We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My family and I stayed at the Towneplace Suites the weekend of October 28 to 30th for a family wedding.

From the outside it looks like your average discount hotel. Quite the opposite. Inside it was very nicely furnished, well decorated and VERY comfortable for sleeping.

The pool was great for the kids, they loved the fast water slide and the hot tub. Breakfast in the morning was your typical continental fare, but it was more than good enough for our gang.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vroom_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    119
    27
    11
    17
See reviews for
171
61
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is a rather pricey alternative for a one night stay, but the room was clean and well-appointed. There is an indoor swimming pool and it appeared it had reached capacity with lots of noisy kids. Our guess was hotel guests had invited friends living in the area. Breakfast the next morning was more of the same......way too many kids in a much too small an area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYA6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We usually stay at the Fairfield Inn and Suites when we stay in Sudbury, but decided to try something different. The Towneplace Suites is very new (less than a year, I think). Everything was still shiny and new and will hopefully stay that way. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the amenities, but we saw the pool and it looks awesome. Hopefully next time we are in town, we will make a point of using it.
Check in was very easy - not your typical lobby 'look' but very simple and functional and I liked that the lobby did not take over a large space in the hotel.
We had a king bed, mini kitchen (full size fridge, 2 burner stove and dishwasher) and a pullout couch. It was a little cramped for 3, but we were really only sleeping there, so it was more than fine. The bathroom is very nice and has a large closet with a safe. If you're staying for an extended amount of time, there is lots of storage.
The hotel was very clean and we all felt very comfortable. Breakfast was included, but since we stayed during the weekend, it was only a cold continential (cereals, breads, muffins, instant oatmeal, friut, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea) which was very nice and all we really needed. During the week they offer a hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc.).
We will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed at the hotel while relocating to Sudbury from Montreal. I arrived on January 6th and I believe the hotel opened on December 21st or so, about 3 weeks before I checked-in. The room was gorgeous, the bedding was ultra comfortable. I had a huge king size bed to myself. There were very few people in the hotel and it was very quiet. The kitchenette in the room was so handy because there is nothing worse than eating out for every single meal day after day. I was able to drive to a grocery store and buy anything and cook nice meals for cheap and have left-overs to take to work the next day. The kitchen was stocked with all the usual plates and silverware, pots and pans and even rubbermaid containers to store your leftovers.

The shining stars of the hotel however were the staff. They were mostly pretty young but over-the-top polite, always calling me Miss, asking me how my day was, always a "good morning" or "good evening" or "have a great day". When they found out I was apartment hunting they went online and printed ads for me, pointed out all the desirable places to live and which areas to avoid, always asked me how the search was going. One lady even brought me an application for her building. They were getting ready to open the waterslide and I was real excited, they called me multiple times a day to give me status updates on the slide's opening and thanks to them I was the first paying guest on that sucker!

A huge bonus was the included continental breakfast. Oatmeal, bagels, toast, cereal, yogurt. Was nice! I absolutely loved my stay and have to say I was sad to go. I missed their smiling faces and chatter.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volcanogrrl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbhayBhargava, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sudbury, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
On behalf of the entire team here at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott, Sudbury; Thank You! We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. We’re so pleased to learn that you have successfully relocated and we were able to make your experience even a little bit smoother during such an important stage in your life. While our fully equipped kitchens and expanded breakfast selection are essential to a successful stay away from home, I must agree that our service-oriented staff make the difference! Their passion for Marriott’s ‘Spirit to Serve’ philosophy is very apparent in making the entire stay an experience.

We welcome you to drop by any time.

Yours in hospitality,

Abhay Bhargava
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very nice room and very clean had lots of space and extras. We asked for a quiet room and was given one facing the road. I was to tired to go ask for another room and had my ear plugs so just remained. You would think if someone asked for a quite room they would put you away from a busy road. Aircon very noisey as well. Everything else was great so if you want quiet bring ear plugs. Also price was high 149.00.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel is quite new, and still apparently has some "rough edges" that need to be worn off. I've read others reviews about problems with the door handles, and we had the exact same issue. We at first thought there was already someone in our room, but the front desk told us that there were some issues, and she'd get the maintenance person to show us how to get into our room. Kind of odd - but once he showed us the trick, we were at least able to get the door open - not always on the first try, and it was a pain in the butt if you had your arms full - but a fairly minor issue overall (hubby grumbled about it quite a bit - but I took it in stride). The rooms are beautiful and the staff keep them very clean.

The only other issue with the property, is the fact that the pool is extremely small - the capacity for the pool area is only 25 people, and it can be a challenge to get in to the pool area when the water slide is open (5pm to 9pm during the week, 9am to 1pm on weekends) - our children were extremely disappointed our first night, as we tried twice in an hour long period to get into the pool - but gave up as it was 8:30 and the slide was closed by 9 anyway. We just decided to go during dinner time and have a late dinner. Big thumbs up to the lifeguards they had on duty to supervise the water slide!

Overall, we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draddus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was a last minute substitution on our tour and for some reason our previously booked accomodation would not let us make an amendment, only a complete cancellation.

We booked a one bed suite. Probably the smallest bedroom I've seen, but overall it was practical and functional and the suite provided everything that we were looking for. This was the halfway point for our tour of Ontarion and our main priority here was on site laundry!

Not sure why modern builds such as this and Fairfield Inn have to install such noisy room aircon units. Presumably cheaper than a proper installation for the whole building. We had to turn the bedroom unit off to stand any chance of a good night's sleep.

Reception staff were pleasant and efficient, and all other staff acknowledged you.

Breakfast was very limited, but in line with this type of establishment. OK so long as you're OK with cereal (in plastic bowls), yoghurt, toast, etc.

Overall, better than a standard motel, but I felt overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
505 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#1 of 33 in Sudbury
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
180 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sudbury

Property: TownePlace Suites Sudbury
Address: 1710 Kingsway, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 0E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sudbury
#4 Business Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sudbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the TownePlace Suites by Marriott® conveniently located on the Kingsway at Falconbridge Road. TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Sudbury is an all-suites hotel perfect for an extended stay. Relax and feel at home in one of our suites with a fully equipped kitchen, well designed desk and work area complete with complimentary high-speed Internet access and daily Healthy Start breakfast. We feature an indoor pool and water slide (Slide hours are: Fridays 5pm-9pm, Saturdays 9am-1pm also 5pm-9pm and Sundays 9am-1pm) Please contact the hotel for holiday scheduling. We have meeting rooms, fitness facility and lobby lounge. Pets are welcome; a CAD$10 per day (maximum $100 plus taxes per stay) non-refundable fee applies. For business, leisure and extended stays our thoughtful amenities and staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sudbury Hotel Sudbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing