We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while in Sudbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed in sudbury for two nights while visiting Science North. Good location off the highway and not far from Science North or anything else. Great free breakfast - which is hard to find in any hotel. The only problem we experience was the wi-fi. It was incredibly slow and almost useless at times. Internet aside, great selection of TV channels to entertain the kids in the evening. Will definitely stay here again if we're in Sudbury!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Sudbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Staff was very friendly. Lobby and room was very clean. Price was a little high.....for just little rooms. Store in lobby very expensive , pop cost $3.00. Had a great breakfast ....... Great location also

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Gilberte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stopped in to this hotel 2 times while passing through Sudbury. The staff were all nice and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. It's a bit on the price side but we got a cheaper rate through our CAA and other deals could be found online as well and in looking at other area hotels, all Sudbury hotels were priced higher. The pool area was clean and the kids had a great time!! The pool was quite busy with families and towels did run out but staff always added more as soon as asked and were very helpful. Breakfast was great and staff were helpful and are was kept very clean. Would stay here again if passing though!! My only suggestion would be fridges in the rooms would be handy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianmamakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Pros: - The room was well presented. - beds and bedding were comfy, where keeping the a/c on at night was okay to match the duvet! - was offered a firm and soft pillow on each bed. This was nice to accommodate more than just one head! lol - Loved all the treats offered in the bathroom - especially the regular sized hairdryer in it's own bag vs. the little one's mounted to the wall. - Check-in was fast enough and the hotel and room's appearance was clean and well displayed/set-out. Cons: - Billing - at check in, asked if CAA could be applied to the pre-booked rate rec'd online. Was told okay. Morning after, reviewed billing at our door step only to see a higher rate. Was only given the CAA rate, which was higher than our pre-booked online rate by + $25.00. We weren't told of this at the time we questioned the CAA rate. The rate was put back to our pre-booked rate without any other reductions or compensations. What happened to their 100% satisfaction guarantee? Note to self: nothing's ever free! - Room amenities - TV issue was a concern. Problems with the TV was when trying to hook up our Wii console. TV accepted the red/yellow/white audio and video plugs for the Wii console to feed with the TV, but as soon as the Wii was turned on, the display for all menus and games were on black and white screen. This Wii was used thru the whole trip at different places and never had this problem. (Since back at home the Wii is working fine too.) The kids didn't 'care' so much of the color as they were just happy to play a game, however, if Hampton Inn's are advertised to have the over-and-above services/amenities, keeping something so simple as a game console connection should be second-nature. - Pool - towel supplies. Staff should be on a towel stock check schedule of the pool's towel inventory at many times during the day and evening, and not when guests remind them. In the evening, we had to ask for more towels at the front desk as there was a party of 7 along with us swimming and there was only two towels on the shelf. For the next morning, we had to inform the front desk that there was only 2 towels left on the shelf after our swim. There were only 6 towels on the shelf when we got in the pool area and we took ours and put them aside just in case more people came in to swim and needed them. (I would've mentioned to others to ask for some before jumping in the pool, but no one came in.) If we didn't let the front desk know, who's to say that a group of +2 might have been somewhat dissatisfied with this pool service. Pro: - Pool - towel supplies. On a plus side, regarding the morning scenario, within minutes of telling the desk, we saw a service staff walking towards the pool with a dozen or so towels to stock the shelf as we walked to catch the elevator to our room. Kudos to that! There is also an awesome pizza place that you can order from and they deliver right to your room without any front desk calling you or you having to come down to get the order. They're well known with the hotel and their pizza's were awesome! I wish I could share the name, but the hotel would know as they highly recommend them!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Marc-Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnyseG, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and providing your comments through Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback from guests, such as yourself, so we can continue to improve. I also wanted to take this opportunity to speak with you regarding our televisions. Our televisions only take component (red/green/blue cables for video display) where the wii only has the yellow cable for picture resulting in the system working however, like you experienced, no colour picture. Other systems, like PlayStation and Xbox, have an HDMI input which our televisions also have, so these systems work fine. I'm very sorry you were disappointed about this, and I hope this clears up any concerns you had regarding the televisions.

I also wanted to mention that we appreciate your comments regarding the pool towels. Our laundry staff work as fast as they can, and we will remind them to frequently check the pool towel stock to avoid these situations. I am glad we were able to correct your rate and we hope to see you again in for near future.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at anyse.gagnon@hilton.com.

Sincerely,
Anyse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stay at Hampton Inns whenever possible, as they never disappoint. While not disappointed with our stay, it definitely ranked as one of the more expensive nights at a Hampton Inn. The carpets on the third floor hallway and in our room were dirty, stained, and worn. Far below the Hilton standard. The beds were old...if you sat on the corner of the mattress you sank down to the floor. The bedding (duvet) had obviously been washed and dried as all the padding had bunched into the centre of each square creating a funny golf ball appearance. While the room was clean, and the sheets were fresh, there wasn't the assortment of pillows that was advertised. All were soft and disappeared when you lay your head on them. However--I'm only being this picky because of the price. I've stayed at nicer Hampton Inns for less than the $155 paid here. The breakfast was wonderful, the pool was enjoyed by our kids, the room was quiet, the location convenient. However, I would only stay again after investigating the prices at other Sudbury hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGM_10, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests; actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback. The next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.

Thank you,
Peter Nykilchuk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We always look for Hampton's when we travel. Staff is great, rooms are comfortable, gym is petite but has everything you need. Consistency is key. We know what to expect and haven't been disapointed so far.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marguerite T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Location-good. Room- old decor, not very clean, I had to call housekeeping to come and vaccum our room, there was mold in the bathroom. There is no restaurant or bar at the hotel. Walls were paper thin. I could hear the next door people talk. Pool- dirty. Hair everywhere on the floor around pool. Overall impression - not tidy. I am not a clean freak, but this hotel was way below average.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnyseG, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were not impressed with our rooms. This is not our standard and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper who will be reviewing this with her team.

I would love to speak with you further regarding this stay. Please contact me at anyse.gagnon@hilton.com so we can discuss this in detail.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
3.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
2.9 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sudbury

Address: 2280 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 0B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sudbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range: £83 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn by Hilton, situated at the Gateway to the City of Sudbury with warm furnishings, comfortable surroundings and meaningful extras...We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing