We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hosts, beautiful landscaping, and extremely clean.”
Review of The Swan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our first trip to Stratford as well as our first stay at the Swan. We'll definitely return to this hotel on our next trip. Pride of ownership is evident throughout the property. The landscaping is especially well done and provides a serene respite. The room was extremely clean, tidy and appropriately sized. The hotel provides muffins and tea/coffee in the morning which was a huge benefit for us. No need to trudge out to find a breakfast spot - plus it allowed us to get on with our day quickly. The owners are delightful and very willing to engage in discussions about Stratford and the theatre. The hotel is located a 1-2 miles from the downtown area which actually works very well. The distance allowed us a rural escape from busy days at the theatre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for The Swan Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Swan Motel this weekend, during a visit to Stratford for a Friday night at the theatre to see King Lear. Wouldn't have ever considered a motel, but the reviews on Tripadvisor were good and the price was excellent.
This place really can't be faulted.
The owners are delightful and obviously take a huge personal interest in the business. The gardens are absolutely beautiful, the rooms are sposlessly clean and fresh and the motel itself is only minutes from the Stratford downtown. We didn't hesitate to book at the Swan Motel again for our next Stratford visit in August.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlanS573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Don't be fooled by the fact that this a motel. It is very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and better maintained than many expensive hotels. It is in a quiet location just outside the downtown of Stratford in a lovely garden only a short drive to all the theatres and downtown restaurants. With a bar fridge and coffee maker in the room and complementary homemade muffins and tea or coffee between 8:00 am and 10:00 am we were able to have our breakfast at the motel. We will definitely stay here again when in Stratford.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornerstonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here in May while attending the play, Crazy for You. The motel is a time warp back to the 70's, but has been very well kept by its owners. The room is comfortable and super clean! The grounds are meticulously maintained, pride of ownership is evident. It is located a few kms from the downtown area, but is easy to get to. If you're looking for someplace clean and comfortable, this is the place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canadathebeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently attended the musical, "Crazy For You" at the Stratford Festival. We decided to stay at, "The Swan Motel." This is a really nice motel a couple of kilometres from the main theatre. There are signs marking the directions to the main theatre from downtown.
Although this motel is about 50 years old, it is not dated. The rooms are freshly painted, the beds are excellent, the air conditioner works great (not noisey), the tv is a flat screen with satellite. The shower is very clean and toiletries and plenty of towels are provided. Over all this is one of the cleanest motels I have stayed at. Not a lot of traffic noise late at night.
The grounds are immaculate, with the swimming pool in the middle. Lots of chairs and chaise loungers around the pool and a gazebo and other tables to make your sitting more comfortable. In the morning around 8 am, homemade muffins and coffee are provided, they are delicious. The hosts of the motel are friendly and provided excellent tips on where to dine. They even told us to make a reservation for dinner. This was excellent because the restaurant was pretty full and gave us adequate time to get to the theatre. We had reserved parking near the theatre but the next time I go, There is plenty of free parking around the theatre if you get there in advance of the show.
I would definitely recommend this motel to others that are going on an overnight Stratford experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed at The Swan for several years now and cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Colleen and Peter do not miss a thing in their presentation and care of this wonderful place. They are so welcoming. Colleen always has a smile and a genuine interest in her guests. She amazes me with how she remembers some of the details of our likes. The property at The Swan is meticulously maintained by Peter who quietly goes about his business but is always ready for a "hi" and a chat.

What impressed me the very first time we stayed at The Swan was the first impression when we opened the door to our room. What met us was such a fresh smell! Sometimes when you first go into a room, you realize that you need to get it aired out. This has never been the case for us at The Swan. What this says to me is that the cleaning of the rooms is consistently well done and very thorough. The rooms have a separate sink and counter area outside of the bathroom. This is really convenient. There is also a small fridge and a coffee maker. The rooms are spacious enough so that you aren't on top of each other and you can spread out comfortably. There are also enough drawers and closet space so that you don't need to live out of your suitcase. And the beds are SO comfortable. I live with chronic pain so a good bed is extremely important to me.

The cross-breeze from the large window and the screen door back through the bathroom window makes the room all that more comfortable. We didn't need to use the air conditioner this year! Actually, and I say this gently, the A/C can be on the noisy side but it works really well when you need it to.

The grounds are beautiful! There are lots of trees and gorgeous flowering plants. Along with the gazebo and many lawn chairs and tables, it makes for a very relaxing place to rest up after a day of activities/theatre. You can sit out there with a book and a glass of wine and just soak up the atmosphere. The only real noise you ever hear is the singing of the birds!!! And of course there is a swimming pool for those really hot days.

Coffee/tea/muffins are available in the mornings in the office so your whole day gets off to a good start! The Swan is about 5 minutes from downtown Stratford, right out in the country area so you get the best of both worlds.

We usually stay for a week and always leave reluctantly. It sure does feel like our home away from home! Already anticipating our 2015 stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wife and I stayed one night and both found it to be a clean and well run motel. Our room was modest but comfortable with the usual amenities that we expect. Location is close to the downtown but still in a quiet rural setting. Bed was modern and comfortable. Only con would be that the pillows were perhaps a little old and had a slight smell to them. Overall a good find and a motel that we will return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beernsuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
396 reviews
2.0 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Motel

Address: 960 Downie St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: £79 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Swan Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 40 years our family has been graciously welcoming theatre patrons to our special place. Enjoy a quiet, adult atmosphere nestled in a private country setting just minutes south of the Avon/Studio Theatres. Twenty-four tastefully appointed non-smoking rooms with fridge and complimentary wireless Internet. Stroll among captivating gardens and shady nooks; enjoy our sparkling pool and elegant Victorian gazebo. Share the afterglow and plan your day over complimentary morning coffee, tea and muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Stratford
Swan Hotel Stratford
The Swan Motel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing