We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a business trip, pretty much picked this one by random. A few things that needs improvement is kinda under renovation so there were some noise but not even close to unacceptable level. The place is a little old so yes water was leaking on the ceiling but so far only limited to hallway only. Only 1 real problem is that that place is like a maze, i think is because they are combining 2 buildings together. Other then that, price is fair, staff are nice, room is clean and I was in their regular room instead of the premium room so i would assume even better room if i picked premium. Honestly speaking the price that they are charging if you are expecting like comfort inn or holiday inn, you are an idiot but they ARE better then average motels.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for posting a review. We will be using the feedback given to implement improvements to ensure a better experience for guests in the future. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the building and others. We are so grateful for your kind words about our hotel and our staff member.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sudbury.
With Hospitality,
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Booked this hotel thru hotwire, thinking we would get the usual 2.5 star like Best Western or Comfort Inn. When we ended up with this hotel, we were a little leery but decided we would give it a try. That was a big mistake.

We showed up to a property in an industrial part of town backing on what looked to be a dump or something with gross garbage. We went into the lobby which looked alright to check in, and asked for a nonsmoking room with two beds, so we were able to upgrade for approx $22, which I thought was a little high but considering the looks of the hotel I couldn't imagine what a standard room looks like. In addition, the worker at the front desk said, "You better not smoke in the nonsmoking room or else you will be fined." Obviously we weren't smokers if we requested a nonsmoking room? Kind of rude. Upon arriving to our room, we immediately felt unsafe. Not only is this hotel in a bad part of town by the looks of it, it is also a strange setup. Along the corridors overlooking the street, there are large windows, so anyone walking or driving by can clearly see which room you are heading to. Upon entering our room we came to a scene similar to a horror film. The deadbolt on the door didn't even lock. There was a window in the room FACING INTO THE HALLWAY. So anyone walking by could see into your room and when you heard someone walk by it was quite loud and scary. Not to mention the window in the room faced the hallway that was lined with windows you could see thru from the road... so weird. There was also a door in the room that must have been connected to another room that was unlocked when we entered our room, so people in the room it was connected to would have had access to our room. We didn't even venture into the washroom because we were too scared.

They advertise that this hotel has been renovated, but all it is is a fresh coat of paint and new bedspreads (not to mention a horrible colour scheme). We felt so unsafe that we called hotwire to request a refund. We were able to get one so we checked out as soon as we could. Upon checking out we said "We're going to check out, we do not feel safe." To this the staff at the front desk simply nodded and took the room keys. No apologies, no trying to address the problem, no questions. That was probably one of the worst parts of the whole night. They didn't even acknowledge that we weren't satisfied, so much so that we had to leave the hotel. In fact, they started speaking in a different language right in front of us about who knows what. Running a hotel is customer service, and if you don't know how to deal with customers you're probably in the wrong business. Overall I would say stay away from this hotel. It was hands down the worst hotel experience of my life, so much so that I'll probably never stay in Sudbury again. I wouldn't even stay here for free. So good job Sudbury Inn!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajtbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I sincerely regret that the service we provided during your stay with us did not demonstrate the true quality as per YOUR OPINION.

We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but clean and friendly accommodations. We regret you were not satisfied with the services you received from our hotel and staff. I understand the inconvenience this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

We sincerely value the comments of all our travelers; in fact based on your comment several facts are;

1, your original reservation (hotwire) was SINGLE QUEEN ROOM – SMOKING, when you arrived @ motel our front desk operator updated your room to Premium Room on your request with extra cost of it. We are in this business since long and obviously want one thing to be cleared with you is very impressively success with all kind of customers.

2, I am quite surprised with most of your comments under your reviews are look like not for hotel / motel, like on window (on that particular window we have Black out Blind and Black out Drapery in addition), still you expect something please share your ideas with us.

3, Our Premium rooms are 100% renovated and mostly inside are brand new (including; Bed, Wall mounted LCD TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, New Rug, New Furniture, New Headboard, New Mattresses, New Linens, New Washroom, etc.) and above all these we have 24 hours a day front desk too. Yes, brand new paint with great color combination.

4, a room has adjoining door and is locked from both side and it can’t open from other side.

5, On top of all your comments, you have neither reported to the front desk about your all these concerned nor ask to change room. You simply went to the front desk and asked for to refund difference of your room update.

6, Last but not least our motel location is in between Residential and commercial area. Just 2-3 minutes away from Down- Town too.

Notwithstanding your initial experience, I invite you to contact me directly so I may somehow demonstrate our commitment to customer service.
Please contact me directly by email at sudbury_inn@yahoo.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a lovely room so comfortable, clean and very helpful friendly staff. Climate control was great you could set warmth of the room to your own liking. Close to the downtown, Dynamic Earth, Big Nickel etc. Terrific pizza place best in town, "Extreme Pizza." Really reasonable prices for a variety of different types of pizza. We were quite pleased with the level of customer service at this hotel. A great choice if you are heading on down to Sault Ste. Marie. Restaurant is currently not in operation. If travelling Hwy 69 south I would recommend "The French River Trading Post restaurant for breakfast. Awesome brekkie for a reasonable price. We did have difficulty finding a restaurant in Sudbury that served breakfast but we were not that familiar with the city itself. Thanks Sudbury Inn my husband and I had a great weekend. Sharlene & Norman

Room Tip: Go for the premium queen room it is really really nice!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Sharlene & Norman,
Great to hear that our location, service and accommodation were perfect for you!
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear you got to take advantage of all the benefits of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sudbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The owner and employee were extremely rude, unproffesional and customer service was the worst I have ever seen. They waited up for us when we came back to the hotel room to spy on us and we had extra unexpected people staying with us at the time and they ran out accusing us that we owe them an extar $30 for our guests and kept yelling saying "I have the power to kick you out!" This was at 2am..... not necessary to do such a thing at that time - it could have waited until the morning. We were also accused of smoking in the hotel room and hall when we did no such thing and they threatened to charge us extra for it. They were basically just out to get as much money out of us as possible. I ended up getting the guy at the front desk in the morning to go down and check our rooms to prove that we didn't ruin anything in the room so that they couldn't charge us for anything. The owner also sat outside and watched us pack our car in the morning before we left - Just trying to find something else he could maybe accuse us for.
I will never stay in this hotel again and I strongly advise everyone else about staying here. No one deserves to be treated that terrible.

Room Tip: Rude owners don't deserve any business. STAY AWAY!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carebear10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

HELLO,
Thanks for spending your valuable time to write about someone as it comes on you when we found the TRUTH;

1, It is very much crystal clear that your two rooms reservation is only for SINGLE person in each room, we have online reservation paper, was showing that as well charges for only SINGLE person
2, @ the time of checked in, you have mentioned in Hotel Registration Card total number of persons FIVE instead of TWO, when our front desk operator told u as your reservation is only for single person and you suppose to pay extra for extra person, if they r staying.
At that time u told that we used to stay many places and we never pay any extra; my question to you it was written reservation policy for charges are different for One, Two or more even though u tried to cheat us.
3, Then you said @ last that they (3 persons) are not going to stay with you, which is absolutely suspecting us because you don’t want to pay us legal charges ($30.00+tax) and tried to accused us when we found the same three persons back with you guys @ 2.00am.
4, We don’t spy customer and is not our business but it is guaranteed that we don’t allow to stay stranger (not registered with us) or any unauthorised movement in our property at any time. And for that we are @ 24 hours service.
5, It is not accused to you people or any kind of investigations required for you people because as soon as you people checked in; Asked for door stopper to leave the door open as most of you are smokers and don’t bother to at least go away from property and started smoking just at the exit door and for that we have Security Camera too.
6, We are not that type of business people what you tried to, because you woke up front desk operator to open the front door even though you have door entry KEY CARD with you and then you people showed your attitude by showing KEY Card, Good Finger Sign without any reason.
7, Although, after all these, we just requested you people to PAY extra for the SAME extra THREE PERSONS, you refused at that time too for not to PAY AND FOR WHAT. So, we discussed with you the last resources which we can as WE WORK HARD TO KEEP OUR PROPERTY WELL MAINTAINED WITH GOOD CARING CUSTOMERS.
8, After all these, obviously it is our duty to check the room but not for expecting CHARITY MONEY but for our hard working and caring for our property reason. So, it is very much understood that whatever happened because of the way it is started and stayed as well ended from particular customer.

We at “Sudbury Inn” proud to share that we take care our customer like anything and try our level best to accommodate them very friendly, politely and feel them at safe place. We expect the same quality from each of person who stays at our property with their integrity and transparency.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel was freezing cold!!! There was no hot water unless you ran it for 5 minutes prior to using it. The bathroom was decent but the floor was ceramic tile and freezing as well. I wasn't that comfortable with the level of cleanliness in the room overall. Don't take any restaurant recommendations from the desk! They must have an inner circle who tries to promote one and other. Nibblers Pizza was the best he said and the food was so bad it made my son sick!!! It was terrible! There is a lot of Indian food being prepared in this pizza place because all the food tasted like stale air from an Indian restaurant! I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick one elsewhere!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeannaGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thanks for your time to share your PERSONAL experience for staying with us. In respect to your personal opinion we are here to make some proper justification from our end to make it more crystal clear.
1, Hotel walkway might be you feel cold (Now a day temperature in Sudbury is around -25 to -30 ‘C) but not room because it is our policy to turn on the heater prior to customer check in. (Check in time after 3.00 pm).

2, It is understood that to get hot water @ temperature -25 to -30 will take a while and it is only in such severe cold weather.

3, We proud to say that our cleanliness quality is very good and we take care our property very personally as we are just like customer. We have no complaint or any reason from your end at the time of your stay about cleanliness.

4, We always give suggestions or information to our valued customers in reference to other customer’s own personal experience. It does not mean we have some kind of affiliation with any kind of business. We just try to help customer what we know and other customer shared their view of experience with local restaurant during their stay.

5, It is clearly showed that what you trying to pointing on particular restaurant or nationality is seems like very personal opinion by any reason from your end.

We are the new management at this property and trying our level best to make customer stay satisfied by having our continuous effort for better quality of cleanliness, environment and reputation.
We once again thanks for your PERSONAL opinion and wish next time you are in Sudbury, come and stay at our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was my second stay here and my stay was for 3 weeks. I like this place because of the value and the quietness. It is not the cheapest place in Sudbury but you are getting a nicely furnished room that is kept quiet clean, cheaper then other deluxe accommodations. For the most part, with the temperature conditioner fan on, the room was quiet; some banging from the other room doors but no street noise. The Sudbury Inn is owned and run by the same people who own the Imperial Fireside Inn ( Jay and his wife), who have built up a reputation of taking care of their customers. They are trying to do the same with this inn but sometimes his front desk staff don't understand their philosophy; therefore I recommend dealing with Jay if you have any problems or requests.
P.S. During my lengthy stay I had no problems with bedbugs or any other type of bugs.

Room Tip: Rooms beside the stairwell way be noisier then other rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review on our property. We appreciate, to share your wonderful experience with our hotels. We are so glad that you enjoyed your another stay with us and look forward from you to stay again. We are trying our best (newly purchased – “Sudbury Inn”) to bring @ same reputation as of “Imperial Fireside Inn” and are pretty sure a day will come very soon. We sincerely apology for little misunderstanding with our front desk operator but we have no doubt about the way of taking care of our valued customer like you.
We wish to see you again and make you experience the best hospitality moments.
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

You can obviously tell this place was renovated. Looks like all non-smoking rooms have been updated with modern colours, very clean, smelled great.

All in all, nice place to stay for the price, nicer rooms then most larger hotel chains, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I don't think the "smoking" rooms have been renovated. I could be wrong though.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave56395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at our hotel. It is our pleasure to have you always as our valued guest.
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#14 of 33 in Sudbury
368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#11 of 33 in Sudbury
172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value inn - Sudbury
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1145 Lorne St | On, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range: £53 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and upgraded a Choice Group Hotel - EconoLodge,Located in mining town Sudbury Ontario.We are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing