We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Sandford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Needed to stay close to Sudbury hospital while my daughter was undergoing surgery. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant starting when I called to make the reservation and when I needed to extend my stay. Will definitely stay again. Great location and amenities

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for sharing your feedback and we are delighted we were able to accommodate you. I sincerely hope your daughter is on the mend. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    74
    71
    34
    46
See reviews for
125
48
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elliot Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel Was DISGUSTING! We entered with our baby to a lobby full of intoxicated guests. Bed Bugs were found in my fathers room (he was there receiving radiation for cancer) and my daughter and mother were both bitten by said vermin and the Executive House Keeper there told us my daughter was not bitten by a bed bug, she also said she should know she's from Mexico. There was a hair from down under found on the lamp shade in the room I was sleeping in with my infant and the shower we never used had hair in it. There were also intoxicated people staggering down the halls, elevators and stairwells. Not to mention they had "Security" patrolling and they did nothing of the inebriated guests swerving up and down the halls. I've read previous reviews and know the Staff will tell you TravelLodge doesn't always cater to everyones tastes or needs, but they should cater to someones especially people travelling with families. There was a hockey tournament going on and the hotel staff had no disregard for the children being subjected to the partying guest roaming around. The sheer fact that we were talked to like we knew nothing was disgraceful, they apparently know everything about bedbugs( seeing as they've been battling them for a while now). The Spiel that falls out of the staffs mouth about their being trained in bed bugs writhers into a dark corner like snakes. I would never ask anyone to stay here especially if you have children! Don't waste your money on the TravelLodge in Sudbury!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mezhakwat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Mezhakwat M. We take any bed bug complaint very seriously and take every step necessary to resolve the issue. As requested, I have sent you the report from Orkin Canada clearly stating that neither your room nor your father’s room presented with any signs of bed bugs. I have also sent you information on how to identify bed bugs so that you too can be informed. Should you have the doctor’s note that I requested, please send it to me. I would be happy to discuss it with you.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sudbury hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

From booking on I should have guessed to go elsewhere. Their group rate is more than I can book online for!
The staff at the front counter made me seem like I was bothering them by checking in.
The pool area should be marked as under construction!
The pool will leave you with a very strong chemical smell on you!
There was a certain ugly smell thru some of the hallways.
I then went up to my room with my kids and listened to security or whatever you might call a young person wearing a vest argue with parents in the hall about drinking in their rooms and not to bug other guest which I was. The people were not a problem until this security showed up as I already had two young kids in bed sleeping no problem.
Trust me when I say do not stay here when you are planning any type of team event nor want customer service based on what I heard in the hallway.
If I was not reminded twice about their 48 hour cancelation policy I would definitely go elsewhere as I do not lie giving money were it is not appreciated.
Please be aware that the staff have all of the token policy based lines at I swear read off cue cards and some was true while other comments were a young person under pressure cracking.

To the GM that likes to respond to these complaints I do not want a response nor will I respond to one as I feel your answers are very stock and robot like and generally not listening to the complaints.
I will choose to spend my hotel dollars elsewhere as I have in my previous visits to Sudbury.

Good luck if you book here and consider yourself warned.

Trust me when I say go to the next listing online.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Oh Warren – how can I not respond?? At the risk of sounding robot like, the reason I like to respond to comments is to show our guests that we appreciate all feedback, good or bad and to help our online community understand some of the workings of a hotel. So let’s start with the obvious. Hotel rates are based on the very basic economic principle of supply and demand. I can guarantee that you would not have been able to book your room type at a lesser price online. I can also guarantee that if you ever find a less expensive price online, we are more than happy to not only match that rate, but remove any of the online restrictions attached to reservation that way. The signs regarding renovations to the pool have been posted throughout the hotel since the beginning of December. The work is almost complete and it looks fabulous. Considering the amount of kids in the hotel while you were here, we didn’t think it wise to close it but rather ensure that the area was safe and that our guests could enjoy it. The person wearing the vest was indeed security. He is a licensed, experienced security guard. We do find it necessary to have security in the hotel to provide a safe, comfortable stay for all our guests. As I am sure you can appreciate, guests expect a quiet, restful night. There are times when we must take appropriate action to make sure that happens. Security was responding to several complaints from a room in your area. I am certain that if you had a complaint about a noisy guest, you would expect security to respond as well. After speaking with a number of our guests, including some of your team members, the security presence was appreciated and affective. I am disappointed Warren that your stay with us was not what it should have been. It is certainly not the experience we like to deliver. I trust this reply was not too stock for you. Should you wish to discuss, please contact me directly.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wikwemikong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. I always get the king suite. Room is always clean, bed and pillows are comfortable, flat screen TV and free wifi allows me to hook up my Xbox 360 and enjoy one of my favourite hobbies. The pool and hot tub are as close to paradise you're going to get for their low prices and great deals. I always stay at this hotel for all my business and pleasure trips.

Room Tip: Ask for the Deluxe King Jacuzzi Suite. Epic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi Mark. If we had a favorite guest list, you’d be on it! Thank you for staying with us time and time again. Your repeat visits prove that we are doing something right. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and recommendation with our on-line community. We’re looking forward to your next visit.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times and never been disappointed. They have tried to give us the room we ask for when possible. The substitute was also very good. Recent renos to units
have been excellent, especially the bathrooms. New carpeting is also very nice. We love the size of the pool and the hours are lovely. Having an onsite restaurant is a plus. Location of hotel is very convenient for us because of family. We will staying there again in the near future.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny, higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrye355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you Harry and Jeannine! Thank you for coming back and thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and I am delighted that the renovations are to your liking. We do indeed do our best to accommodate all requests. If you’re happy – we’re happy! We’ll see you soon.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I have to admit I wasn't expecting a lot. Hotel rooms were hard to find as it was OFSAA weekend. I paid more for my room than I have for a night at the Weston Harbour Castle in Toronto, but the room was clean, warm and comfortable, and as I was traveling alone with three children, that was fine. What stood out for me was the service. It was a very busy night, and my request for an extra pillow and blanket was forgotten. Not a major deal in the grand scheme of things, but it did make my night with two small children in my bed restless. When I expressed my concern as I was checking out, my complaint was taken seriously and courteously. I really just wanted someone to hear me out, and they went above and beyond. Very nice and very kind to the weary travellor. Overall, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi there Cindapedia. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Although the OFSAA weekend was a busy one, I am sorry that your extra pillow and blanket were forgotten. Your comments have served as a training tool to ensure that all guests’ requests are delivered. I will certainly share your kind words regarding the service you received with our team. Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My 5 year old daughter and I stayed 1 night while travelling through. The nicer hotels were booked up as it was a last minute booking so I thought we would give it a try as it had a pool for my daughter. The hallways are smelly and dated. The rooms are even worse. The bathroom is dingy and mouldy. I didn't even want to use the shower it was so bad. The heater was old outdated loud contraption under the window. The windows were sweating and making puddles of water on the heater which I felt was a fire hazard. Also there was a lamp in the corner of the room unplugged. When I plugged it in to get some light in the dingy room it started shorting and sparking which explains why it was unplugged. It should have been removed and replaced! Another fire hazard. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere. This is one of the worst I've seen.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellatraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Bellatravaller80, I am disappointed to hear about your recent stay with us. This is not the quality of service that we strive to deliver every day to every guest. Our maintenance team does a wonderful job at keeping our rooms safe and in great condition. When guests encounter issues and the Hotel is made aware, our response time is immediate. All calls are logged and followed-up on. Although I am unable to locate your reservation or the call regarding your issues, our team has inspected all lamps and lights to ensure safety. Our guests well-being is of utmost importance to us. We hope to welcome your back in the future.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
0.3 mi away
Travelway Inn Sudbury
Travelway Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sudbury

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Address: 1401 Paris St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3B6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true Northern hospitality at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury. We are committed to providing our guests with outstanding service and complete comfort. We have what you are looking for: indoor heated pool, hot tub, complimentary wireless internet, free passes to GoodLife Fitness, convenient free parking and large comfortable rooms. The hotel offers 138 rooms including 35 suites. Perkins Restaurant & Bakery has the perfect family feast – breakfast, lunch or dinner and is open 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. daily. Just minutes away from the Sudbury Regional Hospital, shopping and Sudbury’s most exciting attractions Science North and Dynamic Earth. Proud to be 100% smoke free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sudbury
Travel Lodge Sudbury
Sudbury Travelodge
Sudbury Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing