We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights sleep”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our trip to the Sudbury Inn. We were concerned at first as it seemed so quiet, but all in all we had a good night sleep, which is basically all we wanted. The renovations are great and the rooms very nice and clean. The kids enjoyed themselves and we would def. come again. On the down side, it does take a while to get the hot water in the morning, but this is no big deal. The hotel is right behind Dynamic Earth. There doesn't seem to be that many places to eat around the hotel, but hopefully the restaurant will be up and running next time we come.
Good Luck to the Sudbury Inn. Hopefully you will be offering nice accommodation for years to come

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
We're glad you found our accommodations clean and comfortable during your stay and the room exceed your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our top priority. We sincerely apologize for the area we fell short of meeting your expectations and any inconveniences you experienced as a result. We hope you'll return again soon to enjoy our hotel and NEW RESTAURANT.
Thank you again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in Room 103 for one night and were very pleased with the accommodation. Sam, the host/receptionist made us very welcome and showed us to our room. The hotel is an older building, but room was newly renovated and very clean. I was pleased that the room had laminate floors as I do not like carpet in hotels. The room was quiet and secure and the bed very comfortable. NIce to have a frig, microwave and coffee maker. Parking was just outside our room which makes it very handy. As we were just passing through Sudbury, the location was convenient. Continental breakfast was included and was decent with good coffee. Liked having free wi-fi. We would return to this hotel when passing through Sudbury the next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on accommodation, services, amenities and location specific values.
We take pride in all what we do to keep our important guests happy and Exceptional service is what we aim to offer all of our guests. We are glad that you found our Front Desk guy to be friendly and courteous during your stay with us.
We are renovated hotel as I'm sure you noticed during your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We try to keep our hotel at the best standard for our guests.
We hope that you choose us the next time that you pass through Sudbury.
With Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our room was recently remodeled and VERY nice, the rooms open onto an glass-enclosed exterior hallway which made the room exceptionally quiet despite being on a busy street. We were very pleasantly surprised by how nice and quiet and well-appointed was our room, since the location was an industrial area and the hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, but we would definitely recommend this place. The people running the place are very nice, very hospitable and accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for sharing your experience on-line and we are delighted to have made a remarkable first impression. Your comment gives a sense of accomplishment and it has made us proud. Thank you for appreciating our hotel services along with the value added amenities.

We are happy to learn that your stay was full of fun and excitement and thankful for highlighting the location specific details for the benefit of the readers. We strive to go the extra mile to make each and every guest happy and content at all times.

We are more than happy to welcome you to patronize our premises whenever you are in Sudbury.

At the end, we like to inform you that newly renovated restaurant is coming to our location very-very soon. Here is some brief about the upcoming Restaurant.

Best regards

New upcoming Restaurant;

"SIZZLE MONGOLIAN GRILL"
Here at SIZZLE, you decide what goes in your meal and you watch while its being cooked. As we like to say “You FILL IT and we GRILL IT!”. Start by choosing a Meat or Seafood, Noodles and Vegetables and top it off with some of our delicious signature sauces. All of our sauces are Vegetarian and Vegan friendly and contain no added MSG and many are Gluten free as well. Be Creative and don’t be afraid to mix sauces to get the combination of flavours that suits YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

very clean, newly renovated room that my friend and I stayed in, the view we had was able to see the car parked out front. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are like sleeping on clouds. Our room was near the stairs so it sounded like a herd of elephants coming down. The staff and service was great. Glad was able to have visitors because some of the other motels said no visitors allowed, so with that those places lost the business. The continental breakfast was alright, muffins were dry. Hopefully next time the dining room would be renovated in time for full service meals.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27butterfly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

Your comment gives a sense of accomplishment and it has made us proud. Thank you for taking the time to post it on Trip advisor and we look forward to your future visits.

The issues you pointed out are beneficial to us as it gives us an opportunity to find solutions and rectify them.

We were certainly proud to hear your comments on “excellent service and excellent value”. We @ hospitality business are trying our best effort to make our valued customer happy and safe with our NEWLY RENOVATED rooms.

Yes, we hope that our BRAND NEW RENOVATED RESTAURENT (“SIZZLE MONGOLIAN GRILLS”) will open (May be 1st week of October) on your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very clean, newly renovated rooms. New fixtures in the bathroom, new windows, new beds etc. Comfy beds. The location is very industrial (it's Sudbury after all!), the view is.... well... not pretty, but if you're there to sleep, who cares? Breakfast is free, the usual at a continental with decent coffee. Service was courteous and helpful. The lobby and halls are so-so but don't let that deter you- once you're in the your room, you'd never know. For this price, I can't imagine you'd get better and you could probably spend more and still not get a place this good. Other places in town seemed VERY expensive. We had two Queen Premium rooms- one had laminate flooring (allergy sufferers might be happier here) and one had new carpet. Minor details- Very quiet until the morning when water pipes were a bit loud. Takes a while to get hot water from the taps. No peanut butter at the breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose the Queen Premium, choice of laminate flooring or carpet. Very little noise from above if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennX67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Exceptional service is what we aim to offer all of our guests. It is great to hear from you and your good compliment that you enjoyed our NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS having New Rugs, 32”LCD Wall Mount TV, New Furniture, New Mattress set, New Washroom, and Free Continental Breakfast.
I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us and found the staff friendly. We aim to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure their stay is comfortable and pleasant. We hope you stay with us so we can provide you with a superior experience.
WE ARE PLEASED TO LET U KNOW THAT A 100 % NEWLY RENOVATED RESTAURENT IS GOING TO BE OPENED FROM OCTOBER KNOWN AS “SIZZLE MONGOLIAN GRILL” @ OUR LOCATION.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We recently stopped for one night at the Sudbury Inn.

Price - quite reasonable especially for Northern Ontario where motels seem to be over-priced
Room - VERY clean, fridge and microwave, nice recently renovated bathroom (but it could use a shelf for dental gear etc)
Front Desk - efficient and friendly
Housekeeping - VERY clean - I think they do a great job
Breakfast - included continental (with waffle maker) - quite sufficient for us. Everything was fresh and there was enough choice (cereal, bagels, bread for toast, muffins, waffle maker, yogurt, juice, good coffee).
Location: fine if you are just looking for somewhere near the highway and downtown. There is no view and the neighbourhood is somewhat run-down (but safe). There are a couple of restaurants nearby. We ate dinner at Ali Baba and would recommend it.
Bottom LIne: Would we stay there again if looking for somewhere to spend the night - Yes.
Would we spend a week? - No - we would spend more money to get a nicer location

Room Tip: Be sure to get one of the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Guest,
It was very nice to read your lovely comments. I am glad to hear that our staff looked after you so well.
Thanks so much for the great comments about breakfast, Cleanliness and the hotel review - you hit all the high points!
It is only through guest feedback that we are able to measure how we are doing. Your comments will certainly be shared with our staff.
If business or pleasures bring you back to Sudbury, we certainly hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stay here for 3days to visit family nearby. The Inn was Clean,rooms were lovely and clean. The chek in was quick and front desk operator was very personable and helpful. A price as very reasonable compare to the Quility of Inn. The room also had microwave and fridge. I am very much thankful to hve free Wi-Fi. Front Desk and Housekeeping staff were very responsive to our request and the room was very clean. Breakfast was included and was decent with nice different bagel,yummy muffins , waffles, cereals ,toast , yogurts,banana,juices ,milk,coffee and tea were available,Serve in large breakfast lounge. I'd comment on the great service by the breakfast attendant. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Sudbury. There are lots of parking and close to good restaurants (DOWN TOWN ).

I Would Recommend This Hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjoshi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for the excellent detailed review of our hotel, your time in writing and posting your review is sincerely appreciated. It is comments such as yours that will assist other guests in making decision with reference to their accommodation needs when they visit Sudbury. Your business is appreciated and we look forward to your on-going visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#11 of 33 in Sudbury
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
1.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value inn - Sudbury
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1145 Lorne St | On, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: £55 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and upgraded a Choice Group Hotel - EconoLodge,Located in mining town Sudbury Ontario.We are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing