We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for first few times.....”
Review of Science North

Science North
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let your imagination soar at Science North! Explore the fun side of science in your everyday life at Northern Ontario's most popular tourist attraction. A newly designed and renovated 3rd floor Northern Ecosystems exhibit gets you up close to our resident beaver, porcupine, skunk and much more! Visit the new nocturnal room and see what flying squirrels and bats do at night! Don't miss live science shows, special exhibits, IMAX(R) 3D, the digital Planetarium, the F. Jean MacLeod Butterfly Gallery, and four floors of interactive science experiences.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for first few times.....”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Science North is a great place for field trips... for the first few times.... if you have never been there, it is a great place to learn and you should definatley go to one of the show in the magic theatre or whatever its called. I have been there over 50 times for school field trips and other things, but its always the same and it gets really really boring. IF YOU ARE A TRAVELLER, SCIECE NORTH IS EXCELLENT! but seriously after 50 times can't teachers think of something else????????

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Puppylover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Manager at Science North, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi PuppyLover123,

Thank you for the recommendation. We do update our science labs in addition to bringing in a new temporary 6000 square foot exhibit at least once a year. As we are a large science centre, I can see how it can be easy to assume most areas stay the same.

We employ a large team of Staff Scientists who you would recognize as our 'Bluecoats'- these are staff who have high level education and training in a particular science discipline and are the one who develop and deliver the interactive school programming. Teachers continue to book field trips with us because these programs are a fun way for their students to learn science and they fulfill the science curriculum strands that they need to cover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    187
    36
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super fun place”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Science North is such a fun interactive place to visit. I loved going there as a kid and I recently visited it for the first time as an adult with my nephew and it is just as good. The third floor has tons of animals and the staff is so helpful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane12345615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Manager at Science North, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Jane! Happy to hear we still meet your expectations. Hope you get a change to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Corner, NS
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Only complaint is the price - over $180 for 3 adults and 2 toddlers. Better to buy an annual family pass. Great exhibits, lots of bathrooms, great staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GenuineBluenosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee L, Guest Relations Manager at Science North, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, it is great value to purchase a membership! The membership includes unlimited access to both Science North and Dynamic Earth as well as discounts in food, retail, IMAX, Planetarium, Camps, and programs! Plus, free admission to other Canadian and US Science Centres and Museums -visit our website to find out more www.sciencenorth.ca/members

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went as two adults, looking for something to do in the Great White North ;)
So much fun! Way better than the Ontario Science Centre. So much hands on, clean, interactive. We spent hours here. A must see! Great package rate combined with Dynamic Earth.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LissyAnn_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Manager at Science North, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi LyssyAnn_77,

I was really pleasantly surprised to see your comment today considering that you visited us in February. How cool is it that your visit with us had a lasting impression. I hope that if you are ever passing through, you will check us out again.

Smiles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wayyy Cool - Take the KIDS”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great spot -packed with cool stuff to see- go to the Butterfly room -sweet -( smells a bit though) Soo soo much to do -keep the rug rats busy all day --

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Manager at Science North, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Russell,

Thanks for the great review! The Butterfly Gallery is also a great place to visit in the winter- I use it as my real tropical paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Science North also viewed

Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Science North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing