We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Suburban Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suburban Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Found this motel to be very clean. The rooms and the grounds are very well kept. If your looking for a reasonable price and comfortable simple accommodations this will be the place for you. It is on the edge of town so if your wanting to be in the middle of it all this not where you want to book.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    39
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
57
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nothing fancy, but a nice place to stay. Room was clean and quiet. Coffee maker, small fridge and iron and ironing board in room. Pool (outdoor, closed at our visit for season) and tennis court. Nice grounds. Complimentary coffee, muffins and juices in the in lobby in the morning. Owners were very friendly. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celtichound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My daughter and I were attending a family wedding in the Stratford area and booked a room at the Suburban Motel. After speaking with Mandy on the phone when I made the reservation, I had a feeling that we were going to be pleased with this place. She was so warm and friendly and we spoke at length about the area, which was really helpful to me, since I had never visited Stratford before. Our room was clean and well-appointed with lots of lighting and a great TV. The beds were comfortable, and we were pleased to find a mini-fridge in the room. The morning coffee was delicious!
As we were preparing to leave the next morning, we discovered our truck battery was dead! Mike happily got his jumper cables and drove his vehicle over to our parking spot and hooked us up in no time! What a lifesaver! Thank you again, Mike for helping us out.
Mike & Mandy, you have a lovely spot, and the two of you are perfect hosts. I would recommend your motel to anyone, and if I ever am in the area again, I will certainly stay with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stonefountain5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Suburban Motel in Stratford is lovely - there are many motels and bed and breakfasts in Stratford, but this is the one where my family has always gone. The owners are so nice, the rooms are clean, they're comfortable, and you'll be shocked at how quiet it is. There is a fridge in the room, and there is morning coffee, etc., in the morning. It's not the fanciest of places but perfect for us. We will never stay anywhere else when we attend the Stratford Festival.

Room Tip: I believe the corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Motel is clean and comfortable. A bit out of town but convenient non the less Three couples stayed there on our recent visit. I would like to return in the summer to enjoy the pool and other things to do in the Stratford area. We liked the comprehensive informational booklet in the room. Very warm and accommodating owners who take pride in their business.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorytown
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I , along with another couple, spent two nights at the Suburban Motel while attending two performances at the Stratford theater. This was our third trip to Strafford in the past two years and our third stay at the Suburban. We booked on the spur of the moment and managed to get two rooms! Mandy and Mike are first rate hosts, friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed our lunch and a glass (plastic) of wine at the pool as soon as we arrived and despite the showers we stayed dry. I have previously enjoyed swimming in the pool but the temperatures were a little cool given the weather during our visit. I have recommended this motel to other friends and will continue to do so. The morning coffee and muffins are an added treat. You will not be disappointed staying there. While others find it a little too far out of town for walking I always walk in and meet my wife at Features....I get my exercise and don't feel a bit guilty when I sit down to a hearty breakfast. Thanks Mandy, Mike and staff. Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: did not rate the restaurant or fitness centre only because they don't exist...but the pool is cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Suburban Motel while attending the Stratford Festival. We enjoyed the country setting and small balcony that looked out on the corn fields. The pool and gazebo area were also a nice place to relax between shows! The morning coffee, juice and muffins got us on our way. Having a fridge was handy to supplement our snacking needs! The only disadvantage was that it was too far to walk to town. Also, the entry to the property is a little tricky to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the corn fields!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
202 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Motel

Property: Suburban Motel
Address: 2808 Ontario St. East | GPS Address: 2808 Line 34, Perth East, Ontario, Canada, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suburban Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you prefer trees and scenic farmland over asphalt, then you will enjoy your Suburban visit. Our grounds are covered with beautiful mature trees and shrubs, with a generous amount of color being supplied by a variety of flowerbeds, headlined by our gorgeous roses. Corn and wheat fields surround us and enhance the beautiful canvas which is our property. Quiet country roads beckon those who wish to walk or cycle through "the back forty". You can also stay active during your stay by shooting hoops, playing tennis, or having a refreshing swim in our outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Suburban Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Hotel Stratford
Suburban Motel Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing