We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadiana Motel

Canadiana Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canadiana Motel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and clean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

we needed a place to stay in Sudbury & did not know the city at all. We had a couple of places we wanted to see & Canadiana Motel was in the right area. Very reasonable price, excellent service. Even though the road by the Motel was busy, the room was very quiet & comfortable, I would recommend it. And most convenient is the TIM HORTON'S right across the street. Every canadian can enjoy coffee if you stay here.

Room Tip: The king size room are biggest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our group came here for a stay because everywhere else was sold out in Sudbury. This was an awful decision. The first thing we saw on the sign was "newly renovated". This could have been true if the year was 1976. This hotel is a dump. Our room smelled like smoke, and there were kids in the room. The unbearable stench couldn't be masked, so we could not sleep. The beds are very uncomfortable and the sinks and the bathroom is scary. This is absolutely the worst place anyone could have been to. Also on the sign, it claims free wifi, but the wifi doesn't get to the rooms!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sudbury hotels

Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Overall I had a wonderful experience at the Canadiana Motel. The staff was very friendly and most helpful with my inquires. The room was clean and well kept and all the appliances functional. I will be staying here again when I return. A bright spot in town. Canadiana, you're welcome!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

i dont get it , anyone that says this place is great must live in a dump , the place claims to be newly renovated , the only thing i saw that looked new was ceiling lights , everything else was old , the tv the old dirty smelly couch the hard bed , the holiday inn plastic glasses , you name it it was old and smelly , to say newly renovated is clearly false advertising , the rooms are depressing and run badly ,for $80 a night trust me you have much better choices ( like your car ) it was most likely a nice place in the 60s but who ever runs that place now clearly does not have the funds to do a good job , or is to greedy to actualy fix the place so it can become a real motel , knowing what i know now i wouldnt pay $40 for this place , its amazing in this world of internet people can still get away with ripping people off like this . words of advice , if you find yourself stuck and you have to stay there ....buy a tent , its cheaper !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great experience here. My room was very clean, quiet and had everything I need (fridge, wi-fi, and desk). Staff were very helpful to me and motel is in a convenient location near restaurants. From what I could tell when looking up places to stay, it has one of the lowest rates for motels/hotels in Sudbury and if I go to Sudbury again I will be going back to the Canadiana Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The place is best you can define in the town, The staff is very friendly. The have free Wi-Fi which is pretty good and right across the motel there is Tim Horton's which every Canadian would love to have coffee there.The rooms are very comfortable and spacious!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The price was about $80 for the dirty room. The rooms were clearly designed in the 60s and the tv looked like it was as well. There was old crusty food on the floor, the beds were hard and did not at smell remotely fresh. There was only 1 small soap and 1 small shampoo that were clearly stolen from other hotels. The towels smelt moldy. There was no coffee provided just small cups clearly labelled Holiday Inn. There was no listings anywhere that no guests were allowed until we checked in to the motel. This is insane for any motel especially one that looks like a place that hookers would frequent. The place advertised free wifi, however it had a password that was not posted anywhere. When we got there we were literally the only car in the whole parking lot. It looked like we were the only customers that night (which should have tipped us off) I had to track down the clerk, which wasn't easy then when we did find her we had to wait for her to finish her phone call (my boyfriend and I stood there for literally 15 mins, we were checking our phones for the time since we had plans to meet with friends that we previously didn't know couldn't come to our motel and wanted to use the wifi that night when we got back). We got there late and already had plans with friends so we just decided to spend the night and never go back. In the morning when checking out we advised to clerk of the old crusty food on the floor and she actually said " oh well you should've come and got me earlier" yes because we should have done something about our unclean room at 1:00 am, after we paid for a clean one. When we advised her that the room was unclean and asked for a discount on the price, she proceeded to argue with us saying no and that the room was clean and we should have gotten her earlier. She actually raised her voice and tried to tell us that regardless of the food and dirt left in our room it was clean and should have to pay full price. After some arguing back and forth she finally offered 10% off our next stay, like we would ever go back to a dirty motel with horrible service. When I told her that was not acceptable and that we had not received what we paid for right then and wanted this resolved now she went on to say oh well the other rooms are clean and that she was unable to do that for us. Finally after us not leaving and asking for a discount she provided about $7.50 back onto our card. She was dismissive, rude about it, yelled, tried to justify the dirty room and her actions. The service was the worst ever experienced and the room was dirty. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryjane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value inn - Sudbury
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#7 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Fireside Inn
Imperial Fireside Inn
#17 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pioneer Inn
Pioneer Inn
#25 of 32 in Sudbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadiana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadiana Motel

Property: Canadiana Motel
Address: 965 Lorne St, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadiana Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Canadiana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing