We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definenitely not my Idea of a home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Sault Ste. Marie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definenitely not my Idea of a home away from home”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

In the room and hallways I found the carpets in need of a professional steam-cleaning. The kleenex dispenser is right beside the toilet and gets sprayed by urine which causes rusty spots. Dusting wasn't done in the 3 nights I did spend there and one day the used cups were still in the room and there were no new cups.
The front desk advised me that the carped may be stained, but still clean? I was also advised the cleaning staff had gone home and there was nothing she could do about it. Dust was thick and never cleaned.
The friendly staff could be seen taking food from the buffet table and eating in the bar area.
Television sets are small and old with terrible channel selection and there was no way to hook up your computer to the TV (no HDMI)
the food was mediocre, desserts were all store bought with the exception of a couple of cakes. Good salad selections.

This place needs a total makeover, restaurant manager, housekeeping manager, and frankly a new owner and hotel manager in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try get rooms with higher numbers closer to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zingster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us. I sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not a great one, and will certainly pass along your comments to the staff. We strive to make each guest`s experience a pleasant one, and once again I am sorry to see that your stay was not a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    31
    24
    17
    14
See reviews for
35
19
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manasota Key, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Old style box TV's dirty carpets,dirty windows. side entrance covered in a bed of cigarette butts, sorry we stayed here. This Hotel needs a major overhaul. The one redeeming feature was the breakfast, well priced, well cooked, and generous portions.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before commiting to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. My sincere apologies that not everything was perfect with your stay. Renovations are ongoing and I hope you will give us another chance to impress you on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sudbury hotels

Greater Sudbury
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The carpet was stained and dirty, the room smelled strongly like something I couldn't decipher, the bathroom smelled like pee and was very much out of date. The air conditioner's air wasn't fresh, it also had a smell. I will never stay in this hotel again. For the money that I paid, I have stayed at better places. Two points was generous.



  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marisol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay at our hotel. Please feel free to contact the front desk with any issues you may have while staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parry sound
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The management are very helpful ... the rooms are quite clean ... and the restaurant is terrific! It's a short walk or drive to the 'inner city' so the location is good. The mattresses are the best ever. The only downside was that I was unable to get internet service in my room.

Room Tip: I was on the lower level .. great for getting to and from my vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the issue you had with the intermittent wi-fi, and would like to inform you that the problem has been fixed for future guests. I am very happy to see that you were completely satisfied with the rest of your stay and hope we are able to host you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at this Howard Johnson for one night while travelling through Sudbury. We had a room with a King sized bed which was very clean and comfortable. The original room that we received had a problem picking up the wifi signal. When I mentioned it to the staff, the manager Glen immediately showed up with a set of keys to another room. Now that is customer service. Thanks to the staff at Howard Johnson's for making our stay in Sudbury pleasurable.

Room Tip: If you have heavy or a lot of luggage you might want to request a bottom floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMedKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that your issue was rectified promptly and properly. We thank you sincerely for your time and your business and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Convenient location on the road from Upper Michigan to Toronto, near the highway with large comfortable rooms and very friendly, helpful front desk staff. Room on the end was too far for any WIFI reception. Had to walk up the hall to get a signal. A bit expensive for the location, but all we needed was a place to sleep on the road to Toronto and HJ provided that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikewega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your comments with us. I am glad you were warmly treated by the front desk staff, and I sincerely apologize you had an issue with the wifi during your recent stay.

I will certainly look into the issue that you experienced, and hope that we get another chance to serve you in the future. I hope the rest of your trip went off without a hitch, and once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Beds were comfy and great and so was the size of the room. Room had a strange smell to it and bathroom way too small. Had a difficult time shutting the door Needs a bit of up keeping. Price of the room is too high

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
We would like to first take the opportunity to thank you for your time. Without guests such as yourself taking time out of their busy schedule to provide us feedback, it makes meeting expectations much more difficult. Having said that, we apologize that you had an issue with your bedroom during your recent stay with us. We strive to make sure that each guest feels welcome and comfortable during their time with us. We hope that upcoming renovations will rectify your concerns and would welcome the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel once again.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#1 of 32 in Sudbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Hotel - Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Hotel - Sudbury

Property: Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
Address: 50 Brady St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 1C8, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lexington Hotel - Sudbury 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sudbury, our newly renovated and modernized hotel and conference center is a home away from home for all of our guests. Our number one priority is creating an exceptional guest experience. We want you to feel the comforts of home mixed with the luxuries of traveling. All of our guests enjoy our on site full service restaurant and exchange bar, free hot buffet breakfast, free WI-FI and free parking. We also have a business center and fitness center on the property as well as a section designated for travelers with pets. Within walking distance of the Sudbury Arena, Sudbury Theater Center and many local restaurants. Close to Health Science North, the IMAX and many other attractions that Sudbury has to offer. From everyone at the Lexington Hotel, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lexington Hotel - Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Sudbury
Sudbury Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing