We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a 'Ritz' in Stratford...”
Review of The Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bruce Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

...the Bruce could be it. We were 4 for lunch here before a matinee at the Festival, and were delighted to find that finally Stratford has a hotel that rises to the standards of the Stratford Festival. The food is excellent, reasonably priced and offered perfect variety. The service was exemplary without being over-attentive. Special requests...not an issue - even to scouring through the wine cellar to find just what we were looking for.
We'll be booking a return this season, and will plan to stay overnight as well.
Don't deny yourself a visit to the Bruce when you're in Stratford!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Penrhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Bruce is an elegant, new hotel in Stratford that opened in late May, 2014. Fortunately for the town and its guests, a key supporter/benefactor of the Shakespeare Festival had the vision and passion to build this hotel from the ground up. It is a luxury property a short walk from/to the Festival Theatre.

Here are a few things to note about a stay here....

1. The Bruce is a luxury property. The rooms are large (600 sq. ft.) and the suites are larger (750 sq. ft.) Each room has a private/semi-private patio, as well as a large bathroom with rain shower heads in walk-in showers, separate sinks, etc. Prices during peak summer weekends can run over $500, but better deals are available with a careful search. Breakfast is included with a stay.
2. They have private parking in a covered and an uncovered lot.
3. The hotel has a small indoor pool, along with a nice hot tub and area for changing clothes. There is also a private work out facility.
4. The hotel restaurant is amazing. If you are looking for a great meal without leaving the property, this restaurant is first-rate. The bar at the restaurant, which has a respectable menu of drinks, is open until midnight.
5. The hotel staff are gracious and friendly. They have a small town friendliness that does not appear too forced or rehearsed.
6. There are a number of small touches, such as nice seating areas, coffee brought to the room each morning, etc. that add to the experience.

If I have any quibbles, there are two...

1. Check-out is at 11:00 a.m. This might be to accommodate those arriving for the 2:00 p.m. shows, but it is still too early for a luxury place.
2. The place is still very new. The grounds/gardens are not yet established, and the landscaping does not yet look great. There are also small things such as a "library" that has largely empty shelves (except for a few well-worn paper backs and National Geographics) that will look better in time.

This is a great property that makes for a truly amazing (even once-in-a lifetime) experience in Startford.

Room Tip: After Shakespeare Festival season, expect much better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mbc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My fiance and I spent this past Saturday night at this new, wonderful hotel. The rooms (suite) are remarkable. Large. Very large. The bathroom's are luxurious and stocked with any want and need. The rooms are very well appointed, well designed and employ the finest of everything - right down to the selected hardware on the drawers and doors.

Clearly, this is a property which has been planned to the very minute detail, with no expense spared to invest in a property which will age very well. Beautiful now it its newness, it is bound to take age and develop rich character in every regard.

We also had opportunity to dine in the restaurant for both dinner as well as breakfast. Both meals were well prepared with fine ingredients for inventive, delicious dishes.

The staff are kind, considerate and professional - and rightfully proud of their new hotel - and eager to ensure each guest has a positive memory. We are already looking forward to our return next year to enjoy this lovely community, watch great performances and recharge in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent_of_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a truly wonderful hotel, you will not find one like it.

The hotel feels grand yet calm and private, the staff are kind and caring, the rooms are thoughtful and well-appointed.

The location couldn't be better for visiting Stratford and enjoying the theatre, and when you return "home", you will feel peace and calm without disturbing the aura a magical play leaves.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This new hotel was elegant, luxurious and comfortable. Front-desk staff were friendly and helpful (they organized tickets to a play and helped with directions). The property was quiet and had lovely amenities (pool, hot tub and infinity pool). Our room was large and clean with a fantastic bathroom complete with an enormous rain shower, bath and double sink. The outside patio area was a lovely bonus as we could sit on the chairs with our feet up and enjoy the fresh air. Evening turn down service was also nice touch with cute fortune cookies left on our table. Service was excellent and the restaurant had great food (particularly breakfast). Located close to the centre of Stratford and near a lovely park. This hotel would be wonderful for those who have mobility issues, as there is plenty of space on the ground floor rooms and a seated area in the shower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscoe_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I recently went to Stratford for the Shakespeare Festival and stayed at The Bruce Hotel. From the moment you pass the iron gates I knew I was in for something special! The hotel is only 25 rooms but looks more grand. The lobby is quaint with a natural fireplace and piano. The room was very spacious - with a living room, HUGE bathroom and bedroom with desk and additional seating. The French windows opening up to the back courtyard. It felt like something right out of a Jane Austen novel. The entire ambiance of the place feels surreal.

The staff are amazing and the food is delicious. We must have eaten half the menu but the definite must haves are the Hoi An pancakes and falafel salad. Food I never expected to be available in Startford. If you are in Canada or planning a trip, a trip to Stratford is a must and a stay at The Bruce Hotel is a no-brainer. There is no other hotel like it in the whole town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HallaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, with very spacious rooms. The bathrooms are most luxurious i have ever seen in a hotel. We had a suite, and a couple of regular rooms with a king beds. What surprised me is the balcony off the regular rooms had seating for four, where as the balcony off the suite was barely big enough to stand on. The views were either of a parking garage, or an empty field. Im sure it will be nice once landscaping is complete. Overall, I didn't feel the suite was worth the money.
The bed was very comfortable, however there are no sheets on the bed, just a douvet. I would like to see a selection of pillows. I found the pillows to be rather uncomfortable.
Unfortunately we did not receive the coffee basket in the morning other guests were talking about. There is no coffee in the room, you have to go to the pantry at the end of the hall to make a cup of coffee, which is inconvenient.
The gym is well equiped, i did notice there was nothing in there to wipe down the machines after each use. I brought this to their attention, so hopefully disinfectant wipes are availble now.
I did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked amazing.
Breakfast is included with the room, you choose from a small selection of dishes made with local ingredients.
Overall, when you are paying over 500 a night for a room and over 650 for a suite, I expect service and amenities to be above and beyond, not just bare minimal.
I would say this hotel is comparable to a Marriott, with Ritz prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank LauraD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceHotelStratford, Owner at The Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Because this review contains inaccurate information we have requested that Tripadvisor remove it. Since they have not, we need to clarify the information publicly.

This booking did not take place after our official opening at full rate as inferred in the review but rather during our invitation only pre opening in May.

As a gesture of goodwill, I invited the community to join us during our soft opening period. Rooms were available for $150 and suites for $200. It allowed guests a sneak peek of the property and afforded our staff an opportunity to perfect their craft before the official opening.

LauraD777 was a guest of someone who had generously booked four rooms during this period as a surprise for the group. We assisted the organizer in placing gifts and notes in the rooms, and the guests were made to believe they were just getting a tour before it was revealed they were staying. It was because of this unusual check in that orders for morning coffee baskets were not taken.

To thank the organizer, we arranged a complimentary upgrade of one of the rooms to a suite- Lear- which is the only suite with a Juliet balcony, but is also the largest one in the hotel.

As a resident of Stratford, LauraD777 has an idea of the investment that I have made in this community, the jobs I have created and how this hotel has already positively impacted the area.

I am disheartened that rather than support and encourage a small local business by bringing any concerns about her stay directly to us, they were posted online under false pretences.

Jennifer Birmingham
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#4 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bruce Hotel

Address: 89 Parkview Dr, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4R5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: £142 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bruce Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional service in a luxurious setting just steps from the Stratford Festival Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bruce Hotel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing