stay. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelteam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have been traveling to Stratford for years, and the Swan is by far my favorite place to stay. The rooms are immaculate, the owners are lovely and charming, and the price is very reasonable. The only problem is you have to book early in the season to get a room!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
2 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#11 of 18 in Stratford
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Motel

Address: 960 Downie St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: £81 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Swan Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 40 years our family has been graciously welcoming theatre patrons to our special place. Enjoy a quiet, adult atmosphere nestled in a private country setting just minutes south of the Avon/Studio Theatres. Twenty-four tastefully appointed non-smoking rooms with fridge and complimentary wireless Internet. Stroll among captivating gardens and shady nooks; enjoy our sparkling pool and elegant Victorian gazebo. Share the afterglow and plan your day over complimentary morning coffee, tea and muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Stratford
Swan Hotel Stratford
The Swan Motel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing