We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly standard Super 8”
Review of Super 8 Sudbury ON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Sudbury ON
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here en route to Timmins, July 26. We booked on-line using the Wyndham site, without any problems. Able to use the CAA rate, which was $10.00 cheaper. Our room was on the first floor, non-smoking, close to the middle door into the parking lot and right beside the laundry. We were worried it might be noisy, but around 7:30pm the laundry is finished, so it was not a problem. No odours from the laundry, but there was a problem with smokers going outside to smoke right near the doors - the odour and smoke wafted into our room, as we like the windows open to get "fresh" air into our room.

The check-in was easy and polite. All staff dealings were courteous and efficient.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was slightly larger than many motel style rooms, which was nice. The shower was good, with lots of hot water and easy to control shower. I would say that the rooms are slightly dated, but clean, so that's what's more important to me.

We had two double beds in our room, and only 3 pillows per bed. We "borrowed" pillows from the second bed. I can't figure out why Super 8 only puts 3 pillows on each bed, when most people like to use at least 2 pillows, especially if they sit up and read. It's not a problem if only one bed is being used.

There was a fridge and microwave in the room, as well as a coffee maker - never as good as home, but my husband usually only puts half the water in those machines in order to get a decent cup of coffee!

The wifi worked really well until around 9pm when most people were in their rooms, probably all trying to access the internet. Then it was slow and choppy. In the morning, it worked more consistently.

We ate dinner at Herbert's Fisheries in the plaza next door. They also have a Killarney restaurant where we have eaten - some of the best fish and chips we have ever had. Very handy to be right next door to the Super 8. (It is a bit pricey for fish and chips, but it's worth it.)

Breakfast was the normal, simple Super 8 breakfast. The toaster only had one slot working in it, so there was a long wait to get toast or bagels. I hope they have fixed it by now. There was some fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagels, waffles and sickly sweet muffins. I must admit, I still cringe every time we stay at a Super 8 and have to use throw-away plates, cutlery and cups. I would pay more if it meant using china dishes, etc, and silverware. Or recyclable (paper plates, not styrofoam). The waste is quite upsetting.

The location is handy to everything in Sudbury. So, as I said, a fairly standard, basic Super 8. I would stay here if I am in Sudbury again.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the middle exit doors on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It was the worse hotel I have ever stayed in my 54 years! It smelled so bad was very dirty and the breakfast was bagels not toasted as the toaster was not working and they ran out of everything before 8.30 am!! But the absolute worse was they ran out of toilet paper yes that's right felt bad for the maid she was embarrassed!

Room Tip: Run!! Away quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Minniespike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Both smoking and non-smoking floors and rooms smell like Smoking, needs new carpets.
Breakfast tables were not even cleaned by staff between customer use.
Your elbows were dipping in the last customers breakfast jam. Went to manager's desk which is 6 feet away from tables to have her call staff to clean tables..... she laughed and nothing was done! Only 8 breakfast tables to serve around 200 rooms, you ended up eating standing up.
No tables or seats outside available. A small 4 slice ordinary toaster for 200 guests...GET WITH THE PROGRAM and buy industrial moving toaster! you make enough money for it!!

Super 8 gets a Super 2 from me and got my last visit until the chain goes out of business for this particular location.

Room Tip: Simple... go to another Hotel chain like just down the road on Regent.. Holliday Inn!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelDickeD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel in advance of a long trip around Lake Huron, my only complaint was we were traveling with dogs and the hotel's policy is not stated clearly. The hotel does allow dogs and there is no limit regarding size or number, but their policy is to put you in a smoking room. The smoking rooms are clean but there is definitely a residual odor that is present upon arrival. Fortunately we were able to purge the smell using the window AC/Heat unit and the bathroom's fart fan, add to that the persistent dog aroma and the smell was almost unnoticeable by the next morning.

Overall the hotel was pleasant and accommodating, I would stay here again if traveling through Sudbury.

Room Tip: Beware of pet policy: they put you in smoking rooms. If you are opposed to this, I advise checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value inn - Sudbury
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#14 of 33 in Sudbury
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#11 of 33 in Sudbury
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sudbury ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sudbury ON

Address: 1956 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sudbury ON 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Southridge Mall, Laurentian University and Countryside Arena Book with our Super 8 Sudbury ON hotel for value and convenience when you are on the road. Our Sudbury hotel offers easy access to Sudbury attractions like Science North and Dynamic Earth, Big Nickel Mine, shopping and restaurants. Start each morning with a free SuperStart continental breakfast, free newspaper and a cup of joe for the road from our 24-hour coffee and tea station. Stretch out and relax in your spacious room with free Wi-Fi, cable TV or room service. Feel free to pull up in your truck or RV - we have ample free parking for any size vehicle and valet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sudbury ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Super 8 Sudbury
Super Eight Sudbury
Sudbury Super Eight
Sudbury Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing