We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID! Incredibly rude staff...and mice!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here while attending a function - the reservation was made for me by the people who in invited me to the function. The staff have no clue how to talk to guests - responses are rude, defensive and abrupt - don't take my word for it: read the hotel operators responses to unfavourable reviews here on TripAdvisor. I won't return or recommend this place to anyone...EVER.

This is a tired property sporting a sloppy coat of paint here and there, a new toilet paper dispenser mounted next to the holes where the old one was and a cheap vanity sink, while keeping the same nasty tub and the same nasty windows.

BONUS: Upon arrival, we observed mice in the hallway that scurried beneath the doors into the rooms.

You've been warned!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank genehardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
We are very much regret to write down that your recent stay with us was disappointing you and inspired you to write something which is in revenge manner. What we investigated in this is mentioned as under;

1. Our staffs are well trained and highly committed to their responsibilities in terms of hospitality business and we proud to have great services and property. We @ Sudbury Inn believe in maximum attention on each customer review to respond in the best true manner and that we did in last review (we accepted our mistake). But the way of your is very-very different and…..

2. Your room is reserved by someone on their Credit Card and upon your arrival / check-in refused to even sign the payment receipt as well denied to give your credit card for security reason as per motel policy.

3. A room you stayed in is our newly renovated room (Premium) and we cannot accept wrong / false allegation as what you tried to share in your opinion.

4. Our understanding was that initial check in time made you upset and then immediately you complained about the mice which our guaranteed Pest Control company refused that kind of movement and very next day even we call them to inspect and they assure none of that kind of incidents or symptoms found. Why we cannot go with some legal action against this kind of wrong allegation, please explain to us ASAP. On your complaint, our people acted right away and few of your companions said unfavourable few things about you and advised us to avoid you.

5. Very next day you called @ front desk asking to late checkout for around 1.30 pm and agreed to pay before the check-out time (11 am). You could neither pay nor given us your credit card number just for the assurance. At last front desk followed with you by 12.10pm and you become mad and use all kind of bad languages for the front staff. After this our staff called immediately that person who reserved a room for you and “He apologised for your misbehaviour and assured us that he checked out very soon”. We expect that still you should fulfill your commitment of paying extra for late check-out but unfortunately even though you checked out @ 1.05pm, not paid single buck for the late checkout.

At last, thanks for your unfair opinion and uncommitted judgement for someone before having to look yourself in the mirror.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

After a 30 hr drive from alberta, we were in dire need of a good nights sleep...the room was cheap, and it showed. Very poorly insulated hallways and ice cold rooms. In order to warm up the room, you were required to have the heater (that sounded like a jet engine) roaring all night long. The room was for the most part clean, but very uncomfortable. I have seriously slept on softer floors than that bed was. Thank you sudbury in for providing me with the unbearable nights sleep that I really didn't need! The trip back home will definitely be involving a different hotel. Not impressed

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robndal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Sudbury Inn. We value your feedback and are very much regret to write down on your comments about the heater. We are sincerely apologise that our front desk operator has taken false decision of giving particular room as we noticed from previous customer and we already ordered for the parts to eliminate that particular problem.

We @ Sudbury Inn are committed to provide the best hospitality with our whole hearted integrity in this business. We aim to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure their stay is comfortable and pleasant. We hope you stay with us so we can provide you with a superior experience. It is my humble request to you, please come and stay with us when you return back home and assure you our satisfied quality of excellent services

Once again, we felt sorry for having you inconveniency during your long trip and hoping to get back last chance to show our transparent caring nature hospitality. Please call ahead @ motel number and look for JAY to get better compliment on your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Room was newly renovated, clean and quiet. On site restaurant is awesome. continental breakfast was adequate. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Will return next week for a longer stay. Price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Take a renovated room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zekekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room to be modern and clean. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and Welcome Home Reception too. We hope that you choose our hotel on your next trip to the area.
With Hospitality,
Jay Mahida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Can not complain about our 4 night stay while husband had work to do, the renovated rooms are nice, comfortable, clean , free wifi kept me busy. No there is not much around, located in an industrial area but again the price gave us more then most places in that price range. Breakfast included, with yummy waffles you can make yourself. Water for washing took awhile to heat up so was a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: Premium rooms on main floor were great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjostef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We tried our best to renovate the hotel to a high standard and we love to get feedback such as yours! It really shows that all the hard work was worth it. I'm glad we provided you with outstanding service.

Again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. We are more than happy to welcome you back so that we could provide you with another superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our trip to the Sudbury Inn. We were concerned at first as it seemed so quiet, but all in all we had a good night sleep, which is basically all we wanted. The renovations are great and the rooms very nice and clean. The kids enjoyed themselves and we would def. come again. On the down side, it does take a while to get the hot water in the morning, but this is no big deal. The hotel is right behind Dynamic Earth. There doesn't seem to be that many places to eat around the hotel, but hopefully the restaurant will be up and running next time we come.
Good Luck to the Sudbury Inn. Hopefully you will be offering nice accommodation for years to come

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
We're glad you found our accommodations clean and comfortable during your stay and the room exceed your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our top priority. We sincerely apologize for the area we fell short of meeting your expectations and any inconveniences you experienced as a result. We hope you'll return again soon to enjoy our hotel and NEW RESTAURANT.
Thank you again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in Room 103 for one night and were very pleased with the accommodation. Sam, the host/receptionist made us very welcome and showed us to our room. The hotel is an older building, but room was newly renovated and very clean. I was pleased that the room had laminate floors as I do not like carpet in hotels. The room was quiet and secure and the bed very comfortable. NIce to have a frig, microwave and coffee maker. Parking was just outside our room which makes it very handy. As we were just passing through Sudbury, the location was convenient. Continental breakfast was included and was decent with good coffee. Liked having free wi-fi. We would return to this hotel when passing through Sudbury the next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on accommodation, services, amenities and location specific values.
We take pride in all what we do to keep our important guests happy and Exceptional service is what we aim to offer all of our guests. We are glad that you found our Front Desk guy to be friendly and courteous during your stay with us.
We are renovated hotel as I'm sure you noticed during your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We try to keep our hotel at the best standard for our guests.
We hope that you choose us the next time that you pass through Sudbury.
With Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our room was recently remodeled and VERY nice, the rooms open onto an glass-enclosed exterior hallway which made the room exceptionally quiet despite being on a busy street. We were very pleasantly surprised by how nice and quiet and well-appointed was our room, since the location was an industrial area and the hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, but we would definitely recommend this place. The people running the place are very nice, very hospitable and accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for sharing your experience on-line and we are delighted to have made a remarkable first impression. Your comment gives a sense of accomplishment and it has made us proud. Thank you for appreciating our hotel services along with the value added amenities.

We are happy to learn that your stay was full of fun and excitement and thankful for highlighting the location specific details for the benefit of the readers. We strive to go the extra mile to make each and every guest happy and content at all times.

We are more than happy to welcome you to patronize our premises whenever you are in Sudbury.

At the end, we like to inform you that newly renovated restaurant is coming to our location very-very soon. Here is some brief about the upcoming Restaurant.

Best regards

New upcoming Restaurant;

"SIZZLE MONGOLIAN GRILL"
Here at SIZZLE, you decide what goes in your meal and you watch while its being cooked. As we like to say “You FILL IT and we GRILL IT!”. Start by choosing a Meat or Seafood, Noodles and Vegetables and top it off with some of our delicious signature sauces. All of our sauces are Vegetarian and Vegan friendly and contain no added MSG and many are Gluten free as well. Be Creative and don’t be afraid to mix sauces to get the combination of flavours that suits YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
428 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
196 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moonlight Inn And Suites Sudbury
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1145 Lorne St | On, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sudbury
Price Range: £50 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and upgraded a Choice Group Hotel - EconoLodge,Located in mining town Sudbury Ontario.We are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing