We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husband's birthday weekend”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Huntsville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Husband's birthday weekend”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a lovely room so comfortable, clean and very helpful friendly staff. Climate control was great you could set warmth of the room to your own liking. Close to the downtown, Dynamic Earth, Big Nickel etc. Terrific pizza place best in town, "Extreme Pizza." Really reasonable prices for a variety of different types of pizza. We were quite pleased with the level of customer service at this hotel. A great choice if you are heading on down to Sault Ste. Marie. Restaurant is currently not in operation. If travelling Hwy 69 south I would recommend "The French River Trading Post restaurant for breakfast. Awesome brekkie for a reasonable price. We did have difficulty finding a restaurant in Sudbury that served breakfast but we were not that familiar with the city itself. Thanks Sudbury Inn my husband and I had a great weekend. Sharlene & Norman

Room Tip: Go for the premium queen room it is really really nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Sharlene & Norman,
Great to hear that our location, service and accommodation were perfect for you!
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear you got to take advantage of all the benefits of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sudbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    52
    26
    3
    9
See reviews for
28
39
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The owner and employee were extremely rude, unproffesional and customer service was the worst I have ever seen. They waited up for us when we came back to the hotel room to spy on us and we had extra unexpected people staying with us at the time and they ran out accusing us that we owe them an extar $30 for our guests and kept yelling saying "I have the power to kick you out!" This was at 2am..... not necessary to do such a thing at that time - it could have waited until the morning. We were also accused of smoking in the hotel room and hall when we did no such thing and they threatened to charge us extra for it. They were basically just out to get as much money out of us as possible. I ended up getting the guy at the front desk in the morning to go down and check our rooms to prove that we didn't ruin anything in the room so that they couldn't charge us for anything. The owner also sat outside and watched us pack our car in the morning before we left - Just trying to find something else he could maybe accuse us for.
I will never stay in this hotel again and I strongly advise everyone else about staying here. No one deserves to be treated that terrible.

Room Tip: Rude owners don't deserve any business. STAY AWAY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carebear10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
HELLO,
Thanks for spending your valuable time to write about someone as it comes on you when we found the TRUTH;

1, It is very much crystal clear that your two rooms reservation is only for SINGLE person in each room, we have online reservation paper, was showing that as well charges for only SINGLE person
2, @ the time of checked in, you have mentioned in Hotel Registration Card total number of persons FIVE instead of TWO, when our front desk operator told u as your reservation is only for single person and you suppose to pay extra for extra person, if they r staying.
At that time u told that we used to stay many places and we never pay any extra; my question to you it was written reservation policy for charges are different for One, Two or more even though u tried to cheat us.
3, Then you said @ last that they (3 persons) are not going to stay with you, which is absolutely suspecting us because you don’t want to pay us legal charges ($30.00+tax) and tried to accused us when we found the same three persons back with you guys @ 2.00am.
4, We don’t spy customer and is not our business but it is guaranteed that we don’t allow to stay stranger (not registered with us) or any unauthorised movement in our property at any time. And for that we are @ 24 hours service.
5, It is not accused to you people or any kind of investigations required for you people because as soon as you people checked in; Asked for door stopper to leave the door open as most of you are smokers and don’t bother to at least go away from property and started smoking just at the exit door and for that we have Security Camera too.
6, We are not that type of business people what you tried to, because you woke up front desk operator to open the front door even though you have door entry KEY CARD with you and then you people showed your attitude by showing KEY Card, Good Finger Sign without any reason.
7, Although, after all these, we just requested you people to PAY extra for the SAME extra THREE PERSONS, you refused at that time too for not to PAY AND FOR WHAT. So, we discussed with you the last resources which we can as WE WORK HARD TO KEEP OUR PROPERTY WELL MAINTAINED WITH GOOD CARING CUSTOMERS.
8, After all these, obviously it is our duty to check the room but not for expecting CHARITY MONEY but for our hard working and caring for our property reason. So, it is very much understood that whatever happened because of the way it is started and stayed as well ended from particular customer.

We at “Sudbury Inn” proud to share that we take care our customer like anything and try our level best to accommodate them very friendly, politely and feel them at safe place. We expect the same quality from each of person who stays at our property with their integrity and transparency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel was freezing cold!!! There was no hot water unless you ran it for 5 minutes prior to using it. The bathroom was decent but the floor was ceramic tile and freezing as well. I wasn't that comfortable with the level of cleanliness in the room overall. Don't take any restaurant recommendations from the desk! They must have an inner circle who tries to promote one and other. Nibblers Pizza was the best he said and the food was so bad it made my son sick!!! It was terrible! There is a lot of Indian food being prepared in this pizza place because all the food tasted like stale air from an Indian restaurant! I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick one elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeannaGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thanks for your time to share your PERSONAL experience for staying with us. In respect to your personal opinion we are here to make some proper justification from our end to make it more crystal clear.
1, Hotel walkway might be you feel cold (Now a day temperature in Sudbury is around -25 to -30 ‘C) but not room because it is our policy to turn on the heater prior to customer check in. (Check in time after 3.00 pm).

2, It is understood that to get hot water @ temperature -25 to -30 will take a while and it is only in such severe cold weather.

3, We proud to say that our cleanliness quality is very good and we take care our property very personally as we are just like customer. We have no complaint or any reason from your end at the time of your stay about cleanliness.

4, We always give suggestions or information to our valued customers in reference to other customer’s own personal experience. It does not mean we have some kind of affiliation with any kind of business. We just try to help customer what we know and other customer shared their view of experience with local restaurant during their stay.

5, It is clearly showed that what you trying to pointing on particular restaurant or nationality is seems like very personal opinion by any reason from your end.

We are the new management at this property and trying our level best to make customer stay satisfied by having our continuous effort for better quality of cleanliness, environment and reputation.
We once again thanks for your PERSONAL opinion and wish next time you are in Sudbury, come and stay at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor ON
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was my second stay here and my stay was for 3 weeks. I like this place because of the value and the quietness. It is not the cheapest place in Sudbury but you are getting a nicely furnished room that is kept quiet clean, cheaper then other deluxe accommodations. For the most part, with the temperature conditioner fan on, the room was quiet; some banging from the other room doors but no street noise. The Sudbury Inn is owned and run by the same people who own the Imperial Fireside Inn ( Jay and his wife), who have built up a reputation of taking care of their customers. They are trying to do the same with this inn but sometimes his front desk staff don't understand their philosophy; therefore I recommend dealing with Jay if you have any problems or requests.
P.S. During my lengthy stay I had no problems with bedbugs or any other type of bugs.

Room Tip: Rooms beside the stairwell way be noisier then other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review on our property. We appreciate, to share your wonderful experience with our hotels. We are so glad that you enjoyed your another stay with us and look forward from you to stay again. We are trying our best (newly purchased – “Sudbury Inn”) to bring @ same reputation as of “Imperial Fireside Inn” and are pretty sure a day will come very soon. We sincerely apology for little misunderstanding with our front desk operator but we have no doubt about the way of taking care of our valued customer like you.
We wish to see you again and make you experience the best hospitality moments.
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

You can obviously tell this place was renovated. Looks like all non-smoking rooms have been updated with modern colours, very clean, smelled great.

All in all, nice place to stay for the price, nicer rooms then most larger hotel chains, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I don't think the "smoking" rooms have been renovated. I could be wrong though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave56395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at our hotel. It is our pleasure to have you always as our valued guest.
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. Both times the rooms were clean and nicely renovated. Check in and out was easy and the owner was friendly. I do agree with another visitor's comments about the entry points from the parking lot - there should be some additional access points. We'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranscriptionistPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you so much!! We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at "Sudbury Inn" and hope you travel again Sudbury soon and be sure to call ahead to reserve a room for you.
Once again, Thank you for writing a review for our motel!
With Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I am a non-smoker but they tried to fine me for smoking. Owners are awful miserable people, tried to barge into my room when I was behind them. When i turned the sheets back I found sand and other debris there and thought there were bedbugs, but it turned out it was just filthy.
This was a room rented by my company for me, I will tell them to take their business elsewhere.
These people should be ashamed and give themselves a shake. Very disrespectful.
The only positive was that their housekeeping staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: never ever stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
First of all what ever customer opinion was 100% aligation to us and our policy and here are the truth thing what we need to let others;

1, Room rented to him is newly 100% renovated Non-smoking and there are couple of signed mentioning it is non-smoking room
2, We found day after his complained of dust on bed, personally checked by the GM and found the dirt through his working boot every where in room and broomed by us personally. At the same time found a wax stick of air freshner in his room which is obviously not required in Non-smoking (2 month before 100% renovated room) room.
3, Same day evening we called him and come to us with a paper and started giving us explanation that I am on doctor prescription to take ......, which we have not asked for anything.
4, While we asked him about that airfreshner in his room, I never somke in room and smoking outside.
5, Next day morning at 11.15am (11.00 checkout time) knocked his room by our Housekeepr to as uslal to clean room and no one respond untill her 4-5 knocking, then after she opened the door and the guy was literally smoking around the room. She reported to the fornt desk manager right away and we went to inquire his room (suppose to checkout by 11.00 o'clock)
6, On our inquiery, have been proved and showed by my house keeper was smoking inside the room, instead of feeling guilty scraming on motel lady owner and started using bad waords and at this point his co-worker also tried to keep on telling his behave your self and this is not way to discuss with Lady Owner.
7, When my house keeper was doing his room as the left found CIGARETTE ASHES ALL AROUND IN THE WASHROOM.
8, We don't understand still what and how much we have to tolerate even after comitting mistake or violation of hotel / motel policy.
9, It is strictly not allow to smoke in non-smoking room and now we have to initiate legal action with all our PROOF and let such a kind people understand or to realise that it is not necessary that waht they want at where at however is possible to do. Absolutley not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value inn - Sudbury
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1145 Lorne St | On, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and upgraded a Choice Group Hotel - EconoLodge,Located in mining town Sudbury Ontario.We are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing