We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

For over a dozen years, my wife and I have visited Stratford every July to see a few plays and spend a long weekend with my high-school best friend, whom we only get to see twice a year. In the early days, we played the B&B lottery and stayed at a different B&B each year. After some “memorable” experiences, we happened to book at Amadeus House. After our first stay, we knew this was it. No need to search any further. This is the place to stay. For the past eight years we have enjoyed the sweet respite of the Amadeus House and the warm hospitality of the hosts, Bill and Dorien. They truly treat us like family. The accommodations are first rate. Bill has done a remarkable job of restoring the home to its original splendor, both inside and out. Dorien is a master in the kitchen. Every breakfast is a gastronomic delight. Repeat customers get a copy of her recipe collection, which is updated every year. If you like, you can notify her ahead of time and request a particular entrée to be served during your stay. She is always willing to please.

Yes, they have a number of house rules that, at first, can seem a bit overwhelming. However, when examined objectively, the rules are there to insure the enjoyment of all of the guests, and to preserve the beauty of their home that they obviously cherish, and so generously share with us.

So, if you are looking for a marvelous place to stay in Stratford, that is within walking distance of all of the theaters, and you are looking to be delighted with a marvelous breakfast every morning, you need look no further than Amadeus House. It is truly a gem.

Joe & Kim R.
Naperville, IL

Room Tip: The Red room is the largest room. Excellent for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Amadeus Haus is everything one might want in a B&B when visiting Stratford. Comfortable, immaculate, beautifully maintained rooms with ensuites (our favorite is the Green Room, but they're all lovely.). Wonderful hosts who make each and every guest feel welcome. House guidelines are clearly spelled out upon arrival...I find that it helps to get to know these things right out of the gate and then can settle in quickly. Breakfast is at 8:30 (with coffee/tea available in the kitchen an hour earlier) and what a breakfast it is! Homemade granola and yogurt, fresh fruit salad, variety of baked goods (scones, muffins, crumpets, breads--different things each day, all from host's oven) AND a yummy hot entree, too. Lovely outdoor spaces to enjoy and complimentary WIFI. Quiet street, yet close (easy walking distance) to the theatres, restaurants and everything else Stratford has to offer. This is my 40th year traveling at least once a season to Stratford. Amadeus Haus, for the last 10 of those years, has become our home-away-from-home. We can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've been staying at Amadeus Haus twice a year for several years now and have always found it to be a gorgeous home...well kept and comfortable. We've stayed in all 3 rooms and although the Red a Room is our favourite, we think all the rooms are beautiful and would stay in any of them without a complaint. Dorien and Bill, the owners and our hosts, are always friendly and helpful in making our stay a very pleasant one and we consider them our friends.

Dorien and Bill have set rules that you find in all the good B & B's to ensure that all guests behave in a way that is appropriate for this kind of establishment. It's actually one of the reasons we like this bed and breakfast so much.

Dorians puts on a fabulous breakfast and we love the baked goods that we can snack on during the day or during our long drive home. Bill's garden is, I'm sure, the envy of all the neighbours.

The locations is perfect. Walking distance to all the theatres, restaurants and shops. The interior of the house is gorgeous with its beautiful woodwork and decor.

We used to come to Startford only once a year, now we come twice and that has a lot to do with Amadeus Haus.

Thanks Dorien and Bill. See you in September!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JAG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed the hospitality provided at Amadeus Haus. Bill and Dorien have a real gem. They are great hosts, provide fabulous food, have nice gardens and the house is beautifully restored. It is so wonderful to see two people who enjoy their business as much as they do and make their guests feel so welcome. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: It was great to park the car and walk to the theatres and downtown. We really enjoyed sitting in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I stayed with Bill and Doreen during the Stratford Festival. Upon pulling up to the curb our first impression of the house was quite favourable. This lovely home was located on a very quiet street which was lined with century homes. The Amadeus House looked like it was very well taken care of and was among one of the nicest homes on the block.

We pulled into the driveway and out runs Bill directing us on how to park on their driveway. He barked, "No, move over more....a little back....ok, pull up a wee bit more....ok, now just a bit more to the left.....Ok, STOP...... turn off the car". Whew, we finally parked our car correctly. What a test!

As we were getting out of the car Bill told us to hurry up, grab our luggage and to quickly come inside. My wife and I are not feeling too great about our choice of B+B at this point. When we walked in the door we were promtly instructed on where AND how we must leave our shoes. Very exact shoe instructions. Then Bill asked us into the kitchen to meet Doreen and most importantly,to listen to Bill's long list of house rules.....and let me tell you, it was a long list. Sigh.

The entire introduction to our B+B was slightly off-putting since our hosts had us walking on eggshells within the first 10 minutes. Yikes. Then we were escorted up to our room, which was simply lovely. Very clean and cozy. However, again, we were instructed on the proper way to close the door. Doreen insisted that we do not let the door slam. At this point all the rules and regulations were starting to bother us.

Fortunately that edgy feeling didn't last very long. Once our hosts had finished bombarding us with all the "dos and don'ts" of their home they did finally settle down and by Jove, we had a surprisingly nice stay.

What we learned was that Bill and Doreen like to tell you all the rules of their home immediately upon arrival. And as I said, there is a long list of them.....but once they've said their peace they do leave you alone and are actually quite nice. Perhaps they are this way because of some bad experiences with other guests. I'm not sure.

The food was excellent and Doreen was extra proud of her cooking. She enjoyed telling us a little story about each course and then mentioned the recipe book she'd made which was given only to special guests. We didn't get one. She told us her book was for repeat customers and we could get one if we came back. Maybe someday we will.

The grounds are lovely and nicely taken care of. The yard has many flower beds and areas to sit and unwind. The covered veranda was also a lovely way to sit and watch the world go by. The home was located a short walk away (no more than 10 minutes) from downtown with all its theaters and restaurants.

In the end we were glad we visited this B+B with the extra fussy owners. But pride of ownership really does show here, in spades....and that's admirable. Perhaps if they'd tone down their heavy-handed opening "rules and regulations" ceremony their guests first impression mightn't be so negative. In reality they are very nice people who just love their home very, very, very much. They demand respect and they certainly let you know that it's respect they want. I'm just not sure if it's at all neccessary. Actually, I am sure....it's totally unneccessary.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krustytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a home that has been beautifully cared for and renovated by Bill and Dorien with a surprisingly stunning rear garden that belongs in Home and Garden! Bill has done a lot of the carpentry himself in his workshop in the garage behind the house. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. The house is decorated with a real sense of it's history. Dorien's breakfasts were amazing, with 3 different home-made baked goods on the table each morning, in addition to her healthy versions of baked egg dishes, fresh fruit, cerael, yogurt and much more than the blurb says on their listing. All guests are encouraged to take the fresh-baked leftovers (Dorien provides zipper bags) as part of Bill and Dorien's healthy eating plan (so they won't be tempted themselves!) It's a short walk into town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenandZel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

From the cozy house, our warm and inviting guest room to the outdoor sitting areas with the beautiful gardens, this place is hard to beat. The breakfast was fabulous with the fruit salad, homemade yogurt cheese and granola, the baked goods and amazing entree. Dorien encouraged us to take the baked goods away which we did and enjoyed later in the day. Staying here has definitelty spoiled us for any other B and B!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Elizabeth St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £109 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location allows guests to park and walk to the 4 theatres and the downtown area. Restored century home features original woodwork, etched glass doors and stain glass windows. Award winning gardens with three outdoor sitting areas. Three spacious guest rooms with large ensuites. A full two course breakfast includes cereals, baked goods, fruit salad and a hot entre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing