We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food”
Review of Rundles Restaurant

Rundles Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rundles Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 138 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$56 - US$100
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: (41st SEASON OF RUNDLES: MAY 26 TO SEPTEMBER 23, 2017.) "On the bank of the River Avon, Rundles is an idyllic spot for pre-theatre dining in Stratford. The room, all grey cement and pale wood, feels like a Mies van der Rohe-designed spa. Chef Neil Baxter, who's been head chef since 1981, has a flair for the dramatic, in a good way. The tender poached lobster with salmon roe, cubed cucumber, yuzu jelly and dill oil sparkles like a mosaic of multicoloured sea glass and tastes bright and clean. Flawless panfried rib-eye showcases classic training and finesse. At the end of the meal, the server suggests "the famous lemon tart." The bruleed concoction, studded with toasted pistachios and sided with smooth orange sorbet, lives up to its recommendation." (Toronto Life) Pre-theatre seating times: 5, 5:15, 5:30, 5:45, or 6 pm. Late dinner seating available after. Closed: Monday.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Perfectly prepared lamb is hard to find, but Rundles knocked it out of the park. All of the food we had was outstanding. Great service, adequate ambience. Short but decent wine list. $50 per head for two course meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliengruvgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    48
    20
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a great shame”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I feel a duty to report on this restaurant after I posted a very favourable review last year.

The atmosphere is great but alas the food and service were very poor. The chap at the door in the red trousers (i think a manager) was very nice but when things went terribly wrong at the neighbouring table (an unfortunate accident involving four drinks being dumped on a diner) he stayed away. The server who spilled the drinks did not apologize, nor did anyone else. We were shocked. Astonishing.

The menu was fine but a quite limited selection (not very good for vegetarians; the only choice for a main course was a stuffed mushroom).

I hope I don't sound harsh, but if a restaurant is presenting itself as top class (and charging in the neighbourhood of $100.00 per person, with wine), it seems that it should do more to ensure a good dining experience--for all of its patrons.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2013. Yet, we are sorry to read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and determined detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Certainly over rated. The chicken dish we had was unseasoned and bland. Not up to its usual standards. Certainly not worth the money you pay. For top dollar one should expect top quality in the food. Will not return. There are too many other good restaurants in Stratford that offer better value and better food. Was quite disappointed in our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank drb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
Thank you for visiting our establishment in 2013. Yet, we are sorry to have read that you did not appreciate your Rundles dining experience. Naturally, we are fully aware that what we offer will not appeal to all. We attract loyal supporters, and detractors alike.

Thus, we hope that if/when you return, we will earn a better review from you. If you would like to correspond directly with us, we encourage you to send an email or letter by mail, and we will reply in a timely manner.

Regards,

The Rundles Team

(40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Stars”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The food and service at Rundles is impeccable. If you are looking to have an evening you remember for a long time Rundles is your destination. Chef Neil Baxter and Sous Chef Mike Booth are an amazing team that consistently provide dishes that will haunt you.

You can't go wrong.
Jeff

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pre matinee lunch at Rundles”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had the pre fixe lunch at Rundles on Saturday, prior to the 2pm show of Fiddler on the Roof. We were a few minutes late but they were able to accommodate our wish to be finished by 1:30pm. Service was excellent even though the restaurant was full. We each had one of the four main courses and they were all excellent. I had the house made charcuterie which was delicious and a huge serving that my son finished for me. We skipped dessert but they looked great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R M, Owner at Rundles Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
Thank you for dining at our establishment, and then taking the time to review us here. We look forward to serving you in future. Cheers, The Rundles Team. (40th Season: May 27 through September 24, 2016.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rundles Restaurant also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Rundles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing