We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Our Needs”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Met Our Needs”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

If you are not looking for a fancy place to stay and just need a place to lay your head and a quick breakfast, this hotel was fine. The rooms have been renovated and are clean and nicely appointed. Beds were comfortable. Some work still required in the bathrooms - a hook and a shelf to place toiletries on would be nice. Also, the hot water was a little iffy. Breakfast was typical. Service was polite and friendly. Had a surprise when lifted the blind and saw the big nickel on the hill behind the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanR12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    50
    26
    3
    9
See reviews for
28
35
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Liskeard, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

On check-in, I had to repeat over and over to slow down the speed of their speech as their accent was thick and virtually illegible. The directions to the room were misunderstood because of this and we had to return to the desk twice and I said, "SEND SOMEONE WITH US. I TOLD you, I'm tired and very ill and need to lay down. They were generally polite but didn't follow my requests very well. The hallways in the back section where we stayed were filthy, not mopped, looked like there was piss and puke in the stairway and had an odor. The garbage can was jammed inside and outside. The room was much better and was clean and had four nice big pillows per bed. It stayed quiet throughout the night and the bed was comfortable. Service was fair overall.

Room Tip: Don't judge the rooms by the state of the hallways or you'll be leaving pronto. There are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krazykritik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Sudbury in and were pleased with the room. It had a flatscreen TV and the room was nice and clean. However, the bathroom was old. I believe it would better the motel if they decided on renovating them. That was our only issue there. We still recommend coming here for it gave us a nice rest.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a business trip, pretty much picked this one by random. A few things that needs improvement is kinda under renovation so there were some noise but not even close to unacceptable level. The place is a little old so yes water was leaking on the ceiling but so far only limited to hallway only. Only 1 real problem is that that place is like a maze, i think is because they are combining 2 buildings together. Other then that, price is fair, staff are nice, room is clean and I was in their regular room instead of the premium room so i would assume even better room if i picked premium. Honestly speaking the price that they are charging if you are expecting like comfort inn or holiday inn, you are an idiot but they ARE better then average motels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We will be using the feedback given to implement improvements to ensure a better experience for guests in the future. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the building and others. We are so grateful for your kind words about our hotel and our staff member.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sudbury.
With Hospitality,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Booked this hotel thru hotwire, thinking we would get the usual 2.5 star like Best Western or Comfort Inn. When we ended up with this hotel, we were a little leery but decided we would give it a try. That was a big mistake.

We showed up to a property in an industrial part of town backing on what looked to be a dump or something with gross garbage. We went into the lobby which looked alright to check in, and asked for a nonsmoking room with two beds, so we were able to upgrade for approx $22, which I thought was a little high but considering the looks of the hotel I couldn't imagine what a standard room looks like. In addition, the worker at the front desk said, "You better not smoke in the nonsmoking room or else you will be fined." Obviously we weren't smokers if we requested a nonsmoking room? Kind of rude. Upon arriving to our room, we immediately felt unsafe. Not only is this hotel in a bad part of town by the looks of it, it is also a strange setup. Along the corridors overlooking the street, there are large windows, so anyone walking or driving by can clearly see which room you are heading to. Upon entering our room we came to a scene similar to a horror film. The deadbolt on the door didn't even lock. There was a window in the room FACING INTO THE HALLWAY. So anyone walking by could see into your room and when you heard someone walk by it was quite loud and scary. Not to mention the window in the room faced the hallway that was lined with windows you could see thru from the road... so weird. There was also a door in the room that must have been connected to another room that was unlocked when we entered our room, so people in the room it was connected to would have had access to our room. We didn't even venture into the washroom because we were too scared.

They advertise that this hotel has been renovated, but all it is is a fresh coat of paint and new bedspreads (not to mention a horrible colour scheme). We felt so unsafe that we called hotwire to request a refund. We were able to get one so we checked out as soon as we could. Upon checking out we said "We're going to check out, we do not feel safe." To this the staff at the front desk simply nodded and took the room keys. No apologies, no trying to address the problem, no questions. That was probably one of the worst parts of the whole night. They didn't even acknowledge that we weren't satisfied, so much so that we had to leave the hotel. In fact, they started speaking in a different language right in front of us about who knows what. Running a hotel is customer service, and if you don't know how to deal with customers you're probably in the wrong business. Overall I would say stay away from this hotel. It was hands down the worst hotel experience of my life, so much so that I'll probably never stay in Sudbury again. I wouldn't even stay here for free. So good job Sudbury Inn!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajtbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I sincerely regret that the service we provided during your stay with us did not demonstrate the true quality as per YOUR OPINION.

We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but clean and friendly accommodations. We regret you were not satisfied with the services you received from our hotel and staff. I understand the inconvenience this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

We sincerely value the comments of all our travelers; in fact based on your comment several facts are;

1, your original reservation (hotwire) was SINGLE QUEEN ROOM – SMOKING, when you arrived @ motel our front desk operator updated your room to Premium Room on your request with extra cost of it. We are in this business since long and obviously want one thing to be cleared with you is very impressively success with all kind of customers.

2, I am quite surprised with most of your comments under your reviews are look like not for hotel / motel, like on window (on that particular window we have Black out Blind and Black out Drapery in addition), still you expect something please share your ideas with us.

3, Our Premium rooms are 100% renovated and mostly inside are brand new (including; Bed, Wall mounted LCD TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, New Rug, New Furniture, New Headboard, New Mattresses, New Linens, New Washroom, etc.) and above all these we have 24 hours a day front desk too. Yes, brand new paint with great color combination.

4, a room has adjoining door and is locked from both side and it can’t open from other side.

5, On top of all your comments, you have neither reported to the front desk about your all these concerned nor ask to change room. You simply went to the front desk and asked for to refund difference of your room update.

6, Last but not least our motel location is in between Residential and commercial area. Just 2-3 minutes away from Down- Town too.

Notwithstanding your initial experience, I invite you to contact me directly so I may somehow demonstrate our commitment to customer service.
Please contact me directly by email at sudbury_inn@yahoo.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a lovely room so comfortable, clean and very helpful friendly staff. Climate control was great you could set warmth of the room to your own liking. Close to the downtown, Dynamic Earth, Big Nickel etc. Terrific pizza place best in town, "Extreme Pizza." Really reasonable prices for a variety of different types of pizza. We were quite pleased with the level of customer service at this hotel. A great choice if you are heading on down to Sault Ste. Marie. Restaurant is currently not in operation. If travelling Hwy 69 south I would recommend "The French River Trading Post restaurant for breakfast. Awesome brekkie for a reasonable price. We did have difficulty finding a restaurant in Sudbury that served breakfast but we were not that familiar with the city itself. Thanks Sudbury Inn my husband and I had a great weekend. Sharlene & Norman

Room Tip: Go for the premium queen room it is really really nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Sharlene & Norman,
Great to hear that our location, service and accommodation were perfect for you!
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear you got to take advantage of all the benefits of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sudbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The owner and employee were extremely rude, unproffesional and customer service was the worst I have ever seen. They waited up for us when we came back to the hotel room to spy on us and we had extra unexpected people staying with us at the time and they ran out accusing us that we owe them an extar $30 for our guests and kept yelling saying "I have the power to kick you out!" This was at 2am..... not necessary to do such a thing at that time - it could have waited until the morning. We were also accused of smoking in the hotel room and hall when we did no such thing and they threatened to charge us extra for it. They were basically just out to get as much money out of us as possible. I ended up getting the guy at the front desk in the morning to go down and check our rooms to prove that we didn't ruin anything in the room so that they couldn't charge us for anything. The owner also sat outside and watched us pack our car in the morning before we left - Just trying to find something else he could maybe accuse us for.
I will never stay in this hotel again and I strongly advise everyone else about staying here. No one deserves to be treated that terrible.

Room Tip: Rude owners don't deserve any business. STAY AWAY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carebear10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
HELLO,
Thanks for spending your valuable time to write about someone as it comes on you when we found the TRUTH;

1, It is very much crystal clear that your two rooms reservation is only for SINGLE person in each room, we have online reservation paper, was showing that as well charges for only SINGLE person
2, @ the time of checked in, you have mentioned in Hotel Registration Card total number of persons FIVE instead of TWO, when our front desk operator told u as your reservation is only for single person and you suppose to pay extra for extra person, if they r staying.
At that time u told that we used to stay many places and we never pay any extra; my question to you it was written reservation policy for charges are different for One, Two or more even though u tried to cheat us.
3, Then you said @ last that they (3 persons) are not going to stay with you, which is absolutely suspecting us because you don’t want to pay us legal charges ($30.00+tax) and tried to accused us when we found the same three persons back with you guys @ 2.00am.
4, We don’t spy customer and is not our business but it is guaranteed that we don’t allow to stay stranger (not registered with us) or any unauthorised movement in our property at any time. And for that we are @ 24 hours service.
5, It is not accused to you people or any kind of investigations required for you people because as soon as you people checked in; Asked for door stopper to leave the door open as most of you are smokers and don’t bother to at least go away from property and started smoking just at the exit door and for that we have Security Camera too.
6, We are not that type of business people what you tried to, because you woke up front desk operator to open the front door even though you have door entry KEY CARD with you and then you people showed your attitude by showing KEY Card, Good Finger Sign without any reason.
7, Although, after all these, we just requested you people to PAY extra for the SAME extra THREE PERSONS, you refused at that time too for not to PAY AND FOR WHAT. So, we discussed with you the last resources which we can as WE WORK HARD TO KEEP OUR PROPERTY WELL MAINTAINED WITH GOOD CARING CUSTOMERS.
8, After all these, obviously it is our duty to check the room but not for expecting CHARITY MONEY but for our hard working and caring for our property reason. So, it is very much understood that whatever happened because of the way it is started and stayed as well ended from particular customer.

We at “Sudbury Inn” proud to share that we take care our customer like anything and try our level best to accommodate them very friendly, politely and feel them at safe place. We expect the same quality from each of person who stays at our property with their integrity and transparency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
491 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
717 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
Lexington Hotel - Sudbury
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#8 of 33 in Sudbury
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1145 Lorne St | ON, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and upgraded a Choice Group Hotel - EconoLodge,Located in mining town Sudbury Ontario.We are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing