We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm place in a wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge-sur-lac B&B
Ranked #4 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm place in a wonderful place”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Auberge sur Lac was a good surprise for us: we didn't expect that it was so small, warm and beautiful. All in there is well-groomed, every little detail is in the right place and aims to make you feel at home: the teddy bear on the bed, a mountain of pillows on the bed (which I like so much!), the warm bread for breakfast along with blueberry jelly....
Highly recommended if you are in search of snuggles.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudburyparadise, Owner at Auberge-sur-lac B&B, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you so much Francesca. We loved having you and your husband here from Italy. We enjoy cultural exchange; learning from our guests as well as being as informative as we can be about our beautiful region in northern Ontario. You are welcome anytime to experience more "snuggles" with your husband ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Selecting a place to stay for our Wedding was a great decision. Having returned from our reception, at 30deg C 3 hour long photo shoot, this is exactly what we needed!

We had a shower to clean up, then took a relaxing bath in front of the bay windows facing the lake and recalled and discussed eachother's experience of the most important day in our lives.

We were greeted the following morning with coffee, fresh bread, a beautiful outdoor lakeside setting where we could sit with our coffee and look at some of our photos on our laptop.

Thank you Carmel and Tom for making our visit a great experience, and certainly won't be our last with you.

All the best!

Louis and Marie-Claude

Room Tip: The road to reach the Auberge is a bit difficult to navigate due to the road conditions. This of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudburyparadise, Owner at Auberge-sur-lac B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Chers Louis & Marie-Claude,
The double Jacuzzi with surrounding windows overlooking the lake is definitely a great place to relax especially on your wedding night. I am happy you appreciated the home-baked bread and having your coffee lakeside to look over your photos. Thanks for sharing them with us. Look forward to your future anniversaries. "Bien à vous", Carmel
P.S. the 2 kilometers off the highway to reach our B&B is narrow and curvy, so yes, slow is the key :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The host and hostess were lovely people who made you feel really at home. I especially enjoyed swimming in the lake which was at the bottom of a steep granite hill (had to climb some stairs, but that's OK-good exercise). The breakfast was a unique French Canadian dish that was made of healthy tasty ingredients. (however my teen son would have preferred greasy bacon and eggs) It was one of the best B&B experiences we have had.

We were in the blue room that had a bunk bed which was great for our family of 3 visiting but the bed frame was a bit shaky when anyone moved. I have stayed in 5 star hotels so it is difficult to compare since it is a different experience. The mattresses were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudburyparadise, Owner at Auberge-sur-lac B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Cathy,
I am happy you and your family enjoyed your unique B&B experience including the lake swim, the healthy home-baked breakfast and the bunk bed's mattresses in the Blueberry room. Eggs & bacon can certainly be requested on your next stay and the top of the bunk bed can be set on the floor. Yours truly, Carmel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Carmel and Tom were so friendly. Their lake was great to dip in.We took their advice to visit Onaping Falls and what a wonderful hike it was. After a delicious breakfast with fresh baked bread and fresh picked fruit we picnicked and swam at nearby Ramsey Lake. There's a beautiful park, garden, boardwalk and swimming areas with lots of trees for shade. We had dinner twice at 'Respect is Burning" an Italian style restaurant in Sudbury about 10 minutes away. Both dinners were amazing!! We shared wonderful stories on travel, art and photography. Thank you Carmel and Tom, for making our getaway even better than planned.
Louise & Richard

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudburyparadise, Owner at Auberge-sur-lac B&B, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you Louise & Richard for your review and for the impromptu photography lessons. You were the first we met who had the exact same camera. We really appreciated knowing more about the features of this computer-camera to add to our creativity. Hope to see you again and take the time to do a photography excursion together. SIncerely, Carmel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Not too often you run into a B&B that is high up on a rock, overlooking a beautiful lake in a quiet area. It's like being at the cottage with a wonderful breakfast served each morning.
We dropped our kayaks in just metres down the road and enjoyed an early morning paddle. The city of Sudbury is minutes away but you would not know it staying here.
Our stay was pleasant and enjoyable and would recommend to anyone looking for a B&B in the area.
Thanks Carmel and Tom!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudburyparadise, Owner at Auberge-sur-lac B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for contributing your photos since they offer another perspective of our corner of paradise. Thank you too for inspiring me to do more kayaking early in the morning. The best summer memory to date was during your stay when I had the sunrise in my back and the full moon setting in front, paddling toward a group of loons on the still water. P.S. I hope you will keep the secret regarding our fishing hole :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I found this B&B online through Trip Advisor while planning a drive around Lake Huron with stops at a different place every night. The reviews I read were more than accurate, I found. From our arrival, Carmel and Tom were extremely warm and gracious. Tom showed us all around the property outside and took us down to his dock on the lake.

The place itself was spotless and beautifully decorated. We rented the Morning Sun room with a queen bed for two and the Blueberry room for our nine year old which featured a nice bunk bed that he loved. Both rooms also featured travel information which we found very helpful in planning the next day's excursion. Carmel and Tom took the time to chat with each of us throughout our stay. They described the history of the Sudbury area and suggested day trips based on our interests. From their recommendations, we decided to visit the Big Nickel Mine the next day and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I just can't say enough about how much I loved staying here. Not only were the owners expert at making sure we were taken care of, the property itself is gorgeous with an incredible lookout over the lake.

Carmel made a delicious, satisfying and healthy breakfast the next morning that put most restaurants to shame. The healthy part was especially appreciated as it is sometimes difficult to eat well on the road!

My recommendation is that you stay at Auberge-sur-lac. My guess is you will want to come back.

Happy Travels,
Deb Landolt

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudburyparadise, Owner at Auberge-sur-lac B&B, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Deb,
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. It was heart-warming to read in detail your feedback regarding our hosting, the accommodation, the information on our beautiful area and the breakfast (my Apple & Berry Country Crisp always gets an "encore"). We have fond memories of your visit and the gift CD with your music is played regularly as a reminder. Carmel
P.S. we now have a new dock and boat so do come back for a sunset cruise on the lake :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We found this B&B via the internet, and WOW, were we made to feel like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble for the delightful owners, Carmel and Tommy. The private en suite room is luxurious, with a large jacuzzi overlooking a tranquil lake. The room and facilities were spotlessly clean, and the attention to detail was second to none. On returning from dinner in Sudbury, a great recommendation (thanks Carmel), we found the bed turned down and chocolates on the pillow. After a restful nights sleep, we were treated to a gourmet breakfast and entertained by the very likable Tommy. His tales of trips and adventures have beencommented on before, and it was a shame we didn't enjoy another evening to soak up the adventures.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudburyparadise, Owner at Auberge-sur-lac B&B, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Dear M & N,
We loved having you as our guests and we were honoured to be part of your honeymoon trip in Canada. The Sunset Suite will be available for your future anniversary celebration! Carmel & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
6.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#1 of 33 in Sudbury
725 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#15 of 33 in Sudbury
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#12 of 33 in Sudbury
150 reviews
5.0 mi away
Artisan Upstairs Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Auberge-sur-lac B&B

Property: Auberge-sur-lac B&B
Address: 1672 South Lane Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3G 1N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakefront estate with wild blueberries on the grounds, fantastic sunsets on the lake viewed from hilltop swing, upper & lower decks and Sunset Suite with double Jacuzzi. Fish, swim, lounge in the sun or shade and listen to the loons or, in the winter, ski, snowshoe & snowmobile on the nearby trails and on the lake. Relax by the fireplace & grand piano anytime. Gift certificates are available for birthdays, anniversaries and any other occasion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing