We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great House, Food and Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

From the cozy house, our warm and inviting guest room to the outdoor sitting areas with the beautiful gardens, this place is hard to beat. The breakfast was fabulous with the fruit salad, homemade yogurt cheese and granola, the baked goods and amazing entree. Dorien encouraged us to take the baked goods away which we did and enjoyed later in the day. Staying here has definitelty spoiled us for any other B and B!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

We arrived to a warm welcome from the hosts. Riley, the dog offered us his toy to play with.
The room was smallish and pleasant, with its own TV. The lounge was available and pleasant with books. Coffee and tea for early risers; Chat in the kitchen. Walk around the lake. Breakfast; Well, she made home-made crumpets for heaven's sake, granola, eggs with the most scrumptious base of mushroom, yogurts, jams, toast, bagels, muffins (low fat, low sugar) all served in a warm and hearty fashion. She sent us home with treats from the table (2 crumpets and three muffins) and would have packed a lunch.
Walking distance to the Festival Theatre along the river.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diveryogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

My husband and I stayed with Bill and Dorien for two nights and for two absolutely out of this world breakfasts. Amadeus Haus is beautifully maintained, both inside and out. Dorien is a magnificent cook and Bill is a master gardener. My husband and I highly recommend Amadeus House as a home away from home when visiting Stratford.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We have staying at Amadeus Haus at least four Stratford Theater seasons and each time has been wonderful. Dorien always prepares one of her special hot entrees accompanied by homemade muffins, bread, granola, scones, fruit salad and yogurt cheese. The rooms are cozy and the street is quiet. All the play venues are an easy walk if the weather is good. The gardens that Bill maintains are lovely and Riley the resident dog is also part of what makes this B & B special. We always enjoy wine and cheese in the gazebo with the our good friends that share Amadeus Haus with us each year.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upbeat624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

For the past five years, my husband and I have stayed in B & B's while attending the plays in Stratford. We have never stayed in the same one twice as there was always something we didn't like. Not anymore. In fact, I almost didn't write this review because it is already hard enough to get into this fabulous B & B. From the moment the car turned into the driveway, we were impressed. Bill, our host, has won several prizes for his gardens. Front and back, the landscaping is imaginative, colourful and inviting. And guests ARE invited to enjoy the gardens, with comfortable wicker chairs on the porch, four Muskoka chairs around a fountain in the back and a gazebo with a table and four chairs. Moving inside, the house is decorated as nicely as the garden. Our bedroom, the Train Room or Green Room, has a king size bed with a very comfortable mattress, a small refrigerator with complimentary water and Perrier, a decanter of complimentary Sherry, a small LCD TV and extra blankets and pillows. The bathroom is a good size (not always the case in older homes) with a walk-in shower. Dorien, our hostess has provided extra towels, as well as soap and shampoo. And then there is breakfast! A wonderful bowl of fresh fruit, served with homemade granola and yogurt cheese is accompanied by homemade croissants, muffins and scones. Don't fill up completely on this though because this is all followed by a second course. We were there three days: we had an egg dish two days, raspberry cream cheese french toast another day. At least Dorien is realistic about us consuming all this. She thoughtfully provides plastic bags to take the baked goods away in and insists that you do so. Stratford is a lovely town to visit and Amadeus Haus is a great place to stay while you do so.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
397 reviews
2.0 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Elizabeth St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £106 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location allows guests to park and walk to the 4 theatres and the downtown area. Restored century home features original woodwork, etched glass doors and stain glass windows. Award winning gardens with three outdoor sitting areas. Three spacious guest rooms with large ensuites. A full two course breakfast includes cereals, baked goods, fruit salad and a hot entre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing