We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Suburban”
Review of Suburban Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suburban Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at the Suburban”
Reviewed 20 November 2007

We booked our stay based on price after viewing their website and we weren't disappointed. It is a lovely motel with lots of gardens, a sparkly pool and clean, nicely furnished rooms.

We enjoyed our coffee in the morning in the gazebo and had a nice swim after the theatre in the pool. It is a little ways out of town but not a long drive.

The owners are friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. We enjoyed our stay in Stratford and if we return we will definitely choose the Suburban Motel.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    41
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
59
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

We have stayed at the Suburban during our last two visits to Stratford
for the Festival Theatre. We had stayed at several other places in Stratford prior to a recommendation from a fellow festival guest during an intermission.

We were delighted at the quality of the rooms which had everything we required for our stay. Furnishings were new and the rooms were spotless. They included coffeemaker, hairdryer, Cable TV, CD player and highspeed wireless internet. It is disappointing that the internet
service is not free, however when comparing the Suburban room rates with the hotels that do offer it for free - you still save a bundle. The grounds are beautiful and they have a heated pool which is nice during the cooler days of the fall. We will certainly return because it is the best dollar value in Stratford.

  • Liked — Great setting! Great value!
  • Disliked — Did not like to pay for the High Speed Internet.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2007

My friends and I have traveled to Stratford to see the plays for several years, and have been lucky enough to stay at the Suburban Motel. We found it by fluke the first year, but wouldn't think of staying anywhere else now.

The Motel is situated out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Stratford in a quiet location, although the plays are literally minutes away. The Suburban owners (Mike and Amanda) have done a wonderful job of landscaping, with well-grown mature trees and colorful flowers. As a result, the grounds are a calm oasis of shifting shadows and birdsong. There is a nice pool nestled in the center of the property, with lots of comfortable chairs for lounging. The tennis court is in good repair--we saw folks using it quite a bit during our last stay.

The rooms are immaculately clean and laid out in a comfortable way. Each has a refrigerator, for those late night snacks, and a table and comfy chairs. The bathrooms are sparkling and the room has all the necessities, including an iron and ironing board. The rooms even smell nice!

Two of the women we travel with are older, with some mobility problems. They find the accommodations and the bathroom very easy to get around. The rooms are all on the ground floor and parking is just steps away. The Suburban would be a great motel for any person with compromised mobility.

Mike and Amanda live on the property with their family, and you can really feel the personal touch in everything they do. Mike is always ready with a referral to a great restaurant or fun diversion. Amanda pays close attention to guests' needs and we've never wanted for anything.

On top of all of this, it's a fantastic bargain. Even though the rate of exchange isn't so favorable for those of us south of the border, the Suburban really is value for money. All-in-all, the Suburban Motel is a clean, comfortable, and affordable place to stay while in Stratford. I recommend it wholeheartedly for anyone--singles, couples, and families young and old. When you go, tell Mike and Amanda Jennifer from Ohio says "Hi!"

  • Liked — The owners and the accomodations
  • Disliked — There's nothing I dislike--it's really great
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujujen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

My partner and I made last minute plans to see a play in Stratford. Many of the top-rated hotels, motels, and B&Bs were either booked solid, or way out of our price range.
Sight unseen, we booked a King room at the Suburban Motel, and were pleasantly surprised with the accomodation.

The motel is not downtown, and a car is necessary to get to the theatres and shops, but it is less than 5 minutes away. This ended up being a plus, I believe, because the surrounding area was very quiet.

The room was clean and nicely furnished (with modern decor and linens). The television got many channels, and the alarm clock also played cds.
We really liked that there were sliding doors at the rear of the room, that opened onto a field and trees, which meant we could have the screen door open for fresh breezes, without having to worry about privacy or noise.

There is a pool and gardens and a gazebo on the property, which looked lovely, but we didn't have enough time to enjoy them.

All-in-all, the Suburban Motel was pretty much what we were looking for: an affordable place to stay in Stratford that was nice, but also close to the attractions. We will stay here next time we decide to take in a show.

  • Liked — King beds, clean and modern rooms for an affordable rate.
  • Disliked — Nothing in walking distance.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vulpecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
206 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Motel

Property: Suburban Motel
Address: 2808 Ontario St. East | GPS Address: 2808 Line 34, Perth East, Ontario, Canada, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suburban Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you prefer trees and scenic farmland over asphalt, then you will enjoy your Suburban visit. Our grounds are covered with beautiful mature trees and shrubs, with a generous amount of color being supplied by a variety of flowerbeds, headlined by our gorgeous roses. Corn and wheat fields surround us and enhance the beautiful canvas which is our property. Quiet country roads beckon those who wish to walk or cycle through "the back forty". You can also stay active during your stay by shooting hoops, playing tennis, or having a refreshing swim in our outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Suburban Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Hotel Stratford
Suburban Motel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing