We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs major renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here in Feb, and will never stay here again. The hotel had less than 10 people including staff. It is an old and dirty hotel that needs major renovation. The mattresses provide no support, the toilet floods and the shower ties and tub are cracked. Staff and meeting space was nice.

Room Tip: stay on the first floor, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you were treated well by the staff and that you found our meeting room to be nice. Renovations are about to be done to the rooms, so I apologize to you that your room was below standard. Should your travels take you this way again, please feel free to contact me directly to book your room if you wish to give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for four days to attend a course. It was conveniently located, staff were polite and helpful.
Room was clean and spacious. The restaurant provided adequate meals at a fair price. Thank you for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvroadtrips4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate our guests comments and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can host you again on your next visit to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights on business, will never book here again, I had a rusty hole, yes a hole in my bath tub, toilet didn't work properly and shower tiles were cracked and fixed with some sort of glue, oh and room smelt like musty old feet! Save your time, stay at a new hotel you will pay the same!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Jcraft79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns with us regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable, and please feel free to contact me directly should you be travelling to our district again. I would relish the opportunity to correct the wrongs you have experienced on your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This Howard Johnson is like many others tired, 1980's everything. It's clean, basic, no pool. Sunday brunch was from the 80's too, wedding in the hotel was 80's too. & so was the price 80 for the night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us. I will insure that your comments are delivered to the proper people and hope we can be of service to you on any future travel plans you have to our region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

In the room and hallways I found the carpets in need of a professional steam-cleaning. The kleenex dispenser is right beside the toilet and gets sprayed by urine which causes rusty spots. Dusting wasn't done in the 3 nights I did spend there and one day the used cups were still in the room and there were no new cups.
The front desk advised me that the carped may be stained, but still clean? I was also advised the cleaning staff had gone home and there was nothing she could do about it. Dust was thick and never cleaned.
The friendly staff could be seen taking food from the buffet table and eating in the bar area.
Television sets are small and old with terrible channel selection and there was no way to hook up your computer to the TV (no HDMI)
the food was mediocre, desserts were all store bought with the exception of a couple of cakes. Good salad selections.

This place needs a total makeover, restaurant manager, housekeeping manager, and frankly a new owner and hotel manager in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try get rooms with higher numbers closer to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zingster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us. I sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not a great one, and will certainly pass along your comments to the staff. We strive to make each guest`s experience a pleasant one, and once again I am sorry to see that your stay was not a pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Old style box TV's dirty carpets,dirty windows. side entrance covered in a bed of cigarette butts, sorry we stayed here. This Hotel needs a major overhaul. The one redeeming feature was the breakfast, well priced, well cooked, and generous portions.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before commiting to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveandgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. My sincere apologies that not everything was perfect with your stay. Renovations are ongoing and I hope you will give us another chance to impress you on your next trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The carpet was stained and dirty, the room smelled strongly like something I couldn't decipher, the bathroom smelled like pee and was very much out of date. The air conditioner's air wasn't fresh, it also had a smell. I will never stay in this hotel again. For the money that I paid, I have stayed at better places. Two points was generous.



  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marisol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Hotel - Sudbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay at our hotel. Please feel free to contact the front desk with any issues you may have while staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#11 of 33 in Sudbury
553 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sudbury
258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Hotel - Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Hotel - Sudbury

Address: 50 Brady St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 1C8, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: £62 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lexington Hotel - Sudbury 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sudbury, our newly renovated and modernized hotel and conference center is a home away from home for all of our guests. Our number one priority is creating an exceptional guest experience. We want you to feel the comforts of home mixed with the luxuries of traveling. All of our guests enjoy our on site full service restaurant and exchange bar, free hot buffet breakfast, free WI-FI and free parking. We also have a business center and fitness center on the property as well as a section designated for travelers with pets. Within walking distance of the Sudbury Arena, Sudbury Theater Center and many local restaurants. Close to Health Science North, the IMAX and many other attractions that Sudbury has to offer. From everyone at the Lexington Hotel, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lexington Hotel - Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Sudbury
Sudbury Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing